We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fantastic Quiet Retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grampians Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grampians Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
NZ
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Quiet Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Lovely, a spa bath to read my book in. Its quiet, the family are out and I am alone with my book and the sounds of the birds. Bliss. Thank you for that alone.
We stayed Christmas Eve and Christmas Day here and we felt truly spoilt to be in such a lovely place.
We had a two bedroom unit with the main bed in one room and four bunks in the other and a separate bath-room, shower and sink room and toilet. Very nice with a family.
The AC was lovely, but becuase of where Halls Gap is we found we didnt have to use it as much as we thought. The evening was cool enough to sleep through peacefully without it going.
the main bed was quite hard to my liking, but that is just the way it is in motels. The rooms were made up perfectly and very clean.
As it was Christmas, our host gave us a bottle of wine to celebrate. What a lovely touch. Thank you.
I would happily stay here again. Such a pretty spot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tounga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    14
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

As soon as we arrived and were taken to our chalet, we were enamoured with the place. The initial service was great. We were greeted with a free bottle of wine, which was pretty good. The highlights of staying here are the views that you get of the kangaroos, some even came right up to our chalet. The spa bath was great and the large rooms were fantastic. I highly recommend staying here if you are planning a stay in Halls Gap.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestravelling162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were in Halls Gap as a one night stop in a four week adventure. What an excellent surprise to find ourselves at the Chalets. Our Chalet was gorgeous, with a plethora of wildlife (Emu and Kangaroos). My husband and I had a very quiet day just on our deck, with a glass of our complimentary wine (very good) and some chocolate. Later that night we enjoyed a spectacular thunderstorm in our room, and all in all, were very relaxed in the comfortable bed. Loved this experience! Great spot if you are in Halls Gap.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fish_Swim_Play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The air conditioning is inadequate. When we decided to give a nights notice because the cooling is just not up to an Australian summer and let's face it at $230 a night you expect cooling to be adequate we were refused a refund! I even offered to pay a penalty but the owner refused point blank and we were left in a sweltering chalet too hot to even prepare an evening meal! Lesson learnt screw the tourist for the dollar during peak season but don't consider being realistic hosts!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oneforthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick East, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here in chalet 7 for 4 nights over the cup weekend and it was absolute bliss. The bed was extremely comfortable expect it was on rollers so there was some movement at times (the only negative). In regards to chalet you have a dual shower, twin basins, spa, dishwasher and pay TV. The view from the verandah is spectacular with plenty of kangaroos, ducks and native birds only a stones throw away. I highly recommend this accommodation and would stay here again when we return to Halls Gap.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyall_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The stay at the chalets was comfortable, and it certainly gave us a very homely experience during the one night stay we had. It was a pity that we could only stay for one night and had to leave really early the next morning.I was impressed with the full kitchen facilities that was offered.

It would have been better if the gas heater was working, as it kept switching off after a few minutes. It would also be great if there were electric heaters on the beds. Fortunately, there was still the heat function from the air conditioner.

But overall, a great stay at the chalets and i would definitely return during my next stay in Halls Gap.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 9325fbhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed 2 nights over the weekend. There are kangaroos in the nearby paddocks. Kids loved the kangaroos and location was excellent. There are nice walks closeby. The chalets are a reasonable size and set up with a walkway in the middle which was great for us as we went with a group and access to other chalets was made easy. Thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itstime2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.8 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
1.1 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.7 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#7 of 42 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Halls Gap Log Cabins
Halls Gap Log Cabins
#9 of 42 in Halls Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grampians Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grampians Chalets

Property: Grampians Chalets
Address: 221-223 Grampians Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grampians Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Grampians Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grampians Chalets Halls Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing