We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude, filthy cabin, green pool, liars, ripped off, misleading information”

Takaru Bush Resorts Grampians
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halls Gap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Takaru Bush Resorts Grampians
Reviewed November 23, 2010

brought package from travel auctions. cabin was filthy. floors not swept or mopped. shower recess with mould and hair. bedding with fluff and hair. microwave, fridge and cutlery drawer dirty, filth on top of fridge. dust ,dirt, food, on floors that had been there for a long while!, pool was green and had ducks living on it!! They lied to us and they were rude to us. the photos on the internet are very misleading and nothing like what this place is actually like. It is NOT a resort. It is nothing like what is portrayed on the internet, except for the wildlife. they do exist!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kezColac68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takaru, Manager at Takaru Bush Resorts Grampians, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2011

We apologise for the lack of proper cleaning in this cabin. The cleaner responsible is no longer employed here. We pride ourselves on offering a high standard of cleaning in both our cabins and amenities and regularly do follow up inspections.
Unfortunately we were unable to offer this guest another cabin as we were booked out at the time and the guest did not want to wait while the cabin was cleaned.
This guest was very upset that we could not give a refund on the spot, but as this was a Travel Auction booking the refund had to be given by Travel Actions. A full refund was arranged with Travel Auctions.
Yes the pool was green and it took over 4 weeks to bring it back after winter shutdown. All guests were advised on arrival of the problem we had.
We apologise for the problems this guest had but staff not giving a refund is not rudeness.
All the photos on the web are of this park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed with 3 sons (12, 9 & 8) and found the park well run, very family friendly and a gorgeous place to commune with nature. Situated right next to a large lake with good fishing for redfin made the 12yr olds day! The large paddock at the bottom of the park holds approx 60 kangaroos every morning and late afternoon. We stayed in a cabin which was extremely clean and comfortable. We all charmed the birds from the trees with rosella corellas and sulphur crested cockatoos eating out of our hands on the decking. Then theres Henry, a local deer who often wanders around the edges of the park checking on everyone. A two minute walk to the bush at the back of the park provides the view of a small but still somehow very impressive waterfull. An open fire is provided in the communal rec room at night. Yes, there is an 11pm curfew but that provides (and ensures) a peaceful time for all, no drunk yahoos here!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank All3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

This place imposes a strict 11pm curfew - all fires to go out and everyone to go indoors. It's not enough to simply keep the noise down, you are restricted to your cabins past 11pm, even when the park is virtually empty, in the middle of winter. Spent $15 on a bag of firewood that refused to burn, 2 minutes after the fire finally starts going, he turns a hose on the fire because it's 11pm. You are treated and spoken to like you're 12, and all you're told is 'that it's strict camp rules' - so if you want to hark back to your children's camp days, this place will be fantastic for you, but if you're wanting to just chill out with friends, don't go near this place with a ten foot pole.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AnnieBennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takaru, Manager at Takaru Bush Resorts Grampians, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2011

We do have a 10pm curfew on fires and noise. This is both for safety (fires) and consideration for other guests (noise).
If you wish to go out and return late and light your fire after our curfew time and then sit around engaging in loud and drunken behaviour we are sorry but this is not the park for you.
If you wish a quiet and enjoyable relax in the Grampians please try us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dino B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
2.4 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#9 of 42 in Halls Gap
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park
5.5 mi away
Lake Fyans Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
2.7 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
3.9 mi away
Aurora Cottages
Aurora Cottages
#2 of 4 in Pomonal
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takaru Bush Resorts Grampians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takaru Bush Resorts Grampians

Address: Tymna Drive | PO Box 4, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Halls Gap
Also Known As:
Takaru Bush Resorts Grampians Halls Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing