We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish cabins in a peaceful setting”
Review of DULC Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DULC Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2012

My partner and I stayed at DULC for two nights after Easter. Pru called the day before to confirm our arrival details and left the key in the door for us which was great.

Cabins are gorgeous! Beautifully designed with awesome heating (needed in the chilly months!), nice bathroom, massive comfy bed, great living area and deck and great kitchen (my partner was super impressed with the Riedel glassware!).

We had a BBQ on both nights - tip, buy your food in one of the bigger nearby towns like Stawell or Ararat - the food at the Halls Gap general store is a massive rip off (eg $4.25 for 250g of Black & Gold butter!!).

All in all a lovely stay at DULC, beautiful serene setting just outside of touristy Halls Gap town.

The only thing that could have been improved was that we never met the owners - reception was closed when we checked out at 10am and no one was answering their mobiles. We had to leave the keys in the cabin door. I left two messages with them but never heard back which was a bit strange. Would have been nice to thank them and say goodbye in person or at the very least on the phone.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gesiett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 162 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Treehouse (cabin 4) this Easter. We had an amazing time and were very impressed with DULC.

The cabins are well furnished with good quality furnishings, stainless steel appliances, good coffee machine etc. There is a great choice of DVD's and good heating system.

The cabins are in a great location, just a 5 minute drive from the centre of Halls Gap but rural enough to be in an extremely relaxing and peaceful setting. We even had a couple of locals visit (friendly wallabies).

The spa was a nice touch and we were able to cook all our meals in the cabin very easily. Whilst there is no oven there is a good BBQ and two-burner cook top, microwave and all the cutlery etc that you will need.

The view from the cabin is great and we loved the big windows in the upstairs bedroom enabling us to sleep under the stars.

I really cannot fault this place and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AliG83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We loved the cabin, it was number 5. They are decorated beautifully, clean+++, comfortable bed and quality linen and towels. Everything you need is in the cabins and we loved the clean bbq (they are hard to come by).We felt so relaxed in our cabin , truly stunning both inside and out.
If you want to get away and relax this cabin is it! The view of the bush through the huge windows and rooftop and then at night looking up at the stars is breathtaking.
Thank you Pru and Simon for a wonderful stay , we will be back!!
J & K

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKA95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

My goodness, if you are going to stay anywhere in the Grampians it must be DULC. Where do I start? Surrounded by bush it fits well into the environment but with all the creature comforts. These ultra funky cabins have obviously been well designed by very clever architects and the decor has been tastefully chosen. Perfect in every way and didn't want to leave. Have stayed in lots of accommodation around Australia and I found this great value for money. Thanks Pru & Simon for allowing us to share your piece of paradise. We'll be back for the food & wind festival in may!!! X

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c0untry_dweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

What a fantastic place we loved it and just wanted to stay longer. Loved the window seat and the fact that it was spacious and spotlessly clean. Really tranquil setting. True it is off the beaten track a little but we shopped before we got there. However there are adequate shops in the little village and a couple of places to eat out if you prefer.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and go for the tree house - real treat especially at end of your holiday you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed at Cabin 2 for 3 nights in February.
My wife has something of a phobia when it comes to creepy crawlies and so it was unfortunate that ants had found their way in to the kitchen area. Also, beetles dropped off the ceiling on to the bed during the nights - much to my wife's horror!
On reporting this to the owner at checkout, he advised that the exterminator was due the following week to deal with the ants and that he would be asked to deal with the beetles too.
We feel that as there was a known problem, we should at least have been told on arrival and possibly offered alternative accommodation.
Also, the chopping board in the kitchen smelled and there was only one smelly well worn tea towel. Consideration should be given to replacing the chopping board and supplying 2 (or more) tea towels.
Our stay could have been so much better, the cabin was well appointed and the owners are a lovely young couple. We do hope they solve the insect issues and make a real go of it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommo2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aprilandjune, Owner at DULC Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay here at DULC Cabins in February.

I would advise future visitors that have a phobia for insects to understand that being in the Grampians national park in a bushland setting, you are going to encounter these insects as it is just part of our natural enviroment which we live with every day and what makes our enviroment so beautiful.

As part of our maintance program each of the cabins is sprayed quarterly so as to hopefully avoid these insects. flies, mosquitos, ants, etc getting into the cabin, but as our property is set in bushland in a national park we cannot always guarantee that no insects will get into a cabin throughout a guests stay with us.

Management was never notified that there was a problem by these guests until checkout, at which time they mentioned his wife had a phobia of insects. If we had known there was any problems we would have tried to resolve the problem immediately or happily found them alternative accommodation, because we want the guest to have an enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We spent a wonderful week touring Victoria with our most enjoyable stop and favourite accommodation at DULC in Halls Gap. The seclusion provided ample relaxation before our return to Melbourne and the lovely well appointed cabins were an absolute delight. We could self cater and BBQ on the balcony or head into town for a feed. There is plenty of space to lounge, read current magazines or doze on day beds gazing out the enormous windows which frame the bushland and the night sky perfectly!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PippaMacPee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
2.1 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
777 reviews
1.1 mi away
BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort
2.5 mi away
Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DULC Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DULC Cabins

Address: 9 Thryptomene Ct, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range: $234 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DULC Cabins 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DULC single and two storey cabins are architect-designed to blend into the bushland environment. With a definite ‘sense of place’, the rough-sawn timbers, polished concrete, wooden floors and floor to ceiling windows have been designed with environmental sensitivity, with each cabin linked by raised walkway or footpath. Explore our Treehouse and Mountain view 1 bedroom and twin cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your DULC Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dulc Hotel Halls Gap
DULC Cabins Halls Gap, Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing