We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not overly fussed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not overly fussed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend away a couple of weeks ago.. Very disappointed. Upon check in we were offered the option of eating at the restaurant - Darcy's. The receptionist offered us a spot at first on either Night and then back tracked and said they weren't opening the restaurant on Saturday night due to a wedding. So we took Friday night.
Seated straight away, stuffy restaurant. Opened the window.. Got in trouble because the foreigners across from us ( in tshirts and shorts!) were complaining it was cold - so we had to suffer instead. Pork belly was beautiful. Couldn't fault it. Stone grill on the other hand wasn't overly interesting or good.

Motel rooms are big but not modern. Tv remote barely worked unless you stood next to it. Tea and coffee making facilities and a toaster (but no plates or cutlery so pointless really). Juice in mini bar 3 months out of date... Kinda gross! Advertised foxtel but I didn't see any foxtel channels... Beds are amazingly comfy though!

My biggest issues were the parking. Signs say 'park front in' apparently this is too hard to do and people do as they please... Including parking parrallel so no one else can fit and having to walk a mile to your car!

Biggest issue was the wedding on Saturday night... Blaring music till after 11, reception closes at 8 so you can't even complain. We had a room right next to it... Poor planning and inconsiderate to a) put non wedding guests so close to the reception and b) having music so loud in a quiet motel location... Complained at check out but man more concerned about talking about the ultra loud cicadas so gave up.

All in all it does the job, wedding left us bleary eyed in the morning for a long drive home but did the job for the weekend but will look elsewhere next time.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank emzz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    70
    49
    21
    13
See reviews for
23
109
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Location is stunning as with all of Halls Gap. You will need to walk to Halls Gap or drive. Nice walk in good weather. Rooms are small and in need of upgrade. Staff are not very friendly and one in particular was "unhelpful". Breakfast was Ok. Would choose other options next time

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renmark, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We had our coach group stay here and the most common comment to come from our passengers was the beds were the most comfortable we've had on tour. The restaurant meals were very good. Will come back again

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TonyT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roeselare, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a Queen spa deluxe room. We had a spa bath in the room. The bed was comfortable with electrical blankets.
Lots of Kangaroos around the motel.
The room was very clean. Lovely views.
The lady at the reception was very frlendly.
We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlet2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
295 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Situated in the heart of Halls Gap with nice views up onto the surrounding mountains. Has huge rooms with 2 queen (maybe even king?) beds in each room and nice friendly staff. I stayed in the double storey complex in the back so the single storey rooms in the front maybe smaller and cheaper?

Room Tip: can have a choice of upstairs or downstairs rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidhughtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This accommodation was very good. The bed was very comfy, we had a spa bath in our room which was big enough for two people to enjoy (with a glass of wine too) and the food in the attached restaurant was absolutely superb. Kangeroos graze in the grounds and the scenery around Hall's Gap is beautiful. We plan to go back to this motel again and sample more of the superb cuisine and the nature around the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OssyGirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We found this destination in the heart of the grampians it is perfectly located close to lovely walks and scenery, the reception was helpful warm and friendly, the room though spacious is pretty tired and dated but reasonably clean and nice, the usual amenities, and the wild life enchanting, the frogs in the nearby creek are playing a symphony, value for money? Still a question mark, Alan

Room Tip: All seem well situated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanT113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.8 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
0.2 mi away
Mountain Grand Guest House
Mountain Grand Guest House
#9 of 9 in Halls Gap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.0 mi away
Halls Gap Motel
Halls Gap Motel
#5 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
#4 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap

Property: Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
Address: 141 Grampians Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap is one of Halls Gap's premier establishments with a range of services that few in the Region can offer. With 51 comfortably appointed rooms, all non smoking, the licensed Darcy's Restaurant, Morningside Cafe for breakfast, 2 Conference rooms with full catering, outdoor swimming pool, sauna, gymnasium, children's playground, BBQ area and Guest Laundry. Every single room has all new beds and they are the best that you will experience and are the main reason why people choose the Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap as the place to stay. You will find yourself immersed under the best doonas with your head on king pillows - the most time in a motel room is spent on the bed and so this property ensures that your experience is worth it! Each room has an LCD television, DVD player, tea & coffee making facilities, in-room safe, large bathroom and electronic key card door locks for security. There is plenty of parking on the premises and the photo opportunities with the local wildlife and surrounding views are endless. The Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap's facilities are popular for conferences, meetings and weddings with a dedicated events co-ordinator that looks after your requirements. The Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap is ideally located within easy walking distance from the town centre and so you can leave your car at the motel and wander around the township. The Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap may not be the cheapest accommodation option but it is definitely one of the most comfortable properties that you can choose when visiting the magnificent Grampians Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing