We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Get-away Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Get-away Spot”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had a 3-day weekend escape to Halls Gap recently and stayed at Mountain View. We were captivated by the scenery and the beautiful wattle trees in bloom. Our little cabin by the lake was perfect for the occasion, equipped with open fire, spa bath and lots of peace and quiet. Tubby was a great host and we were greeted with a bottle of wine, the yummiest fudge ever, and a breakfast hamper for our stay.
Mountain View is a lovely spot for a relaxing weekend and close to some of the great views and walks in the area. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    72
    24
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
135
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the lodges. We we're in one of two of the separate lodges out the back which provided lots of privacy.

The lodge was perfect, big queen bed, large spa, open log fire, and small kitchen.

Having nature so close was wonderful, going for an evening stroll around the 15 acres and seeing kangaroos and fred and wilma, the emus up close was amazing.

Tubby and Rhonda were ever so friendly providing info about where to eat and walking trails in and around halls gap, even suggesting things to do on our drive back to Adelaide.

Overall our stay was clean, tidy, informative, relaxing and beautiful... Will definately be back (already planning our return trip) and highly recommend staying with Tubby & Rhonda!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellySteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in one of the lodges at Mountain View.It was extremely cosy and had an open fireplace and large spa.Upon arrival we received a hamper with wine, fudge and food for breakfast including milk, fruit juice, cereal, bread and spreads.The staff were extremely helpful with recommending places to visit and walks in the area.Mountain View also has a lot of facilities including a volleyball and tennis court, bbq facilities, spas and a swimming pool.This place is great value for money and I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

What a great move - leaving Halls gap motel & choosing the Mountain View. Clean & tidy rooms, great, informative hosts & close up kangaroos made for a delightful stay. Will return to this venue

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barra359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

On our first visit to Australia, stayed here at Rhonda and Tubby's motor inn. Happiest two nights of our month long stay! Where else can you find yourself surrounded by kangaroos and abundant wild life and end the evening with one of Rhonda's incredibly generous BBQ packs. Only wish we could have stayed longer - a great wrench to leave this idyllic spot.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Had 2 nights here in April 2012. Stayed in the motel style accommodation. Excellent value.

Location is 5m drive from town centre.

Nice walk on grounds, can see kangaroos every night around dusk.

Simple but clean rooms with good showers.

Amazing owners who love their business and just want you to enjoy your stay.

Definitely go for the BBQ package and grill your own dinner, amazing setting and great steaks.

You would be crazy to stay anywhere else in halls gap!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamS1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The people were very helpful from the moment of booking to the time we left. I can't say how impressed i was with everything. The people were very hospitable and I would definetley go back there again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PnOize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
1.9 mi away
Mountain Grand Guest House
Mountain Grand Guest House
#9 of 9 in Halls Gap
92 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
625 reviews
1.8 mi away
Halls Gap Motel
Halls Gap Motel
#5 of 9 in Halls Gap
114 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
#4 of 9 in Halls Gap
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge

Property: Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
Address: 4236 Ararat-Halls Gap Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic 6.5 Hectare native parkland, our quality accommodation ensures the ultimate in relation and enjoyment. With both motel and fully self contained options, we have everything you need for that perfect holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge Halls Gap, Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing