We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average and poor value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
330 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Very average and poor value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

Most of halls gap looks as dingy and dead as this place despite having superb location and views. Rooms and bedding are clean but dated. You'd pay USD60 for this in USA so why is it almost USD100 in rip off Oz????
Pool looks derelict....................and they don't do food at night.
One night I stayed there it was very quiet but the other we had to put up with someone learning to play the guitar with an amplifier attached for 2 hours!
Breakfast is OK but take your own food for dinner as Halls gap/Stoney Creek is hopeless apart from Black panther where you can't get in to eat anyway.
New owners have just arrived at this motel and were pleasant and I wish them well but the whole halls gap area needs an upgrade in quality and attitude.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bomoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    236
    66
    15
    18
See reviews for
176
378
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
victoria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

We were greeted on arrival by the new owners Chris and Jeff and immediately knew our stay was going to be pleasant. Our very clean and spacious room (a family suite) comprised a double bed and two singles, large bathroom with shower, toilet and vanity. A brand new HD LCD TV had been installed just prior to Easter along with a new toaster and kettle. The room also had a bar fridge. The new owners are enthusiastic about updating the motel and it's magnificient surrounding 12 acres was teeming with wildlife. During our stay over Easter the place was a constant hive of activity without interruption to the guests. As part of the clean up the gardens process we were treated to a beautiful bonfire each evening which was a lovely way to meet the other guests staying at the motel. A brand new hooded BBQ has been installed on the grounds and over Easter many motel guests were making good use of it. The pool and other areas are in the process of being repaired and updated.
A big hearty breakfast can be delivered to your room or you can dine in the dining room at very reasonable prices.
All in all a great place to stay with the family.
The only criticism would be that the mattress could be updated.

Room Tip: Sensational views from all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freeflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

This motel is about 3 kms out of Halls Gap in a quiet location, with a long drive, so well off the road, and has stunning views of the Grampians and lots of kangaroos in the gardens. However, the motel itself needs considerably updating, the bedding in our room left a lot to be desired (was old and didn't seem all that fresh), one main light needed a new globe and my overhead bedside light had gone completely, someone had boiled something not very nice in the kettle and our first cup of tea tasted disgusting and the kettle had to be taken back to the office to be attended to and wasn't all that much better when it was returned, so we had to have a replacement (which itself was falling to bits), the TV was pretty ropey (not a decent channel to be found), and neither the room radio nor the alarm clock radio worked. The motel was advertised to have a swimming pool, but the lining of the pool had all blown was wasn't available. All I can say is that it isn't somewhere I'd chood to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carriequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

While the room was dated it wasn't bad. While showering there was cold water leaking from the roof, and they gave us a different room for the 2nd night. We booked for 2 people and were given a room with one double and one single bed. We didn't use the single bed, other than to put away the bedcover due to dust. The next day, the owner told us we needed to pay for the extra bed, even though not used. Only $5, but very petty and NOT in the conditions of booking (even though she said it was). Its a pity such a small thing leaves a bad taste in your mouth. Other than that, a wonderful area to visit with lots to do. But pay a little more and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shark05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

If you just need somewhere to stay and have no allergies this motel is fine.

The owners are lovely the location is fine. It's just very dated and although I couldn't see dust I woke up sneezing. I did wish I'd paid more and stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dees99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

This motel is approx 2 1/2 km easy walk from Halls Gap central, mainly along a bitumen track. Suggest anybody wanting to see Aussie wildlife do this walk just after sunrise..as I saw many kangaroos, emus, kookaburras, deer and even an echidna!
As to the motel, it is very quiet, being set back off the road with the backdrop of rocky outcrops. Our room was a twin, but actually had 4 beds. It was old style but clean and comfortable.It also included a toaster which are becoming rare in Aust motels these days! The only niggle was that the curtains didnt close properly, but we remedied that with a peg.
The owners were courteous and knowlegeable
For only $A84 a night, we found it good value for our needs.
P.S. To the reviewer who complained about "black worms"..these are millipedes. They are harmless, hard to get rid of and come in plague proportion at times..part of the natural environment!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussierover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

Stayed at the motel for 2 nights. Rooms are very basic but have everything you need.
Location was perfect for us as we were going to a wedding next door although it is a little out of town.
Service was the best. From when we checked in, to going for breakfast and check out we were always greeted with a friendly manner and smile and given anything we wanted

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachagane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
2.4 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
1.8 mi away
Mountain Grand Guest House
Mountain Grand Guest House
#9 of 9 in Halls Gap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
#4 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.6 mi away
Halls Gap Motel
Halls Gap Motel
#5 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant

Property: The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Address: 394 - 404 Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grampians Motel & "The Views", Cafe, Bar & Restaurant in Halls Gap, Victoria is nestled in a peaceful valley. The Grampians Motel offers affordable and comfortable accommodation, central to the spectacular Grampians National Park. The motel is situated on 12 acres of parkland with kangaroos, deer and emu roaming freely. You will enjoy unsurpassed views of the majestic Wonderland and Mt William Mountain Ranges, inviting you to climb and explore. The Grampians Motel is complimented by "The Views" Bar & Restaurant offering very delicious meals and wines morning and night.The Motel & Restaurant are within walking distance to Brambuk Cultural Centre, World Class Adventure Golf, Lake Bellfield and is well situated to discover the numerous attractions that Halls Gap and the Grampians have to offer. This is a fantastic place to forget the stresses of your busy life, sit back with a glass of local wine and enjoy spending a little self time, in the harmony of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grampians Hotel Halls Gap
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant Halls Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing