We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities, stunning surrounds!”
Review of Grampians Eco YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grampians Eco YHA
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This eco-YHA can boast excellent shared facilities situated in stunning surrounds.

We stayed in a cosy double room, which had glass doors making the room lovely and airy in the morning & evening.

The kitchen was well-equipped, the lounge rooms welcoming, and the bathrooms clean.

Overall, great budget accommodation in beautiful Halls Gap!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasSaysSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Grampians Eco YHA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 120 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

Hi,

We had a decent stay at YHA, the staff were friendly, the facilities clean and they had a bunch of free DVD's which was great if you brought your laptop, to pass the time away in your room in the evenings.

This however is not a hotel, so don't expect a separate personal bathroom, it has clean shared facilities, and we had no issue with getting a toilet or shower.

Our biggest bug bear was the noise throughout the night. We stayed Friday and Saturday nights and both nights we had some very noisy people coming in and out throughout the whole night. It was as if they were speaking in the room at times!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louballs929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This eco hostel is in a beautiful spot in Halls Gap where the kangaroos come right up to the back door and the chickens will join you for breakfast. Nestled amongst the trees, there is planty of space here with two huge lounges, fireplaces and a TV room. It is near to all the local attractions but also just a nice spot to chill out- you can just enjoy all the nature around you without even leaving the building.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

When were entered the hostel, the reception was closed. It was indicated and we (me and my sister) decided to explore the area. At the reception were was information what to see and discover in the area. After visiting Mackenzie Falls (must do!) we came back and the reception was open. The staff was very helpful, social and gave us all the information we needed.

The rooms were good. Spacious, clean and simple. What we liked that you could slide the window open and go outside. The mattresses were comfortable and clean.

The shower and toilets were clean, the kitchen was clean and to be honest, everything was just perfect. I have to admit. When we were there, there were only 7 people in the hostel. Two of them were staff.

The hostel has a great common room/tv area with a fire place. The diner is really perfect. Everything is glass. You sit there and look outside and you have the idea you are one with the nature.

The location is perfect. There is not much to do in this town. Although it offers enough variety in restaurants. There is more to explore. Nature and wildlife! Kangaroos outside the hostel and especially the nature. In my opinion The Grampians are really worth it to visit.

The wifi works, but you have to pay for it. A disadvantage, especially these days.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amigoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

What hits you 1st is the noise of the wildlife - constant. We checked in and went to our room - had a problem with the lock which rather than have them try to fix they moved us straight away I think that had there been no room there would have been no problem getting it fixed. Room clean, sliding door onto patio, there is a lockable cupboard ( bring your own lock!) the grounds have kangaroos roaming and emus - amazing. Back to hostel - bathroom really clean. Kitchen fully stocked 1st place that had actual wine glasses :-) there are 2 sides to the kitchen and when we arrived 1 half was closed to save energy which made sense. Plenty of places to sit to eat both inside and out. This was a stop between Adelaide and Melbourne for us and was basically drop a pin in a map somewhere between the 2 cities & we did not know what to expect but really liked it here. Stunning scenery near by & wildlife everywhere.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank LancashireLass10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My partner and I recently stayed here as a "cheat night" on our annual Christmas camping trip. The dorms were what you would expect from a hostel and there were plenty of power points which was excellent from a charging electronic devices perspective. The communal bathroom was blissfully clean and the kitchen was spacious, inviting, and offered complimentary eggs if you were lucky enough to wander by soon after the resident chickens had delivered their goods. Backpackers should take note that reception opens at 5pm each day, which was fine for us as we were able to leave our belongings locked in the car, but could be problematic if you had to lug a 15kg pack around until check in. If you're arriving early it's probably best to phone the hostel to make alternative arrangements (as their website suggests).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed twice here, both only for one night. We had a three-shared dorm for the two of us, beds were comfy, although the carpet underneath the beds really needs vacuuming…
Another tiny minus: one of the light in the women's bathroom didn't function, so there was only one toilet available, on return it was still this way, what makes one wonder how long it had already been like that…
Kitchen clean and very functional. Great campfire outside at nighttime! BBQs needed a thorough cleaning...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SIrLancelotBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.7 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
0.6 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#8 of 42 in Halls Gap
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
696 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
#3 of 9 in Halls Gap
255 reviews
0.8 mi away
Halls Gap Motel
Halls Gap Motel
#5 of 9 in Halls Gap
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grampians Eco YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grampians Eco YHA

Address: Corner Buckler Street and Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range: $24 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grampians Eco YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grampians Eco YHA is a stylish and comfortable ECO Certified Nature Tourism accredited hostel that has been architecturally designed with the environment in mind. Situated in Halls Gap at the doorway to the beautiful Grampians National Park this hostel is the ideal base for your nature getaway. Hostel facilities include free on-site car and coach parking, two self-catering kitchens, two guest lounges with wood fire heaters for the winter months, a TV room, free Wifi Hot Spot (Wifi Plus option also available) and laundry facilities. Guests are also welcome to use the free range eggs from the resident chickens and organically grown herbs, vegetables and fruit from the garden when available. Environmental initiatives include solar hot water, reverse cycle fans, waste water management and rainwater collection for the gardens. Various room types are available including 3 and 4 multi-share, twin/double and family rooms. Many of the rooms have private balconies, with views of the Grampians National Park and the local kangaroos and wildlife that make daily appearances to nibble on the lawn. The Grampians National Park is thriving with native flora and fauna and has some of the most spectacular views in the state. Ask our friendly hostel Managers for the local's insider knowledge including directions to the best short walks and nearby waterfalls. Feeling adventurous? The Grampians is home to Victoria's best rock-climbing and a great place to try abseiling, hiking, cycling and canoeing. The Grampians region also has the largest number of rock art sites in Southern Australia. Visit Brambuk Cultural Centre to learn about the rich native Aboriginal culture and history of the Grampians National Park, and witness ancient rock art and cave drawings. The Grampians Eco YHA is a Rent-a-YHA hostel as well, and can be hired exclusively for groups. Bookings can be made for either half the hostel, which sleeps up to 32 people, or the whole hostel which sleeps up to 64. Please contact the hostel manager for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Grampians Eco YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grampians Eco YHA Halls Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing