We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night isn't long enough...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One night isn't long enough...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We only had the one night in Halls Gap - Jeff was fantastic in advising the best things to do so we got the most out of our stay. Both he and Chris were really accommodating, friendly and provided us with A1 service. The rooms were basic, but functional and had all we needed - but when you go to a place like this who wants to sit in a room for hours on end? The bed was very comfy and we both had a great nights sleep! Already planning our trip back :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    236
    66
    15
    18
See reviews for
176
378
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

The Grampians Motel is located between beautiful mountains in the Grampians area. We arrived there in the afternoon wanting to head off to see the nature and sights. We got great tips from the owners Chris and Jeff who were very attentive. After a long afternoon and evening of hiking we arrived back at the Motel at 9pm. We were hoping to get something to eat, but the chef had already gone to bed and the restaurant in Halls Gap was closed. Chris completely saved us with her chicken foccacias! After a well-slept night (though the walls are a bit thin) we relaxed by the pool and enjoyed the scenery before heading back to Melbourne. We wished we could have stayed there longer but are thinking about returning one day..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed for a weekend and found that the air conditioning was not working. Too hot to stay in the room so they offered a fan and a bottle of beer. With a promise of workmen the next day we stayed finally getting to sleep after midnight. We went out the next morning and returned in the afternoon to find that owners were on a lomg weekend away (so we were told) and a duty manager was left to contend with issues. Needless to say we checked out and drove to Stawell for the night. No contact since. No offer of assistance to find somewhere else. NO CUSTOMER SERVICE. We would never stay here again despite the view because of the pathetic attitude of owners.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisKelm58, Owner at The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
We are terribly sorry this customer chose to tell the story in this fashion.Unfortunately we did have a problem with the new airconditioner and contacted the technician as soon as we were made aware of the problem. As we had no other rooms available we were unable to shift them to another room.We provided a fan as a tempory measure and provided cold beer and champagne with our apologies. The Technician said he would get someone to come out the next day. Unfortunately we were let down and the Technician didn't arrive. Our Manager offered to upgrade the clients to our Bellfield Suite as this had now became free and they accepted with more cold drinks provided. After a short time they then changed their minds and decided to check out. Our manager refunded their payment and organized another motel in Stawell for them to stay. They were happy with all of this and left laughing about it all. I am unsure what went wrong after this for the client to write a review like this. I was on the phone regularly to our manager and advised her of how she could best help these clients. I stand by my manager and suggest she handled the unfortunate circumstances with professionalism. I am truely sorry if we upset this client in anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

We came from the USA on business to Lorne and then stayed an extra few days to soak in the local flavor of Australia. Chris and Jeff were wonderful hosts. The hotel gives you the feeling of home and the people are wonderful. We hiked daily through the mountains and enjoyed the local flavor of Halls Gap. The restaurant serves both Australian and Italian cuisine and both were good. The wildlife and cultural center are superb. An added benefit was that the wifi worked better here than any place else we went. If you are looking to really experience the people and flavor of Australia, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed at this motel for just one night, and found it very acceptable. The owners were very helpful, and responded to emails very promptly. The free wifi was excellent - vital to us.

The outlook from our window was across the extensive garden, and we saw many kangaroos, wallabies, cockatoos, ducks, parrots, etc. This was in the evening, and again in the morning - all very enjoyable.

The accommodation was very reasonably priced, and may have reflected being slightly out of the town centre of Halls Gap, but we thought this was an advantage. We did not use the restaurant, as we prefer to prepare our own food, but it seemed to provide reasonably-priced meals (for Australia), and was well-used by people from outside the motel.

We have no hesitation in recommending this motel, which provided reasonable quality at a reasonable price. It is not a high-class hotel, and doesn't pretend to be, but we would return, if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: Watch the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinBut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

The initial impression is positive and friendly as you are greeted by the owners and in our case some locals who had popped in for a drink in the bar. We stayed in Superior room which had new airconditioning installed (very handy on our hot weekend). This was not the case for all rooms. Room was quite spacious and adequately appointed although bathroom needs updating. Grounds were quite expansive with the kangaroos and emus wandering around. Its a drive back to town but thats no big deal. We had breakfast there where the menu was a bit limited. Can recommend walking to the base of McKensie Falls and the Pinnacles.

Room Tip: Some rooms had updated aircon/heating systems so check
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redd27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

rooms a bit dated but other than this they were clean and staff was helpful. Would recomend for a budget stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
2.4 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
1.8 mi away
Mountain Grand Guest House
Mountain Grand Guest House
#9 of 9 in Halls Gap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
#4 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.6 mi away
Halls Gap Motel
Halls Gap Motel
#5 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant

Property: The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Address: 394 - 404 Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grampians Motel & "The Views", Cafe, Bar & Restaurant in Halls Gap, Victoria is nestled in a peaceful valley. The Grampians Motel offers affordable and comfortable accommodation, central to the spectacular Grampians National Park. The motel is situated on 12 acres of parkland with kangaroos, deer and emu roaming freely. You will enjoy unsurpassed views of the majestic Wonderland and Mt William Mountain Ranges, inviting you to climb and explore. The Grampians Motel is complimented by "The Views" Bar & Restaurant offering very delicious meals and wines morning and night.The Motel & Restaurant are within walking distance to Brambuk Cultural Centre, World Class Adventure Golf, Lake Bellfield and is well situated to discover the numerous attractions that Halls Gap and the Grampians have to offer. This is a fantastic place to forget the stresses of your busy life, sit back with a glass of local wine and enjoy spending a little self time, in the harmony of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grampians Hotel Halls Gap
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant Halls Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing