We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in 3rd world countries with better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stayed in 3rd world countries with better!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The deal offered on the website was not what was given when we arrived at the campground. The room we were given had mattresses covered in mould, rusty and mouldy fridge, dirty cutlery and glasses, and no bed lined provided like the website said. Window sills were covered in dust, spiders in the fridge, footprints on the vinyl mattresses, chairs broken and fly wire screens broken.
No help was given by the staff, and they have refused to respond to our emails asking for a refund for this abysmal excuse for accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank emmae728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaravanParkEscapes, Manager at Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park, responded to this review, August 29, 2016
Sorry to hear about the issue with your stay. The business has since changed ownership in February 2016 and is now known as Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park. Since taking over we have done many improvements to the staff including replacing furniture, completely new staff, new kitchen supplies and much more.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Halls Gap so you can see the changes we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    31
    18
    13
    13
See reviews for
39
28
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent 4 nights over the long Easter weekend on an unpowered campsite at this campground. The setting is magnificent and having kangaroos and emus hopping and walking through the park was a highlight of the place to us.

Unfortunately the facilities are outdated and very poorly maintained. There were only 3 sinks available for dishwashing for the entire campground... a total of 16 toilets and I think 8 showers (though I didn't count those...). For 250 sites, you can imagine the chaos.

To add insult to injury, the toilets were forever low on toilet paper, the entire toilet block absolutely filthy - due in part to rainy conditions, granted. There was no traditional mop to clean up after yourself either. The rubbish skips were overflowing as they weren't emptied daily. And late night parties went on into the wee hours, uninterrupted by any management.

Leaky kettles making the power trip in the camp kitchen...

Cannot recommend this campground at busy times, that's for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NicoleD893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Halls Gap hotels

Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights in a family cabin 11 months into a family trip around Australia and just loved it. I admit our expectations were low because it was so reasonably priced. However the staff were lovely and our cabin was fabulous. Much roomier than we expected and overlooking a peaceful clearing on the edge of the bush that simply teemed with wildlife. The bathroom products were also a lovely and unexpected touch at this price point. Lots of Emu, a resident mob of grey kangaroos (loved watching their family interactions), rowdy gangs of sulphur crested cockatoos at sunset, kookaburras, wrens, parrots and even a shy doe and her fawn. All from our little verandah. Highly recommended. As is the Indian takeaway from the fabulously Bollywood place down the road ( on the way to the Cultural Centre). Only thing to be aware of is that Internet and mobile coverage is very limited.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I have just spent six nights staying on a powered site with our two golden retrievers. Relatives were staying in a powered site alongside ours. We absolutely loved it. As soon as we arrived we were welcomed by emus who came to investigate who had just arrived. Very interesting for our dogs who had never been 'up close and personal' with emus or kangaroos (which were always in site and came in very close of an evening). The downside of all this wildlife is of course that there are a lot of droppings in the park but with wildlife roaming all the time this has to be expected and accepted. The toilet block is dated but clean. Good pedestrian footpath/cycle path into the centre of Halls Gap. Also short walk to local pub, selling good food, where we were able to sit out on the deck with our dogs. The site was very dark of night, which I found a bit frightening when I went to the toilet block as I couldn't see the kangaroos but could sometimes hear them hopping about. Will definately visit this friendly park again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Spriggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallarook, Vic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Took a 'deluxe' room and at first glance it looked clean and comfortable. However mattress had so little padding you could feel the springs so unable to sleep the first night, I got a blanket from the wardrobe to put under the sheet. The blanket was filthy and pulling the sheet back revealed a pool of blood on the mattress protector. Pillows were either flat or lumpy and friends in another cabin said their pillows were smelly as well. The grout between the tiles in the bathroom was black with mould. A fair way out of town but friendly birds. Very poor value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I along with our Golder Retreiver "Toby" stayed for 10 beautiful days at this location in October 2012. We enjoyed a campfire every night along with the necessary refreshment while the Emus and Kangaroos wandered around nearby. The staff were excellent and could not do enough for you even the the point a 13 yr old 'Drew" looks after your dog for a modest fee if you want to go into any areas of the Grampians where you can't take your dog or even wander a short stroll down to the Pub for a meal. P.S. Keep up the great work guys and gals and we will see you next time. "Drew" Toby says........ "Woof."

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank colbenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We arrived on a Thurday afternoon and was greeted by a lovely friendly lady who organised our large party of guests. She was very helpful in proividing me with heaps of information. I was having difficulty reversing my caravan, so a gentleman came over and helped me back it up. The provided my wood and bin for buring as requested. Customer service was outstanding.
Even thought the bathrooms and toliets were very clean they could do with being updated, however still very comfortable. I would come again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
0.7 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
1.4 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#7 of 42 in Halls Gap
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Lake Fyans Holiday Park
3.0 mi away
Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park
0.8 mi away
BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park

Property: Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park
Address: 2223 Grampians Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park is a Dog friendly caravan park that also has a limited number of dog friendly cabins. We have a huge Open Range unpowered camping area for those guests who want some space or large powered sites to suit caravans or tents. Facilities include Camp kitchen, TV room, Laundry,Swimming pool, Jumping pillow, BBQ area and free WiFi. Our cabins include Spa Cabins, Family Spa Cabins, Twin Deluxe cabins, Family Cabins and Budget Cabins. We have a variety of activities for children including our swimming pool, jumping pillow, playground, basketball hoop and pedal kart hire. For guests travelling with dogs we have a new off the leash fully fenced play area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing