We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Certificate of Excellence
hobart
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Exceptional gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

One night stay last week in a chalet. Only good things to say. Genuine warm managers. Quiet location. Great beds. Spotless. Order Rhonda's BBQ pack, suited us well as we had been14 days on the road to SA eating out most nights. Excellent quality and value especially the included bottle of wine with an order over $28. Definitely stay again and recommend to Melbourne family. Jen & Ian.

Room Tip: Although we did not use them the chalets have full kitchen BBQ and laundry (inc washing powder a nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alikat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Jen & Ian, thanks for your great comments. We love doing our BBQ packs for customers as they can then stay at the motel after a hard day of exploring and just cook a casual BBQ with a nice glass of wine while enjoying the peace and quiet of the surrounds. We try to make it a 'home away from home' feeling so that you are comfortable and enjoy that well earned break. We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    69
    22
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
129
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warrnambool, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Loved the cottages plenty of room for a 1 yr old to run around in,very clean and neat, very friendly staff, we will be back again!! Not far from the pub or halls gap shops plenty of room for the kids to kick a footy or run around.. Thankyou

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coloram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
It is great having that extra room so the kids can run around and enjoy themselves without the fear of being run over or annoying other guests. The lodges are spacious and gives you that homely feeling. It's good that you had a great time and we look forward to meeting you again on your next trip to the Grampians.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Lovely quiet setting and beautiful views. Also very friendly and helpful Managers. Very close to the Halls Gap Zoo and also the township. Would definitely stay here again and happy to recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Debbie, thanks for taking the time to do a review. We are glad we lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay at the 'Mountain View'. It is great being so close to the Halls Gap zoo and the walking trails of the Grampians but still far enough away from the busy town center to ensure you can enjoy the peace and quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Mountain View is just a few minutes drive from the centre of Halls Gap which suited us perfectly. It was away from the madding crowds but close enough to be convenient to everything. Ronnie and Tubby were great hosts and ready with excellent and accurate information on local routes and attractions, and happy to provide a few extras that we needed in the way of crockery & cutlery etc. This is one of those "gems" that I can't wait to share with friends. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: A lodge would have been nice - but we didn't check if the lodges are more for families. We just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTennetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
It is great being just a few minutes from Halls Gap so you can experience the best of both worlds. Close enough to all the attractions but still far enough away to being able to enjoy the peacefulness of the bush. Our aim is to provide as much relevant information as possible so you can enjoy your experience of the Grampians without wondering where to go next or which major attractions to visit next. We are here to ensure you make the most of your holiday and leave all of your stresses at home. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaapeet
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Outstanding, really relaxing weekend, most friendly motel.
Even the local wildlife loves it here.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable.
Highly recommend, Rhonnie and Tubby are the best hosts. Nothing is too much trouble.
Definitely stay when next in this lovely area, Halls Gap.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janedelsten64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thanks Jan for your comments. We try to make everyone feel relaxed and treat them like family to ensure they experience the Grampians at its finest. Being able to help whenever possible makes for a better holiday and wanting to come back and explore more of what we have to offer. Thanks again and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

On our journeying along the Great Ocean Road, we return home via Halls Gap stopping for two nights.We were recommended to stop over at Mountain View by some friends.
What a delightful place. The owners, Ron and Tubby were so friendly and helpful. The grounds around the Motel were very Australian with Roos and Emus in the field immediately behind our room plus the usual Aussie bird life. It was lovely sitting outside enjoying the view. There were several well set up areas to sit so you could be alone, and BBQ's if needed. The bathroom was very clean. The shower was good with plentiful supply of hot water. Plenty of space in the bedroom with a long bench down one side for all your own things. There was a small table and chairs which we put to good use for eating our cooked delivered breakfast. Breakfast are order the evening before, and delivered promptly at the requested time. They are good value and very filling!. For us the ‘icing on the cake’ was their BBQ. We ordered it in the morning to be collected for an evening meal. Wow what a selection!. We counted 15 different containers on two trays, containing steak, sausages burgers all for $17, a great meal. There are two BBQ units available in the grounds in front of the Motel. The rooms are basic but very well thought out for comfort. A perfect secluded location, just a short distance from the centre of Halls Gap, which tends to be very busy. A great experience, well done Rhonda & Tubby!

Room Tip: You must have one of their BBQ's
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderfree41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our service. It is great that we lived up to your expectations and you had a great time exploring the Grampians. There is nothing better than after a hard day's walking, to come home and your BBQ pack has been organized and all you have to do is find a BBQ and to cook the meat. We try to make sure that you are well fed and that you don't go to bed hungry as you must rebuild your energy levels for the next days exploring. We hope to see you again one day for more adventures and a decent feed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

The friendly owners, Ron and Tubby. They were so helpful. The grounds around the Motel were very Australian with Roos and Emus in the valley near by and the usual Aussie bird life. It was lovely sitting outside near the pool having an evening refreshment and enjoying the serenity. There were several well set up areas to sit so you could be alone, and BBQ's if needed.
The bathroom looked like it had recently been renovated. Very clean and neat with all the 'stuff' you need in a bathroom. I especially liked the efficient use of space, the tissue holders in the wall and the squeezy bottles of hand, body and hair cleaners on the walls near the hand basin and in the shower. The shower was fantastic. Plenty of water pressure and nice and hot. There was a long bench in the room for the kettle, toaster, microwave etc. With still enough room for your own things, like a laptop. Had a small table to eat from. Plenty of room to move about. The rooms are basic but very well thought out for comfort. Even the fridge seemed a little larger than the usual ones you get in Motels.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubby D, Owner at Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Mary, thank you for your great comments on the motel rooms. We pride ourselves on being able to provide clean comfortable rooms that people can sit back and relax in after a hard day of exploring the Grampians. To be able to take advantage of our 6.5 hectares and stroll around the motel grounds to see our wildlife and native gardens makes it a great place to be. We hope to see you again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
1.9 mi away
Mountain Grand Guest House
Mountain Grand Guest House
#9 of 9 in Halls Gap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
1.8 mi away
Halls Gap Motel
Halls Gap Motel
#5 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
#4 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge

Property: Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
Address: 4236 Ararat-Halls Gap Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic 6.5 Hectare native parkland, our quality accommodation ensures the ultimate in relation and enjoyment. With both motel and fully self contained options, we have everything you need for that perfect holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge Halls Gap, Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing