We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The mob of kangaroos in the expansive front garden caught our attention and the warm humor, enthusiasm and knowledge of our hosts, Chris and Jeff, made us stay not one but three nights. The location is perfect - the front and back views are gorgeous, scenic views of the Grampians. There is ample wildlife - kangaroos, emus, birds of all sorts including a kookaburra. It's nice to be a bit away from town. Dinner next to a warm fire and a bonfire outside! Chris and Jeff do a great job.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptanim8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    241
    68
    15
    18
See reviews for
190
385
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed for just 1 night here. Arriving and seeing the kangaroos grazing happily on the front paddock set the scene. The rooms, although a bit dated, were extremely cold. The front door let an amazing amount of cold air through it. We put our coats at the bottom to help. Having said this, the owners were a great font of knowledge and the restaurant on site was absolutely fantastic. We would certainly return again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirbsterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We loved our stay here. The rooms themselves are fine, nothing to write home about, but the garden (huge, with kangaroos), service (couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful), restaurant (we looked at lots of options in town and ended up back here for a great meal) and other facilities (e.g. washer and drier available) are fantastic. Nothing like a late afternoon beer sitting on the restaurant veranda watching the kangaroos.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CA_Travelers2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We would recommend the bellfield studio apartment for those with older children. Nothing was too much from the lovely hosts Chris and Jeff. Dinner in the View restaurant was outstanding. Staff were great. We would highly recommend and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WheatonsN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

The Grampians motel is just a short drive out of the Halls gap township. I recently stayed with some Japanese visitors for 1 night. They were thrilled with the bonfire (and so were the kids) which was a great meeting spot as other guests arrived by the fire to share their Grampians exploring stories. Of course having the grounds filled with a few Kangaroos just tops things off especially Lemontree who hangs out near the dining room window which was of huge amusement to our visitors and kids alike. With the Pinnacles behind it's a magic location. We had the breakfasts in the morning. The strawberry pancakes were huge and put a big smile on the kids face. For the adults the bacon and eggs were great and the price is extremely good at around $12 to $15 which also included cereal, toast, fruit salad, yogurt and coffee or tea. On the next trip to the Grampians I'll be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mang0cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
675 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed here with my partner for one night at the end of a week long road trip for work.

The previous two nights we had stayed at some 5 star apartments, and I have to say I much preferred the experience I received at Grampians Motel.

Make no mistake, this place is first and foremost a motel, so if you are looking for something 5 star and upmarket this may not be the place for you, BUT if you simply want a clean bed and a terrific holiday experience, I cannot recommend this place highly enough. The other thing to keep in mind is that the motel is a few kms from the Halls Gap town centre.

We also ate at the restaurant the night that we were there. At first glance, the restaurant doesn't look much, but at night it comes to life with the friendly personalities of the owners and staff and the wonderful food, which was very home cooked, delicious and unpretentious.

Dining with kangaroos right outside the window (and I am talking literally the other side of the glass) is a unique experience for visitors from Australia and abroad.

We are already planning a return trip for later in the year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozvpm_andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I booked in for dinner with my family here as it was highly recommended to my by my sister. The owners, Jeff and Chris are warm and genuine people who go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. We did not stay at the Grampians motel as I had booked a pet friendly cottage that turned out horrible. The heating did not work and it was freezing in the house. Jeff and Chris kindly lent us their own heater to use.

The food is affordable and extremely fresh. Lemon Tree, the cheeky kangaroo who hangs around the window is a delight. I would definitely recommend the Grampians Motel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackcr0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
2.4 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
1.7 mi away
Mountain Grand Guest House
Mountain Grand Guest House
#9 of 9 in Halls Gap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
1.5 mi away
Halls Gap Motel
Halls Gap Motel
#5 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
#4 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant

Property: The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Address: 394 - 404 Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grampians Motel & "The Views", Cafe, Bar & Restaurant in Halls Gap, Victoria is nestled in a peaceful valley. The Grampians Motel offers affordable and comfortable accommodation, central to the spectacular Grampians National Park. The motel is situated on 12 acres of parkland with kangaroos, deer and emu roaming freely. You will enjoy unsurpassed views of the majestic Wonderland and Mt William Mountain Ranges, inviting you to climb and explore. The Grampians Motel is complimented by "The Views" Bar & Restaurant offering very delicious meals and wines morning and night.The Motel & Restaurant are within walking distance to Brambuk Cultural Centre, World Class Adventure Golf, Lake Bellfield and is well situated to discover the numerous attractions that Halls Gap and the Grampians have to offer. This is a fantastic place to forget the stresses of your busy life, sit back with a glass of local wine and enjoy spending a little self time, in the harmony of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grampians Hotel Halls Gap
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant Halls Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing