We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous accommodation situated centrally and...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Lodges

The Blue Wren Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Kingfisher Lodge The Kingfisher Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
247 reviews
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Kingfisher Lodge
The Kingfisher Lodge
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Blue Wren
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Blue Wren
Kingfisher
Kingfisher
Kingfisher
Kingfisher
Local wildlife near The Lodges
The Pinnacle lookout
Halls Gap
Local wildlife in the gardens of The Lodges
Emu
McKenzies Falls
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Halls Gap, Grampians, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 247 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
confused9...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation situated centrally and close to all the facilities of Halls Gap.”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Fabulous accommodation centrally located in the lovely village in the Grampians. The Lodge (Blue Wren) was perfect for a couple wanting to get away from everything and was presented in a very clean and welcoming manner. The fire was a great success thoroughly warming up the Lounge areas and the spa bath was also a favourable extra. The only fault is that the toilet is situated in an area off the laundry and it can be a cold walk there in the middle of the night! Also the lack of internet access was regretted

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The locality and peace
Liked least: Lack of internet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2015
Glad you enjoyed your stay. We believe the toilet which is situated INSIDE The Lodge and only half a dozen steps from the bedroom is in an ideal spot as it is separate from the ensuite, so if someone is having a shower or spa or putting there make up on, there is not the inconvenience of the toilet being in that room. I will admit Wi-Fi would sometimes be handy, but most guests are now running it from there phones so it is becoming less a priority.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWB_13
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location / Fantastic Accommodation”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our stay at the BLUE WREN in the Lodges was memorable. A serene environment within a well appointed one bedroom apartment. We enjoyed our 3 night stay very mcuh and will no doubt return. We were met each morning with a number of kangaroos [complete with Joeys in the pouch] anxious to share our breakfast.... very tame and a delight. Within our accommodation we had complete privacy and wonderful views of the well kept surroundings. As an added bonuse, the Halls Gap area offers much in easy to hard walking treks with beautiful views. Thank you Peter & Kerryb, we would recommend your establishment to anyone seeking an up-market retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Privacy and features of the apartment
Liked least: Having to go home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selwyn F
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Comfortable, Consistent and Centrally Located Accommodation”
Reviewed September 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed more than ten times over many years, neighbouring vacant land with wildlife and with spectacular mountain views. Much attention to detail

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality of attention to detail by owners
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marieC318...
Tamworth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing lodge!!”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

There is absolutely nothing I could fault about The Blue Wren Lodge! Our two nights were absolutely a fantastic stay at Thd Blue Wren! Extremely clean, everything one could need and more even I shouldn't have had to take our favourite Moconna coffee! It was there for us! Very well appointed and the floor plan of the cottage was well thought out! Such a beautiful place on a cold evening with the open fire and the odd glass of red!
Would thoroughly highly recommend to all!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leerich20...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A welcome return to an 'old friend'.”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was a return visit. The Lodge is of a very high standard, and immaculate. Great care and attention has been paced to ensure you have a wonderful stay. In addition to the cosy lodge is the abundance of wildlife in your back yard. Lee

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyJ201...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Weekend”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have visited the lodges on several occassions it seems to be our annual trip, it is so relaxing and such a beautiful place to stay.
We had several visits from the kangaroos and cockatoos which was lovely.
We look forward to returning next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The open fire
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrissylo...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Exceptional hospitality with no detail overlooked”
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at the Blue Wren which is a one bedoom cottage. The communication with Peter prior to arrival was thorough and prompt and the cottage exceeded our expectations in terms of every detail being covered. You can clearly see that the owners really care about thier guests experience as they made sure that everyting was in place for a no fuss stay, including a selection of board games and books. The breakfast hamper inclued a great bottle of red wine from a local winery and a voucher to take to the local bakery for a fresh loaf of bread. The kitchen is well equipped and even had a tea pot! We particularly loved that a local mob of kangaroos seem to have chosen a patch of grass in the yard as the spot to sun themselves each morning. We woke to around 10 roos just lounging about and they were accustomed enough to people to allow us to hand feed them which was a real treat. We would definately bring international visitors back here to get a taste of Australian nature. Loved this place.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing