We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Amazing accommodation”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travelers have booked this property
Warm up next to our gas log fire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Warm up next to our gas log fire
Kitchen opens to dining & lounge Open plan living with treetops views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
24 reviews
Warm up next to our gas log fire
Kitchen opens to dining & lounge
Open plan living with treetops views
King bedroom with bush views to Mt William Range
Spa with bushland views of National Park
New kitchen with dishwasher
Dining area
Cook something yummy!
Display cabinet with magazines, toys and more!
Queen bedroom with bush views to Mt William range
Open plan living dining
Bathroom with spa and shower
Elk head detail at the end of corridor
The Escarpment floorplan
Relax on the treetop front deck...best seat in the house!
Elevated deck with BBQ and outdoor entertaining area
Outdoor firepit
Kids can reconnect with nature in our backyard!
Cockatoos visit on deck
Native grevillas in flower
Wildlife in your doorstep
Stunning treetop views
Stunning High Road
Location location location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Halls Gap, Grampians, Victoria

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
conny s
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Amazing accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

thank you so much for a relaxing stay at the escarpment. The house was lovely warm to escape cool winter nights. the setting and wildlife is absolute amazing. The house is well appointed and the children enjoyed the variety of toys provided. We highly can recommend this accommodation.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location and the little extra touches within the house.
Liked least: Everything was in good condition.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kareen B
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great position and lovely house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I took my family away and wanted a comfortable house in a good position. The Escarpment had both these. Short walk to the walking/bike track which then is an easy distance into town and to the start of some of the easier walks. The house is well appointed with great views and privacy. We had a lovely stay and the Gas log fire made it !!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2013
Thanks so much Kareen. I am so glad that you got to spend some good "bonding" time with your kids at The Escarpment & in The Grampians!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A beautiful setting, surrounded by wildlife and dramatic scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Thanks for a relaxing stay at The Escarpment. A beautiful setting indeed with surrounding bush, native plants, prolific birdlife and of course the kangaroos!
We found the house clean and the bedding comfortable. Some lovely modern touches with quality bedding, artwork, and a renovated bathroom. Perfect for a family holiday and value for money. Make sure you utilise the BBQ area for a meal, taking in the view and observing the visiting wildlife.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The surrounding bushland and mountain backdrop
Liked least: The cleanliness of kitchen utensils left by previous tenant
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L K
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. Nice property, very comfortable home away from home. Man oh man the birds!!!! Was a treat to have such close encounters with such tame, beautiful birds. Not to mention the kangaroos and even a frog! The views of the mountains from the back yard in the early morning and late arvo were especially gorgeous. The time we spent in the Grampians is something we'll never forget. We are already hanging out for our next visit both to The Escarpment and Spirit of Punjab, best Indian restaurant in Australia!! Had 2 of 3 meals from there!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The incredible wildlife experience
Liked least: no complaints
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2012
Dear Lisa

You are a star, thank you so much for staying with us! We would be so happy to welcome you and your family back anytime.

Warm regards

Louise
THE ESCARPMENT & HEAVENLY RETREAT
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Cosy retreat on a wet week!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

The Escarpment was a lovely place to stay when we visited Halls Gap and we would recommend it to anyone who wanted a peaceful retreat in the beautiful Grampians. They catered for our every need and having a small child with us, it is nice to not have to take it all with us. The Music CD's were a lovely touch and we were welcomed by 2 kangaroos when we arrived. The wildlife is amazing around this house, and the walk into Halls Gap, a flat 15 mins walk, except for the slight incline up to the road where the house is on, was a lovely stroll seeing lots of different wildlife! The curry house in Halls gap is also highly recommended! We got A take out on our final night and it was better than some of Melbourne curries we've had!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Wildlife and gas fire
Liked least: No hair dryer
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2012
Thanks so much for the review Gabrielle...you can come back anytime!

If you ever get the chance to come back with just your husband, we have a stunning couples retreat just across the road called Heavenly Retreat. Check it out, we will definately look after you!

Warm regards

Louise
www.heavenlyretreat.com.au
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachel a
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Getting back to the simple things in life”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Escarpment as it enabled us to feel a real sense of relaxation and comfort. The beautiful surroundings enhanced our stay and allowed us all to feel a strong connecion to nature. We would thoroughly reccomend the Escarpment for its tranquility, convenient location and stylish furnishings!

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The living room, the bath and lovely veiws.
Liked least: No toilet paper upon arrival
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasha n
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“excellent place to relax and unwine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011 for a stay in December 2011

"First of all, a big thank you for the outstanding house! it was so nice to spend time off here!, i wished it could've been longer! the house was very spacious and had everything we need! LOUISE you were very helpful and such a lovely person to help us organise this accomodation. hopefully i can take some time next year to come back .thank you again!!"

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: everything about it
Liked least: nothin
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$121
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing