We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
D'Altons Resort
Nearby Hotels
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gariwerd Motel(Halls Gap)(Great Value!)
$82
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halls Gap Motel(Halls Gap)(Great Value!)
$76
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge(Halls Gap)(Great Value!)
$81
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
85
61
20
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
61
20
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstudio cottageenjoying the viewyour doorstepself catering facilitieslovely settinglocated within walking distancewood burning stoveaustralian experiencesuited our needskangaroos grazingwatching the wildlifethe cottagesreception arealocal pubspa batha wonderful place to staycomfortable accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 179 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Walking distance from town, not far off the road but feels like you are not. Nice, clean room with a spa and kangaroos literally at your doorstep. Kookaburras...numbers like I have not seen before (and it is only 3 hours drive from home).

Friendly and relaxing, just note that meal bookings can be hard to get and the supermarket is expensive so BYO food if you are not into eating out and if you are book ahead. Had a great weekend and have been talking it up!

Room Tip: There is a couples only area and a family area
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazm_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Halls gap has lots of good places , but this is especially nice, great location, not on the main road, but close to everything. The rooms are just right, light and bright and roomy , spotlessly clean and well thought out. well equiped for the self caterer with BBQ, and a nice porch to watch the roos grazing on the grass. You need more than 2 nights here, its a real get away destination .

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perth2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

This was the dirtiest motel we ever booked.
We are sure the rooms were not cleaned in a professional way for a long time.
Everywhereduat, dead, but also living insects (cockroaches, ants etc.).
When you lift a pillow of the sofa you could have a free meal, the cutlery and refrigerator showed leftovers and the floor was dirty.
Maintenance also was very poor (holes in the screens, broken blinds).
We asked for and got another cottage, but that was as dirty as the first one.
The staff is unfriendly an unhelpful.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iesstoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalres, Owner at D'Altons Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Why were we not surprised that this lady took to TripAdvisor!
Upon intial complaint the couple were asked if they would like a refund or be moved to another Cottage - which they chose. The following morning they complained again. We asked again if they wanted a refund on which they declined and proceeded to tell us they liked it here. We are located on 28 Acres of Australian bushland and insects are part of the environment. The Cottages are fitted with flyscreens and furthermore we have commercial cleaners who sevice the resort. D'Altons Resort is not against TripAdvisor - we are open to fair feedback and aim to improve where we can, but we are finding unfair reviews from web savvy customers to be damaging. We can pinpoint all of our negative reviews back to the particular guest and its just a shame that we don't get reviews from our large repeat customer base. Furthermore we just received TripAdvisors Certificate of Excellence and a rating of 4/5 for 2011. A year were we experienced floods, landslides and locust plagues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Nice location in a small village, the cottages are just ok (from the outside they look very old and not maintained), the rooms are comfortable and well equipped, but again some maintenance work is needed to refresh everything. The swimming pool was a bit dirty and not maintained very well. Other than that, the location is nice, you have kangaroos and birds in front of your cottage when you wake up... good restaurants in the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Select a "luxury" cottage even if it is not really luxury.
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuyVanHooveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed in a deluxe studio cottage, and were a little disappointed. Although the room was spacious, it could have done with a good clean. The kitchen and bathroom surfaces were fine, as was bed linen, but inside the rather woefully equipped kitchen cupboards and on top of the fridge felt greasy and dusty. Window ledges in the bathroom were also dusty, and all window screens were really dirty (good for privacy!), and the front exterior wall covered in cobwebs, not conducive to sitting and enjoying the view.
We felt more attention to detail would really lift this accommodation: the mis-matched crockery, broken dishwasher, the lack of a bread knife, the short supply of towels (no hand towel) etc really let it down, as otherwise it is in a great location and represents good value for money, and the spa bath was great.
We came here after staying in other accommodation in the bush which was spotless, beautifully furnished and generously equipped, and D'Altons just felt a bit mean and dirty, nothing a good check and clean couldn't fix. Overall impression: cheap, but not deluxe.....

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guitarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews