We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly & Cheap” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halls Gap Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Halls Gap Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Certificate of Excellence
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Friendly & Cheap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is a small motel but it has everything you need. The rooms were clean and it looked as though the bathroom had recently been renovated.
The big pluses here are:
The really friendly owner (new)
The wonderful views from the grounds
The price - it was very cheap

Room Tip: Only 10 rooms - its small. Any room would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mae J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    54
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
49
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

This place has the best views in Halls gap.
A pity the managers are so poor.

we booked two rooms. they cancelled one on us, we arrive to discover we had lost a room.
last minute changes like that are unacceptable.
oddly, now they were full!
to say we had called and cancelled the room, was a bit rich.
the offer, we can go somewhere else. not likely at last minute.

The place is good value and the wildlife one can see sitting out the back is wonderful. A real joy that we have enjoyed many times before.

NOT going back till the current management change.
Do not recommend this place based on that experience. Next time we will stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: to get a good room, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sd500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallsGapMotel, Owner at Halls Gap Motel, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Hi, my name is peter and i am pleased to say Maree & i have taken over the halls gap motel as at 1/4/12. We note that you stayed at the motel in march when the previous manager was in charge and i agree that this should never have happened to you. We are no stranger to the Halls Gap Motel as were the owner/operator for 5 years, about 12 years ago. We are excited to be back as we love Halls Gap and the location of our Motel with the exceptional views & wildlife as you noted. We Hope that you see fit to visit us again, now that we are back in charge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

The location is excellent, just 5 minutes walking to the villa center, away from the noise. Also near the Grampians attractions (is better to have a car to visit everything)
In the mornings and before sunsent you will receive some visitants... we feed the wild cackatoos and one came in my shoulder also some kangaroos come around in the lake near by
The view of the mountain on the sunset is very beautiful also

Suggestions while there:
cackatoos in the Motel during near sunset, the grand canyon track on wonderland card park, the boroka lookout and also the cackatoos in the early morning near the city

Room Tip: all rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ViLaruccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallsGapMotel, Owner at Halls Gap Motel, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
It was lovely to meet you, and i am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us over the easter break. Thankyou for the review. Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Very good motel and accomodation. Brilliant rooms and restaurant. A perfect location to spot wildlife and kangaroo's! Very kind and personal owners!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maarten T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

My wife and I just spent 1 night at the Halls Gap Motel, Rate was $100 per night. The Motel consists of 10 ground floor units. Very basic. 1 large room with double bed and adjoining bathroom. TV including cable, fridge and tea making facilities. The room was immaculately clean.

The setting is great as there is a grassed area where kangaroos graze in the evening. You do not go to Halls Gap for the accommodation but rather the walks/hikes. The Motel is adequate and recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demonmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.8 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
0.2 mi away
Mountain Grand Guest House
Mountain Grand Guest House
#9 of 9 in Halls Gap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
#4 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halls Gap Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halls Gap Motel

Property: Halls Gap Motel
Address: 153 Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Halls Gap Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When only the best will do. Halls Gap Motel is located in the heart of the Grampians National Park, in Victoria Australia. Vern and Som are the owners and would love to welcome you to this little gem with the best views of the Fyans Valley floor. A privately owned wetland on the floor of the valley allows us to observe native water-birds in their natural habitat. You will enjoy all of this with visitors from all over the world and spend time on the lawns with the kangaroos, kookaburras and cockatoos. Along with close up and personal interaction with the native flora and fauna. Breakfast or BBQ can be arranged on arrival, free WIFI. Halls Gap Motel is located within walking distance of the village and the walking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Halls Gap Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halls Gap Motel Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing