We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Certificate of Excellence
Adlaide
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Arrived to find we had been given a room upgrade - good start. Were offered further upgrade but didn't need it, the standard plus was good enough. May consider the Deluxe room next time.
Dined at the Views Restaurant the first and last nights - faultless meals for both of us.
Chris, Jeff, Gavin and the rest of the staff couldn't do enough for us. Gave us information when we asked for it but didn't intrude. Completely relaxed the entire time we were there.
Would stay again in a heartbeat.
Mustn't forget Lemontree the kangaroo. Waits patiently outside the Restaurant at breakfast for his slice of bread.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenton E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    252
    71
    17
    21
See reviews for
203
408
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here for two nights and I could not recommend it more highly. We had one of the deluxe spa suites and it was fabulous. The HUGE spa was fantastic after a day trekking through the bush. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. They're not brand new, but have been nicely refurbished.
The property itself is lovely - there's lots of lawn, regularly visited by rabbits and kangaroos, and fantastic views of the Grampians. Very quiet, also, as one would imagine.
The restaurant on site was great, too. We dined there several times and really enjoyed our meals each time.
FINALLY you will not receive a warmer welcome in Hall Gap that you'll get there. The owners of the property are simply lovely, so warm and welcoming and lovely to have a chat with.
I simply INSIST you stay here if visiting Halls Gap.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the few extra dollars for the deluxe spa suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateARobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisKelm58, Manager at The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Wow Kate! What a wonderful review, thank you very much. It was great to see a young couple enjoy and appreciate all we have to offer at The Grampians Motel.
We hope to welcome you back some day and yes I agree, The Deluxe Spa Room is amazing!
Regards
Chris Lovell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Kangaroos, an emu, and views of the mountains. What more do you want? How about a pleasant room and an excellent restaurant on the premises.

We so thoroughly enjoyed staying here - just sit outside and watch how kangaroo society functions. The motel is set way, way back from the road, leaving a large grassy area for the animals. They do keep some water available, so the kangaroos were always there.

Everyone was very helpful, but the animals and views are the reason to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisKelm58, Owner at The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hi Kathy,
Many thanks for your wonderful review, you made my day!
Thankyou for appreciating our amazing views, abundant wildlife and fantastic restaurant. We have the perfect location to enjoy a very relaxing and peaceful holiday amongst the kangaroos, emus and stunning mountain views.
We look forward to your return visit.
Regards
Chris Lovell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Rooms old and needing repair. Bathroom needs full revamp. Bathroom cupboard deteriorated...door has exposed , broken chipboard . Brilliant area of halls gap so find another motel where the price may suit the product -not the Grampian motel.

Room Tip: Many other accommodations .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisKelm58, Owner at The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hi Beth, thank you for your review and I'm sorry to hear you weren't completely satisfied with your stay. We understand that our Standard Rooms are a little out dated but we are praised by most of our guests for our cleanliness, customer service, amenities, free wifi, restaurant and majestic views. The bathrooms are on the agenda to be renovated during our quieter winter months but we still believe our rooms are very good value for the price we charge.
I'm not sure why you would go to the trouble of taking our modern pictures off the bedroom wall, obviously they weren't to your liking either.
According to our Manager our staff went out of their way to try and improve your stay by offering an upgrade to our Deluxe Rooms and even shifting tables and chairs to ensure you had a window seat in the restaurant that evening.
We would love to see you again and show you our large, modern Deluxe Rooms which would be more suitable for you.
Regards
Chris Lovell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Three cheers for smaller portions! Australia seems to follow the USA in huge and unnecessary amounts of food so it was to find not only good food but not so much of it! I have to say the '70's' style rooms could do with some updating but the wildlife outside more than made up for this and we much enjoyed our one night stay. As with all the smaller hotels and motels we stayed in, Wi-Fi was free. Why cant the big hotels do this as well?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAilliwN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisKelm58, Owner at The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a very positive review about our restaurant and motel.
We are positioned on the most amazing location with kangaroos and emus everywhere and the most stunning mountain views.
Our chefs do an incredible job, consistently producing good quality and well portioned meals at very affordable prices.
Thankyou for appreciating our FREE Wi-Fi to all rooms which we feel is so very important to all our customers these days.
We hope to see you again one day.
Regards
Chris Lovell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We only spent one night here but had a wonderful experience. The owners are so friendly and our deluxe spa room was amazing !! The restaurant is excellent and seeing the gorgeous kangaroo Lemontree come to the window to be fed was very funny !

Room Tip: The deluxe spa room ! Wow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol250342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisKelm58, Owner at The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for your amazing comments - we aim to provide a very comfortable, clean and value for money experience when staying at the Grampians Motel and it is always pleasing to hear that we have achieved that.
Our Deluxe Spa Rooms are very special and of course we have the best views in town.
The Italian and Aussie chefs do a magnificent job in The Views Restaurant consistently producing delicious meals and where else could you be entertained by a very spoilt kangaroo called Lemon Tree.
Happy Travelling and we look forward to a return visit from you.
Regards
Chris Lovell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We found this motel in an accommodation guide which claimed that motel rooms looked out to clear views of the mountains. And so they did. Views were spectacular. The motel was set back off the road in generous parkland. It's outside Hall's Gap by a few minutes but given it's park like- setting, this was a great advantage.
Our room was generous in size,the bed most comfortable and facilities more than adequate.It was not modern but very comfortable
The friendly service and welcome provided by the hosts,reception and chef were added features.
We rank this as one of our best stays in recent years

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baxter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
2.4 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
1.7 mi away
Mountain Grand Guest House
Mountain Grand Guest House
#9 of 9 in Halls Gap
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
674 reviews
1.5 mi away
Halls Gap Motel
Halls Gap Motel
#5 of 9 in Halls Gap
116 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
#4 of 9 in Halls Gap
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant

Property: The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Address: 394 - 404 Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grampians Motel & "The Views", Cafe, Bar & Restaurant in Halls Gap, Victoria is nestled in a peaceful valley. The Grampians Motel offers affordable and comfortable accommodation, central to the spectacular Grampians National Park. The motel is situated on 12 acres of parkland with kangaroos, deer and emu roaming freely. You will enjoy unsurpassed views of the majestic Wonderland and Mt William Mountain Ranges, inviting you to climb and explore. The Grampians Motel is complimented by "The Views" Bar & Restaurant offering very delicious meals and wines morning and night.The Motel & Restaurant are within walking distance to Brambuk Cultural Centre, World Class Adventure Golf, Lake Bellfield and is well situated to discover the numerous attractions that Halls Gap and the Grampians have to offer. This is a fantastic place to forget the stresses of your busy life, sit back with a glass of local wine and enjoy spending a little self time, in the harmony of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grampians Hotel Halls Gap
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant Halls Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing