We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”
Review of Halls Gap Escape

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Halls Gap Escape
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was fortunate enough to be able to stay in Halls Gap Escape earlier in the year. I only had one night there with 2 friends and we all wished it could have been for a much longer time. We were literally passing through and found the apartment to be very clean, comfortable and perfect for our needs. We would all love to go back there soon and would highly recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

Halls Gap is always beautiful. These units too are beautiful, but incredibly let down by their unacceptably being dirty.
We had 2 nights..... 7 & 8 July 2013. The rooms had hair on the floors right through the unit, wilted pieces of vegetable in the fridge so it hadn't been wiped out before our use, the bunk beds are not made prior to your arrival its a do it yourself, the doonas on these bunks i doubt were clean for our use, there were stains on one , and a large clump of hair fell off one of a folded doonas as I was making the beds!!!!! the bedroom upstairs also had a dodgy doona cover and there was chips and fluff under the bed, the downstairs heater didnt work , and when the repair man come he said ohhhh its still not fixed!!! it was a thermostat problem that meant the heater only worked if you left the door under the heater open, which was an external door- not at all practical !!! so it had already been reported, and nothing done about it. we paid full price for the unit so we thought that it should have been clean, busy time of the year or not you should not get a half done rush job on the cleaning.
I contacted the people that I booked with, emailed them and have not heard a thing, so they mustn't care about the state that this room gets booked out in.
My advise is stay here but you will need to clean it before you move in. I do hope your stay in will not be disappointing like ours.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie_TravellerSA, Owner at Halls Gap Escape, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Without feedback, we cannot improve our service.

We are sorry that we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. When we spoke to you at the time of your stay we offered to get the cleaner to come around and rectify your concerns, an offer that you declined. In hindsight, we wish that we had insisted that you take up this offer.

We have been operating this house for over 5 years and if you search the web, we have over 50 positive reviews and we have never had a problem with cleaning to this extent. Our cleaner has been informed and as a result of your feedback, we have made immediate arrangements to replace our cleaner.

As for the air-conditioner, in an attempt to resolve the situation as quickly as possible for you, we arranged for a local handyman to come out and trouble shoot the problem. Without being there we cannot deny what was said in exchange with you, however when we spoke with him after his visit he said that he was able to get the heat to work by adjusting the direction of the vents. He said that they were directed into the curtain and not the room, causing the heat to cut out. We assumed that this had resolved the problem and that everything was ok as we heard nothing from you to the contrary during the remainder of your stay. Based on your review, we will arrange for a licensed air-conditioning repairer to inspect the heater.
None the less, the house is well equipped with 2 reverse cycle AC’s, a Gas Log Fire and a portable oil heater so we trust that you were adequately warm.

Regards
Halls Gap Escape

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.2 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#9 of 42 in Halls Gap
163 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lake Fyans Holiday Park
2.6 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
1 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
3.9 mi away
Blaze Rock Retreat
Blaze Rock Retreat
#1 of 1 in Pomonal
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halls Gap Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halls Gap Escape

Address: U 6 15-17 Clematis Dr, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range: $129 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Halls Gap Escape 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Bedroom & 2 bathroom modern townhouse in Halls Gap with Free Wi-Fi. Great mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Halls Gap Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halls Gap Escape Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing