We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The dirtiest motel we ever booked.”
Review of D'Altons Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
D'Altons Resort
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The dirtiest motel we ever booked.”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

This was the dirtiest motel we ever booked.
We are sure the rooms were not cleaned in a professional way for a long time.
Everywhereduat, dead, but also living insects (cockroaches, ants etc.).
When you lift a pillow of the sofa you could have a free meal, the cutlery and refrigerator showed leftovers and the floor was dirty.
Maintenance also was very poor (holes in the screens, broken blinds).
We asked for and got another cottage, but that was as dirty as the first one.
The staff is unfriendly an unhelpful.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iesstoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalres, Owner at D'Altons Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Why were we not surprised that this lady took to TripAdvisor!
Upon intial complaint the couple were asked if they would like a refund or be moved to another Cottage - which they chose. The following morning they complained again. We asked again if they wanted a refund on which they declined and proceeded to tell us they liked it here. We are located on 28 Acres of Australian bushland and insects are part of the environment. The Cottages are fitted with flyscreens and furthermore we have commercial cleaners who sevice the resort. D'Altons Resort is not against TripAdvisor - we are open to fair feedback and aim to improve where we can, but we are finding unfair reviews from web savvy customers to be damaging. We can pinpoint all of our negative reviews back to the particular guest and its just a shame that we don't get reviews from our large repeat customer base. Furthermore we just received TripAdvisors Certificate of Excellence and a rating of 4/5 for 2011. A year were we experienced floods, landslides and locust plagues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    49
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
29
99
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Nice location in a small village, the cottages are just ok (from the outside they look very old and not maintained), the rooms are comfortable and well equipped, but again some maintenance work is needed to refresh everything. The swimming pool was a bit dirty and not maintained very well. Other than that, the location is nice, you have kangaroos and birds in front of your cottage when you wake up... good restaurants in the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Select a "luxury" cottage even if it is not really luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyVanHooveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed in a deluxe studio cottage, and were a little disappointed. Although the room was spacious, it could have done with a good clean. The kitchen and bathroom surfaces were fine, as was bed linen, but inside the rather woefully equipped kitchen cupboards and on top of the fridge felt greasy and dusty. Window ledges in the bathroom were also dusty, and all window screens were really dirty (good for privacy!), and the front exterior wall covered in cobwebs, not conducive to sitting and enjoying the view.
We felt more attention to detail would really lift this accommodation: the mis-matched crockery, broken dishwasher, the lack of a bread knife, the short supply of towels (no hand towel) etc really let it down, as otherwise it is in a great location and represents good value for money, and the spa bath was great.
We came here after staying in other accommodation in the bush which was spotless, beautifully furnished and generously equipped, and D'Altons just felt a bit mean and dirty, nothing a good check and clean couldn't fix. Overall impression: cheap, but not deluxe.....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guitarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed here with my family for 2 nights as part of a long road trip. From the onset this property was delightful. Beautiful surroundings and very comfortable and spacious cabins with log fires and air conditioning and even a spa bath.. The kids loved it, especially the local wildlife. Kangaroos grazing all around us was a big hit. Well located with easy access to shops and restaurants and all the delights of Halls Gap and surrounds at doorstep. The only negative was that we didn't stay long enough! Highly recommend for families.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenLouB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

As the title says- Halls Gap is a beautiful, small town for a short getaway. The national park has amazing look outs and walks and the locals are very helpful.
D'altons is set in a great spot-short walking distance to the shops yet very quiet and filled with kangaroos eating right outside your front door.
We stayed in the deluxe studio cabin. This is strictly for couples! The shower is right next to the bed and is not hidden by any walls so only stay here with someone you don't mind seeing you shower.
The room is clean enough however there is no cleaning service while you stay and you MUST wash and put away your own dishes to avoid a $25 fine.
Overall it was a pretty good getaway

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agrego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
396 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

...having visited the website/video etc. Only stayed 1 night, having orginally booked for 3...

Stayed in a family lodge and appeared to be the only visitors on site - but in the morning discovered a couple of other lodges occupied in the 'Couples only' bit of the site.....the lodges there looked a bit more up market.

Our lodge was very cold on arrival and disappointingly appointed. I appreciate August is low season, but I dont think the lodge had been heated for some time and it took the best part of the evening to heat up. The refrigerator could have appreciated a wipe down before new occupants arrived and the over all public rooms were quite spartan in appearance.

It's a lovely resort in terms of its location - Roos feeding on the grass in the middle of the place....and maybe if more people had been there, it might have appeared more homely....as it was it just felt a little 'unloved', which was too bad really.

Room Tip: Try the 'couples only' accommodation which looked a bit more upmarket...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celtic-Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed in a Deluxe studio cottage and found it to be fantastic. Great place for a quiet getaway. Wonderful self catering facilities including BBQ area and everything was very clean & comfortable. Short walk to "town" for dinner if you want to eat out, places very pricey though for what you get so make use of the cottage facilities.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.9 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
0.3 mi away
Mountain Grand Guest House
Mountain Grand Guest House
#9 of 9 in Halls Gap
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
625 reviews
3.9 mi away
Blaze Rock Retreat
Blaze Rock Retreat
#1 of 1 in Pomonal
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Altons Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Altons Resort

Property: D'Altons Resort
Address: 8 Glen St, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — D'Altons Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tranquility and serenity of the Grampians will never be more enjoyable than at D'Altons. The resort is located only 400 metres from the shops; and an easy stroll to many excellent restaurants. You'll have the pleasure of luxury cottage accommodation in the surrounds of the Grampians National Park, and the convenience of Halls Gap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your D'Altons Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Altons Hotel
D'Altons Resort Halls Gap, Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing