We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great3day/nights stay at the halls gap mountain grand boutique we highly recommend it A+”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Grand Guest House
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay, the food was absolutley beautiful and the staff were happy and friendly, they couldn`t do enough for us.
Having the home away from home elegance our room was clean, warm and cosy
A big thank you to Don & Kaye, Jess & Kelly and all other staff.

Room Tip: if you are looking for a beautiful elegant/place to get away this is highly recommended we rate AAA...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmydonbessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 94 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2011

We have just returned from three days at Mountain Grand, and can only believe the negative mis-spellers have a hidden agenda!! It is a Guest House, not a Motel..perhaps
they are conditioned to robotic 'chains'. Our room was spotless, comfortable, and warm.
We were never made to feel we had to eat breakfast or dinner at any special time.
Breakfast was advertised as 'included Continental' - we knew if we wanted cooked it would be extra, but the variety of breads for toasts was fine, raisin loaf, seeded, wholemeal or white....plus fruits. O.k. cereal, jams etc. were of the packet variety, but
so they are at most places. Dinner was superb, enormous variety, freshly cooked
and piping hot, and possibly the tenderest steak we have had for ages, included in the very reasonable price. Can't wait to go again. J and H Dunn

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jayandaitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

The hotel itself is fine rooms are of a motel standatd with usual dust covered mini bar and standard bed, bathroom and towels. Yet you can still hear your nieghbors snore over the rattly whine of delapidated fan heaters that everyone blasts to compensate for the drafty windows.

However the staff rarely know what is going on, I feel sorry for the high school kids that have to deal with us confused customers. However the manager Don has no excuse he will overcharge your credit card, keep you waiting and mislead you on included services and prices.

On arrival my partner and I stared into the dark locked doorway to be let in only by another patron 10 minutes later. Another 10 minutes later we were promised by a young staff member that we would be attended to shortly (Don likes to talk on the phone we were told) after more waiting we were provided a room key but no directions to a room, we had to provide that ourselves apparently.

The dinners are not bad in all honesty but beware of what is included in the cost, we confirmed the price with our friendly waitress(she came back saying she had asked Don) yet on checkout we were provided with a hefty bill and accused of making up the story of asking the waitress.

Dinner is within a strict time window 6.30 - 7.30 or 7 -7.30 depending on who you ask. You cannot leave the staff of the mountain grand waiting but they will leave you waiting after adhereing to their strict guidelines.

Breakfast is a joke. basic cereal.
Cooked meal. 2 toasted slices of 99c safeway bread. eggs and bacon (Don will ask you how many you want; beware each costs more).
I don't eat out to get a meal more basic than what i feel is boring at home.

after having booked a deal and knowing about the cancellation policy we decided to stay through our booking only to be slapped with a an extra bill at the end.

Don't stay here: they care only about your money.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SusanKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

1. During a booking and after they offered us a dinner, we asked about what time a dinner is served. This is very important to us and we always clarify dinner time before booking it. We were told, that the restaurant is open all day long, that we can come and have a meal at any time without any limitation, so this kind of service was very valuable to us.
On our arrival we were told that we should make the order for dinner strictly between 6.30pm and 7.30pm. Not before, not after.
Also we were told that dinner for one night will not be served as the stuff is busy, busy, busy so they need to rest. Can you imagine that in the middle of high season?

2. This is advertised as a boutique hotel with a couple of fancy things you can find on web site (spa, deluxe, etc) which suggests a higher level then basic standards. Unfortunately the room was a quite shock for us not even keeping with the very basic standards like hair dryer, soap, shampoo, fridge or iron with ironing board, items you can find in almost all type of accommodation except the lowest and the most poor ones. Btw, yes hair dryer was available on request, but do I need to plan it in advance and maybe make an appointment to wash and dry hair, instead of relaxing and taking it as I need.

3. The room was cold and uncomfortable.

4. The dinner itself was also a specific experience with a play of noble and fancy game. The very small part of inner rim of plate was slightly touched by soup and we were offered to be cleaned up or plate exchanged if we want.!? The point is why such a fancy, noble gesture in the accommodation with rooms below basic standard. Not to mention that quality of dinner was nothing special, not even warm enough.

5. They advertised that breakfasts comprise an extensive buffet followed by individually cooked offerings. Don't be fooled, I was really shocked what they mean by extensive buffet. And the ‘great’ individually cooked offerings where we had the opportunity to chose between yes and no. So for the next 6 days we had a great choice to chose between having or not having individually cooked offerings. Very enjoyable variation.

6. Ah yes, it was one day when we did not need to use our brain to make a difficult choice between yes and no, as the stuff got one day off. Btw what stuff, I noticed that only Don served the breakfast.

7. Then breakfast is strictly served in very short time slot: between 8:30am and 9:00am.

Obviously everything is well organised according tight time/service Don decided to devote to guest – this is the message we received. And when I asked for hot milk Don was so shocked, surprised and lost as I asked for something impossible. Yes I got the hot milk, but after that I was reluctant to ask anything else, feeling like being a pest and not welcome. So we decided to go after night, breaking this agony which ruined our holiday.

And gues what. Cancelation policy applied even you arrived, booked in, consumed their service and being cheated so we had to pay even we left because we were cheated and dissatisfied.
Moreover they did not give us tax invoice. Total and complete disaster.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mlbBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

For those who like the cold, sterile, steel, glass and tile hotels of today, then The Mountain Grand is not for you.

This is the perfect place to stay for those who like warmth and a comfortable, cozy ambience in a rustic, old world guesthouse full of colour, character and charm.

For those of you who expect the building to be all shiny and new, don't cause it was built over 70 years ago, but that's not saying that it's rundown, not at all, just worn in and homey.

It was spotlessly clean and had all of the amenities and entertainment that you see i a city hotel, including live entertainment in the form of jazz music, secluded seating in beautiful garden and veranda settings as well as a elegant and stylish restaurant, and a delicious menu to complement and great service. I was suprised at the size of the menu and was in heaven being able to eat a variety of fresh seafood dishes every night. Likewise, my partner was in carnivore heaven.

As I have worked (and still do) in many hotels, restaurants and resorts around the Australia and the world, I rate the Mountain Grand at the top of my list and can't wait to go there again.

Room Tip: The Mountain Grand is an attraction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank perpetualgypsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

pleased with the Jazz session and the friendly service

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Borrona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

I can't believe some of these reviews. I have stayed here many many times. I love the place, its ambience, its proximity to the village. Many walks start from points close to here. When I have walked all day, I look to returning for a cold drink, satisfying meal and the warm welcome of my hosts. On weekends jazz often brings the place alive.
The place is a guest house, so old - it was built in about 1945, materials were scarce after the war. You can stay in a homogenised motel or in some of the history of the area. Which will you choose?

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank venusbathstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.9 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
1.7 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
781 reviews
0.1 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#9 of 42 in Halls Gap
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Halls Gap Motel
Halls Gap Motel
#5 of 9 in Halls Gap
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Grand Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Grand Guest House

Address: 126 Grampians Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range: $85 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Grand Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one of country Victoria’s last remaining traditional Guesthouses, now refurbished into a very comfortable small hotel in the heart of Halls Gap. With its balconies and unique facade, the Mountain Grand is a delightful place to call home after a big day exploring the Grampians. "The Balconies" Restaurant & "Cafe Grand" are so popular, especially on Saturday nights with mellow 30s to 80s live music - "the best music of all time" performed by a selected rotating parade of professional musicians. There are seven small & cozy guest bedrooms with fresh decor and en-suite bathrooms - 3 large rooms, some with spas. No pretentious 5 star luxury, just homely 3.5 star country comfort with wood fire sitting rooms, big screen TVs and club/cocktail bar. The whole property has WiFi. Full breakfasts and 3 course dinners are included in the tariff. Dinners are 3 courses of full choice of menu. Guests with special dietary needs are looked after by our caring chef. Breakfasts comprise an extensive buffet followed by individually cooked offerings. All are enjoyed in our restaurant "The Balconies" and the "Cafe Grand." The Indulgence Getaway also includes gourmet picnic lunches which are extremely popular for bushwalkers who are going to be in the mountains all day. On their return they are treated to our Chef's freshly baked afternoon teas. Guests will be well looked after by our friendly staff & will find enjoyment (to add to the dining experience) relaxing in the various lounge areas with service from the licensed club bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mountain Grand Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Grand Hotel
Mountain Grand Guest House Halls Gap, Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing