We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great view”
Review of Halls Gap Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Halls Gap Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Certificate of Excellence
Vence, France
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good value and great view”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Willing to explore a bit of the Grampians, we stopped 2 nights in this motel. We had a great time there. The management was very friendly and helpful (as we got delayed by the fires in the area, they waited for us so we could do our check in and have a place to stay).
The room was big enough and clean.
What was great for us (non aussies) was to have roos all over the place, have a great view on the mountains and we could also see wild deers. It was very cool

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Manager at Halls Gap Motel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Monique,

Thank you for your positive review. We are always happy to help in any way we can to make all guests including "non Aussies" have an enjoyable experience here at Halls Gap Motel in the Grampians Loved your accents! Thanks again for choosing to stay with us.
Kind regards

Jennie & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    56
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
52
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

our last review of this motel was negative. since then, new management and new lease of life for what is a basic motel has turned the place around.
the view is as always spectacular.
new managers are good. some food if simple is available. wifi is free.
much more welcoming and frankly we are glad, well done!

Room Tip: further from the road puts you closer to the animals..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sd500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter s, Manager at Halls Gap Motel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We thank you for your comments, and are pleased that our efforts since taking the motel back over are appreciated. We still have many more things we want to do and hope the you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

we were 4 in number so the family room worked out good value. however there wasn't much room for manoeuvre once we got all our bags in. but for the price we paid that wasnt so bad. clean. god showers. nice owner who has recently taken over the place. you get the feeling this place will get better as he makes some adjustments to the place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stay 1 night in room 10, it was a large room with double bed and a single, along with a kitchen table and chairs and lounge. The room was fresh, clean and comfortable. There was free wifi and plenty of tea and coffee, along with a small selection of mini bars treats if you needed them - something that you don't often see in a small country hotel. The position is perfect 5 mins walk to the main drag with good coffee shops and eating places. The view from the garden is relaxing with plenty of wildlife wandering very close to the garden, roos, deer,rabbits and a ton of bird life.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter s, Owner at Halls Gap Motel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
we thank you for your comments and are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights. Got a deal from the herald Sun. I think it was $79pn and it was during winter time. The room was quite dated but didn't bother us that much as we were out most of the time. The room was clean. We had an ensuite which was also clean. The owners were friendly.
The mist atop the mountains was breathtaking! Views galore!!
Walking distance to town

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

spent 1 night in their "family room" which was basically 1 queen bed and 2 single beds in a room that i felt it was only supposed to be for just 2 people.. hence it was quite of squeezy for us, 4 adults..
nevertheless, it was alright for just 1 night.. i don't foresee staying in this room for anything more than 2-3 nights..
service was alright..
but what really made it up was the beautiful view outside where there were chairs for us to sit and enjoy the view of the mountain in the background.. and kangaroos grazing and hopping around us..
it was just absolutely relaxing..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feiju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapstone
Level Contributor
321 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This motel is a budget motel offering very reasonable prices indeed but I was surprised by the quality of the room, bed and bathroom with a very good shower. Much better than I expected. The carpet perhaps a little worn, but the outlook from the room was fabulous. Right outside the door is a large grassed area with table and seats on the banks of a picturesque river which you may share with the kangaroos early morning and evenings. Look across the river to the mighty rocky mountains that surround the town. You can order good meals at a very reasonable prices of an evening which can be delivered directly to your room. There is a small table and seating inside the room. Same applies for breakfast. This Motel is no more than 300 metres or so from the shops in Halls Gap where there are many eating places and a very good bakery. Fantastic walks to the waterfalls and mountain peaks which are clearly signposted. If you book directly to the Motel you can obtain a 10 per cent discount off their best prices if you ask (Not available special event days).

Room Tip: ask for rooms 7, 8, 9, 10 for a nicer outlook to the lawns and outside scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShepLapstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.8 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
0.2 mi away
Mountain Grand Guest House
Mountain Grand Guest House
#9 of 9 in Halls Gap
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
#4 of 9 in Halls Gap
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halls Gap Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halls Gap Motel

Property: Halls Gap Motel
Address: 153 Grampians Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Halls Gap Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When only the best will do. Halls Gap Motel is located in the heart of the Grampians National Park, in Victoria Australia. Vern and Som are the owners and would love to welcome you to this little gem with the best views of the Fyans Valley floor. A privately owned wetland on the floor of the valley allows us to observe native water-birds in their natural habitat. You will enjoy all of this with visitors from all over the world and spend time on the lawns with the kangaroos, kookaburras and cockatoos. Along with close up and personal interaction with the native flora and fauna. Breakfast or BBQ can be arranged on arrival, free WIFI. Halls Gap Motel is located within walking distance of the village and the walking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Halls Gap Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halls Gap Motel Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing