We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Boroka Downs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boroka Downs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in cottage 3 for three nights. The accommodation is pristine and luxurious. Bob welcomed us and showed us through the cottage. A newspaper and open fire supplies were dropped at our door each morning. Generous breakfast supplies, both continental and cooked provided. Windows facing the Grampians National Park are along the entire length of the cottage providing a view from living and bedroom area. The first night we purchased the cook your own meal pack, steak salad and garlic bread. The kitchen is well supplied to cook up a storm every night if you[and the coffee machine was an added treat.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Skehillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
141
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Absolutely loved our stay at Boroka Down from start to finish. The drive itself into the grounds was enough to have perfect peace and relaxation wash over me. With the Kangaroos and Emus grazing away, we even spotted a couple of deer. Bob was very welcoming took us to cabin #1 and took the time to show us where everything was. It was a beautiful winters afternoon and I got time for a little relax on the hammock reading my book, with the kangaroo's not too far away.
The bed was extremely comfortable, we had full cooking facilities, a great spa bath and an extremely comfortable bed. For the morning we got the most perfect sunrises, basic breakfast provisions were provided. Halls Gap was a quick 5 minute drive and Pomonal was only 3 minutes up the road, Pomonal has a general store and a bistro and there are plenty of places to eat in Halls Gap, however, we decided to order the provisions to make our own beautiful dinner and we are so glad we did. The veggies that were provided were amazing, it was a very relaxing way to end a perfect day of hiking in the Grampians. The evenings were cold but with the log fire it was the perfect wind to unwind each evening. We stayed 3 nights and would comfortably have stayed longer and do intend to again soon.
This is now my second favourite place to visit in Victoria, that puts it very high on a very long list of great places, well done Bob and Steph you got it right.

Room Tip: Dont think you can really go wrong with the placement of the cabins, we did have a sunrise which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indecisive123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We traveled with another couple for a two night stay at Boroka Downs. The experience was exceptional and I look forward to an opportunity to return for a slightly longer stay. They had everything we imagined, or no request was too difficult. We enjoyed the fire and footy on Saturday night after a spa and did some adventuring on Sunday... The Grampians is an amazingly picturesque place with this gem just far enough from the main town to be peaceful, but not too far by car. Watch out for the kangas and deer crossing the driveway! They made for an amazing welcoming party! Thanks Bob & Stephanie for being wonderful hosts. Thanks again!

Room Tip: There are 5 rooms, we stayed in the double. All have wonderful views, the double is right where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMKOO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
198 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Boroka Downs is just beautiful. I cannot add anything more which has not been expressed below. Order the cook-it yourself dinners and enjoy the lovely views, wildlife, and privacy. Good wifi signal, and excellent breakfast provisions are provided.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ssgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Complete indulgent luxury. Boroka downs delivered every thing it promised plus more. Our experience was so memorable and relaxing. There is no need to leave the accommodation, not even to eat, except to explore the magnificent region in which it is located. We definitely put it high on our list of "return to" places. Thank you to Bob and Steph for an amazing time.

Room Tip: All rooms provide privacy and the same luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnhelen1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rüsselsheim
Level Contributor
796 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Boroka Downs is situated about 10 minutes by cor from Halls Gap. To reach the 5 Bungalows you must drive a short time ( 1 km) a gravel road.Than you get luxury pure. Carefully selected furniture, a komfortable big bed, well fitted kitchenfacilities included a espresso-machine, a large spabath etc. Very clean. Outside we found a hammock and two nouns. From the large windows or outside we had wonderful views of the Grampians. All together a relaxing, quiet sty in bushland.
But notice: you must drive to buy food and drinks. Restaurants are 7 km away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wfritschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Boroka, Owner at Boroka Downs, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed Boroka Downs. The quiet and serenity here is a benefit of being a little way from the village; no town noise.

As we offer full self-catering facilities we do encourage our guests to bring provisions with them although most of our packages also include full breakfast provisions. For those who haven’t shopped before they arrive but decide they want to eat here we also offer a seasonal menu of “Dine In” meal packs. These meals are simple to prepare dishes using local produce including from our own organic vegie garden. There’s a copy of the current menu on our website. So if you are not inclined to drive again once you arrive, there is no need; just sit back and soak up the seclusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

A wonderful, private and relaxing place from which to explore the Grampians. The villa was beautifully appointed and there was not a single detail that was overlooked. The breakfast supplies were sumptuous and backpacks with maps were provided. The kitchen had everything you could possibly need and the nightly food baskets were great; the salad ingredients were especially fresh and tasty. It is definitely a special place. A special bonus is the daily visits by the kangaroos and the amazing starry nights. Thank you to Bob and Stephanie.

Room Tip: Every villa is perfectly situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
2.2 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
2.3 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
2.3 mi away
DULC Cabins
DULC Cabins
#5 of 42 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grampians Pioneer Cottages
Grampians Pioneer Cottages
#4 of 42 in Halls Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
3.6 mi away
Marwood Villas
Marwood Villas
#8 of 42 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boroka Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boroka Downs

Property: Boroka Downs
Address: 51 Birdswing Road | Grampians, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boroka Downs 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharing the boundary with the Grampians National Park, Boroka Downs offers romantic luxury and superb views with wildlife at your doorstep. Designed specifically for couples each of our 5 identical, environmentally designed residences is secluded and provides award winning luxury and serenity with full self-catering facilities. Plus there's the luxury 2 bedroom Bungalow for 2 couples, tucked away in the property corner. Boroka Downs is Ecotourism accredited and a Tourism Hall of Fame inductee. Five minutes from Halls Gap but a world away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Boroka Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boroka Downs Halls Gap, Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing