We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A spectacular place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A spectacular place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were originally attracted to call at this park on our motorhome tour of Western Victoria because of the comments here and elsewhere about the abundant wildlife. We were not disappointed! On registering, we were allocated a site and told that if there was one more suitable to us, to use it instead. On setting up, I immediately returned to the office and requested to stay another night. Emus were grazing less than 50 metres away and a Crimson Rosella flew in and perched itself on our table looking for hand outs. Our friendly neighbours were regulars there and explained the nocturnal activities of the native residents. As dusk approached, so did the kangaroos - coming onto the site and grazing on the lush grass. A truly magical place well looked after by friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    59
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
243
200
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

This campground is in a stunning location with beautiful scenery and wildlife. Rohan and Josephina are excellent hosts and went out of their way to make myself and our children feel welcome. The park is clean, well maintained and in excellent condition. Its a big credit to the hard work of them and their staff. The lawns are green, the pool was a huge hit with my kids. There is heaps of open space to play and relax. We had a fantastic week staying there and thoroughly enjoyed both the Cabin and the park. We were lucky enough to secure a very new cabin with all the amenities that you would find in a quality apartment. Flat screen tv, air con, very comfortable lounge area and bedrooms. There is a fully equipped kitchen and a outdoor deck with a dining area and BBQ. The location is a 5 min drive to the township but we rode our bikes in along the dedicated track through the trees...another real highlight. Thanks so much for all your efforts....We have booked to return again later this year.

Room Tip: The newer cabins...ours was 79 are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

This would have to be one of the best caravan parks we have stayed at in Australia. The attention to detail and the cleanliness of the park was fantastic. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were also impressed with the park plan identifying what sites we could pick from when we arrived and no pressure to make a decision then and there. The ensuite bathrooms near the pool were the best amenties we have also used in our travels. The fully equipped camp kitchen and TV area was also great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steino15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Very pretty camp ground. Lovely welcoming & hospitable hosts. Wildlife at your doorstep & heaps of open space to play & relax. Scenery is amazing. The whole park is very clean & the camp kitchen is fantastic- with a cooking area (fully equipped), dining area & tv area all in one space. Location is a 5 min drive to township & there aren't any good swimming options anywhere nearby (other than the park pool which is small but very nice). The 'lake' behind the park is not really good for swimming. P.S -DO NOT SHOP AT THE General Store in Halls Gap!!!!! bring your own groceries from elsewhere- (300% markup & terrible quality coupled with atrocious customer service)-there are no supermarkets in Halls Gap (not that this is the parks fault but worth mentioning as when I'm feeding a family of 5 I wished I'd known). Park office has good basics & coffee on offer.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jalexoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is the caravan park that makes you want to quit your job and become manager of a caravan park...

It is surrounded by beautiful granite hills/mountains, has walking and climbing trails from the park itself, is well appointed and only a few minutes drive from Halls Gap township. A bike/walking path runs from the park right into town.

Blissfully quiet and perfect for us with a little toddler in tow. Kangaroos and emus gather on grounds near the park at dawn and dusk - some tame enough to be fed. Cockatoos welcome a snack any time of day.

The staff were friendly and helpful and welcoming. The facilities were clean and well maintained.

It is a great place for young families - with heaps of room to roam and walking distance from a terrific mini-golf / gallery / café.

Room Tip: If you have a toddler and a porta-cot, choose a cabin with 2 bedrooms. We took a single bedroom cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We were glad we chose this park! I read the reviews and they gave this park a high rating and they were not wrong.The staff were very friendly and welcoming at check-in and gave us good advice on which site to select as we were a couple and wanted some quite time.In the morning and at dusk, the kangaroos grazed in the open area next to the camp site. The cockatoos, magpies were a lot of fun, too. Free unlimited WiFi around the office came in handy. The new ementies block was great in having your own shower and toilet just like your own ensuite. The kitchen area was also good with everything we needed. We stayed for 3 nights and had a great time. When we come back to the area we will definitely stay at the park again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park over Christmas and New Year. My husband and I sharing a caravan with my sister and her husband a total of 10 nights. My son and nephew booked a powered sitenextdoor for their tent and we all had an awesome time. The park and facilities were clean and particularly enjoyed the private new bathroom facilities. The view of the surrounding mountain ranges was spectacular and loved feeding the cockatoos and kangaroos. Thanks Josephina and hubby for your hospitality, oh almost forgot to mention the fire drum. What a great idea to be allowed to have a fire in the evenings, to sit around and toast marshmallows. Well done guys, keep up the great work.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugmelbourne63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
2.7 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
2.5 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#7 of 42 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort
0.8 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park

Property: Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park
Address: 23 - 27 Tymna Dr, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park, located in the heart of the Grampians we offer a unique camping experience for tents, caravans and motorhomes. In the last 18 months the park has undergone major renovations including NEW amenities with individual bathrooms. Boutique camping with modern facilities! For those of you who prefer the comfort of a cabin we offer NEW modern spacious cabins overlooking the valley where emus and kangaroos roam around freely! Our outdoor heated pool is heated all year round with a WOOD FIRE! make sure you visit us here in the Grampians with so many beautiful walks and lookouts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing