We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hall's Gap Lakeside Tourist Park is an absolute gem. The staff are friendly, welcoming and very happy to provide any assistance you need. The amenities are well maintained and cleaned regularly. The toilet block at the top of the park is the best because you get your own private bathroom. We stay here every year and always enjoy seeing kangaroos, emus and the occasional deer on the lawn that the park overlooks. Cockatoos,, corellas, rosellas and kookaburras visit the park daily and you can hand feed the birds with seed purchased for $1 from reception. There are two dogs that run freely around the park but they are very friendly and will not bother you or your family. The views of the mountains surrounding Hall's Gap are amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stueyhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 665 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

I spent a few nights here over the school holidays with my 9 and 11 yo kids and I am so glad I did! Not really being a experience camper Josephina's friendly welcome and accommodating staff got things off to a great start - its immediately obvious this is a well run business with a team passionate about the park.
The park is about 1.5m out of town and felt open and near the bush, not stuck in between motels and shops. My kids loved the pool, creek at the base of the park, trampolines, lucky dips in the office and the park owners had arranged a visit from the Halls Gap Zoo complete with Bilby and Python!
I found other campers a friendly bunch and went to dinner at the near by "The Views" restaurant with some new camp fiends and their kids. (Nice food, warm cosy place and also great with kids).
If you are camping in cooler months I would also take advantage of the hire a fire service where a drum and firewood are delivered to your camp site!

Room Tip: For campers, the owners are happy to let you drive around and pick your spot from those that are fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David-In-Au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

So glad I didn't take any notice of the previous review, cause this place ticks all the boxes.we loved that it was out of town, very peaceful and stunning backdrop.who cares that its not on the lake and I'm not sure what is meant by no easy access to the water, we had a lovely walk that took a few minutes, took some pictures along the way or we could have driven our car (would have taken a minute) . The kids rate this place 5/5 and didnt want to leave, we only wish we could have stayed longer.genuine hospitality is hard to find these days and that's what makes a place stand out from the others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wishiownedacombi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed there in our motorhome. Place promotes the wildlife experience but has dogs running around scaring native animals off. Also not really on the lake but below the dam wall with no easy access to the water and no views. Also boggy and waterlogged sites. Advise you stay in the park near town. This park is a few km from town.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank johncog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed at the Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park for 2 nights at the end of a 2 week road trip, and it was the perfect last stopover. Josephina and Rohan are the perfect hosts - as soon as I arrived I felt so welcome! Josephina is great for a chat and a laugh - their reception has the most welcoming feeling.

The park itself is the product of a lot of hard work - and it shows. There's happy people walking around every where, and lots of waves and smiles. There's no doubt I chose the right park, and I would encourage all to have a look at this option when considering Grampians accommodation.

The cabin itself had everything I need, was very clean, great shower and a comfortable bed. My cabin overlooked the valley of Halls Gap where the wildlife came and went - it was wonderful to watch them from my deck after a long day exploring the Grampians. I also had morning guests in the form of cockatoos to greet me, which was a special treat. They've got the balance of camping and nature right here - it's just wonderful. Thanks again to all the staff - I look forward to coming back and staying again soon.

Room Tip: A must is to get a cabin overlooking the valley and the wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Had a lovely stay - great surroundings, very peaceful, Josephina & co very helpful, amenities terrific. The kids particularly loved the dogs! ...And the cockies. ...And the rosellas. Oh, and the pool was a hit too. Come to think of it, the lucky dips went down pretty well... And the trampolines got a fair bit of use... And they liked the kookaburras! (Is there room to mention the chupachups hidden at the bottom of the cabin's linen bags??)

Keep up the great work!

Mike, Jessie, Aretha and Huon (Port Noarlunga, SA)

Room Tip: The cabins are great value. Our kids loved the triple-decker bunk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We recently stayed for five nights in a Budget Conscious 1-BRoom Cabin and then stayed another four nights on our way back from Melbourne, treating ourselves to the immaculate Modern 2-BRoom Superb Cabin. We loved everything about Lakeside. Our 3 year old son had a great time whether on the trampolines, in the heated pool, on the playground, toasting marshmallows over a fire, or feeding the cockatoos. We loved the quiet, views, wildlife, clean facilities, pool, leather couches and open fire in the communal area (where we could relax while doing our washing in the neighbouring laundry), the coffees available at reception, and the fabulous shop selling a delightful range of local and European sourced toys and gifts.

However the x-factor is the friendly personalised service. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt genuinely welcomed by Josephina and Rohan. We were grateful when on a particularly rainy day they lent our son a bag of toys to help keep 'cabin fever' at bay.

We have stayed previously at the main caravan park in the centre of Halls Gap but Lakeside exceeded all our expectations. We wanted a quiet getaway with a wildlife experience and plenty of things to keep our son happy. We got that and a lot more. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catfish27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
2.7 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
2.5 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#9 of 42 in Halls Gap
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
3.2 mi away
BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort
2.9 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park

Address: 23 - 27 Tymna Dr, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range: $76 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park, located in the heart of the Grampians we offer a unique camping experience for tents, caravans and motorhomes. In the last 18 months the park has undergone major renovations including NEW amenities with individual bathrooms. Boutique camping with modern facilities! For those of you who prefer the comfort of a cabin we offer NEW modern spacious cabins overlooking the valley where emus and kangaroos roam around freely! Our outdoor heated pool is heated all year round with a WOOD FIRE! make sure you visit us here in the Grampians with so many beautiful walks and lookouts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing