We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the centre of Halls Gap, welcoming and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Grand Guest House
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Ballarat, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“In the centre of Halls Gap, welcoming and affordable”
Reviewed February 16, 2011

I can't believe some of these reviews. I have stayed here many many times. I love the place, its ambience, its proximity to the village. Many walks start from points close to here. When I have walked all day, I look to returning for a cold drink, satisfying meal and the warm welcome of my hosts. On weekends jazz often brings the place alive.
The place is a guest house, so old - it was built in about 1945, materials were scarce after the war. You can stay in a homogenised motel or in some of the history of the area. Which will you choose?

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank venusbathstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    37
    7
    7
    16
See reviews for
3
70
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Totally shocked. Staff were very nice but accommodation nothing like they stated. The reviews that were positive must have had totally different rooms to what we had.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baselga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Halls Gap hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

I must admit I can only blame myself for just having been to the worst accomodation place in over 50 years of travelling: I should have looked at the previous reviews of TRIPADVISOR and I would have never gone there! I can only add to the shocking reports of others: the place is a dump! The owner calls it now a 'Boutique Hotel' and I am referring this to the authorities for it is an exaggeration beyond belief! Obviously other travellers are not so dump as I as in the "high peak season" (as the owner assured me beforehand on the telephone) there were just two couples staying there. The fact that he charged me for two nights though we decided to leave after one night because of the impending Victorian floods only shows the mentality of this place. (less than 48 hours later people were evacuated from Halls Gap). My simple advise: DON'T GO THERE! - even if it were free of charge!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SydneyPierrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gippsland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

A rambling guest house, in need of some repair, but with a warm, welcoming atmosphere and an excellent restaurant. The room was small, but clean and tidy, the ensuite was neat and functional, and the bed was comfortable. The perfect base from which to explore the breathtaking scenery of the Grampians, plus kangaroos, parrots and kookaburras literally on the doorstep.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliffh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

This guest house is in an outstanding spot with beautiful views, yet handy for the village amenities. While the service was sometimes a little creaky, it was well-meaning. The room was nice, if not very big, and the bed very comfortable. The restaurant meals are not haute cuisine but are up to normal bistro standards, and served with a wonderful view. The gardens are beautiful, and pleasant to relax in.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ert53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Vegetarian meal of Canneloni , around $18-$20, tasteless and watery. Salad consisted of some lettuce, 2 quarters of tomato and few slices of cucumber which slid onto the table while being served. Was wiped up with apology from waitress but not replaced. Waited 1 HOUR from time of ordering till meal arrived !! No apology. Restaurant was not full. Others had drink spilled and also long wait for meal.
Very untidy room with electrical cords and band equipment just dumped in eating area and on bar area. Jumbled tables/chairs stored in full view.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kookaburragums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Stayed 4 nights, and found the service was excellent, and the refurbishments were well done, the quality of the resteraunt and wine selection was excellent, found the rooms were comfortable and lounge areas were inviting and great to sit in at night to talk with other guests, the jazz night on saturday was enjoyed by all. the quality of the staff and the comfort of a guest house, where you are made to feel welcome, what else could you want in the centre of Halls Gap.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaynetSaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.9 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
1.7 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
653 reviews
4.1 mi away
Blaze Rock Retreat
Blaze Rock Retreat
#1 of 1 in Pomonal
16 reviews
0.3 mi away
D'Altons Resort
D'Altons Resort
#6 of 9 in Halls Gap
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Grand Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Grand Guest House

Property: Mountain Grand Guest House
Address: 126 Grampians Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Grand Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one of country Victoria’s last remaining traditional Guesthouses, now refurbished into a very comfortable small hotel in the heart of Halls Gap. With its balconies and unique facade, the Mountain Grand is a delightful place to call home after a big day exploring the Grampians. "The Balconies" Restaurant & "Cafe Grand" are so popular, especially on Saturday nights with mellow 30s to 80s live music - "the best music of all time" performed by a selected rotating parade of professional musicians. There are seven small & cozy guest bedrooms with fresh decor and en-suite bathrooms - 3 large rooms, some with spas. No pretentious 5 star luxury, just homely 3.5 star country comfort with wood fire sitting rooms, big screen TVs and club/cocktail bar. The whole property has WiFi. Full breakfasts and 3 course dinners are included in the tariff. Dinners are 3 courses of full choice of menu. Guests with special dietary needs are looked after by our caring chef. Breakfasts comprise an extensive buffet followed by individually cooked offerings. All are enjoyed in our restaurant "The Balconies" and the "Cafe Grand." The Indulgence Getaway also includes gourmet picnic lunches which are extremely popular for bushwalkers who are going to be in the mountains all day. On their return they are treated to our Chef's freshly baked afternoon teas. Guests will be well looked after by our friendly staff & will find enjoyment (to add to the dining experience) relaxing in the various lounge areas with service from the licensed club bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mountain Grand Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Grand Hotel
Mountain Grand Guest House Halls Gap, Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing