We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay and will certainly be back again.”

Takaru Bush Resorts Grampians
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halls Gap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Takaru Bush Resorts Grampians
Reviewed June 26, 2011

I have stayed at Takaru on numerous occasions and have never had a problem with the facilities or the staff. I do not concur with the reviewers below who slate this camp ground. Perhaps just sour grapes due to eviction.
Our last visit at the end of June was just as good as other occasions. I have camped, caravanned and used the chalets. Each time was enjoyable. The site is peaceful, set away from the main Halls Gap centre with abundant wildlife.
Speaking to others who stayed the same weekend they only had good things to say about the staff, facilities and overall enjoyable stay.
As to curfews....there were guests up enjoying themselves till the early hours of the morning. They were not noisy and did not cause us any loss of sleep and we were closest to where they were sitting. The staff were around and were only making their stay enjoyable.
This last stay we used a cabin which was very clean and had all facilities that I would expect. We arrived late in the dark and the staff had put lights on in the cabin and switched the heating on. A nice touch. The staff were very courteous and made our stay comfortable.
Personally I would whole heartedly recommed this camp site. I would suggest you go and stay and then draw your own conculsions.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMurphy_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 22 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2011

We re-booked for our second easter so looking forward to meeting up with 5 other families (2 from melbourne and 4 from Adelaide) Very different from last year!!
NO playground, filthy amenities and rude/ nasty managers.
We had just arrived and were unpacking when our pre school children were approached in a very aggressive manner and told "cant you read.PUT YOUR HELMETS ON NOW!! ! Have these managers got a working with children certificate?? In fact is there such a thing as a get along with holiday makers certificate? Where on earth did the owners of this park find these guys?
At 7pm our happy, funloving camp atmosphere was destroyed by the two aggressive rude park managers. TURN OFF MUSIC, PUT OUT FIRE BY 10 OR WE WILL CONFISCATE IT, CLEAN UP YOUR MESS!!! Of course we obeyed all three demands promptly.
Later my husband and two mates who were having a quiet beer and chat were told to "GO TO BED" at midnight ON THE DOT. In fact these managers are so passionate about the rules they preceded to call the police as our husbands were still not in bed at 12.15am Three police cars turned up (god knows what they told the police on their 000 call) I think the police were dumbfounded and annoyed to find 3 guys just talking ...not yelling not cheering.. not disrupting anybody else in the park. Good Friday morning Im sure they had better things to do than to respond to pathetic calls from caravan park managers who have no idea how to communicate to patrons.
In actual fact the managers were the aggressive ones in this whole scenario.
Do you know how frightening is for young children to have your caravan door bashed on at 6am Good Friday and man yelling "management of this park have evicted you please leave the park by 10am" Then to make matters more scary call the police again just to make sure we did this.... Thankfully we had a great conversation with the halls gap police officers just to assure our children that the police were there to help us and that none of us had broken the law.
I spoke to all of the other campers around us and no-one had a problem with us that night, in fact they couldnt believe their eyes when they saw us packing up 6am in pouring rain and mud with 14 young children between us all.
Well it all ended good for us thankfully we found another park and it just seemed that the sun began to shine and there was no mud!! We will never ever return or visit halls gap or any Takaru if these are the type of people they appoint to manage their properties.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank whiteways6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takaru, Manager at Takaru Bush Resorts Grampians, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2011

We are sorry that your holiday ended as it did. However we make no apology for not accepting offensive, rowdy or drunken behaviour especially when it impacts on other campers.
Our terms and conditions as regards rowdy behaviour were outlined in our confirmation letter sent to all campers and also in the special handout given to each camper on check in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I have been camping here for 10 years every easter but I have never had an experience as bad as this year. The park managers were rude to us and several other campers, they threatened us with eviction for petty reasons. The amenities block reminded me of visits I have had to third world countries, they were never cleaned properly during our entire stay. The childrens playground was out of use. (in school holidays). This year is the first time I have experinced these managers and they did their best to ruin our stay in such a beautiful place. They put me of returning after 10 annual holidays. The children are not happy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pjanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takaru, Manager at Takaru Bush Resorts Grampians, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2011

Thank for your feed back
During Easter the amenities were cleaned twice a day, morning and afternoon. We also carried out spot checks throughout the day and evening and although these checks showed that the 2 cleans were warranted we did not receive any complaints from guests during the Easter period.
We did apologise to everyone as they checked in for the fact that the playground was closed. Unfortunately this was out of our control as it was part of the damage we sustained during the severe rain event in January. It will be repaired when our insurance claim is finalised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

What used to be a great option in the Grampians has been destroyed by the inexplicable attitude and aggressive behaviour of the on-site management. Curfews are fine but rude demands, zero tolerance and unwarranted threats of eviction are not. Any other park packed with families during the holidays would organise activities and special occasions. Not here. Instead, all their energy is clearly invested in developing new rules and berating guests. In fact, they even "shut down" our kids' impromptu 'concert' (at 8pm!!) due to "complaints" (that were never substantiated, and I am sure, ever received). We will never go back while the current managers are there and I suggest you dont either.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Cretto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takaru, Manager at Takaru Bush Resorts Grampians, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2011

Sorry but we do not organise kid’s activities except on our loyalty weekends. We have found that during the day most campers are out and about enjoying the splendour of the Grampians.
We have a good size park that backs on to a national park. So if you wish to have a kids concert there are many places you can stage one. All you have to do is ask.
However we cannot accept you closing a park road causing inconvenience to other guests who had to reverse back and find alternate access to their cabin.
As part of our privacy policy and to protect guests from abuse we do not give out their names or sites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Wearing curfews and evictions like badge's of honour, the park is policed by overzealous "wardens" who exemplify the word "mismanagement".
Booking a full 5 days over the 2011 Easter weekend was our first mistake and not leaving and investing in another park was our second.The fact that we were with other families from Melbourne saved our exit.
This park fails to fulfill any obligation of being "family friendly" and with the assertive\aggressive behavior from staff who boast of families they have "exited" coupled with the "grotty" cabins, our stay was uncomfortable at best.
With shops and staff in Halls Gap itself, friendly and helpful, there has to be a better option for accommodation in what is a fantastic part of Victoria.
Be warned.....For those who sense unwelcome overtones when booking on the phone..take the hint, it doesn't get any better.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Runnerboy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takaru, Manager at Takaru Bush Resorts Grampians, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2011

It is very disappointing that this guest feels we are not family friendly. All our terms and conditions are designed to allow everyone to enjoy themselves without having their stay ruined by the rowdy or offensive behaviour of other guests. Our staff regularly walk around the park in order to ensure both the safety and the peace of all our guests.
As regards the mention of grotty cabins, we received no complaint about any of the cabins. Had we done so we would have taken immediate action to rectify any problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Absolutely glorious location ruined by poor service and maintenance. Very strict curfew imposed. The first night we were told fires out by 10 pm but if we were good, the next night would be 11. The next 2 nights were 11 but not 1 minute after. We were then told on the last night to make sure to be out by 10 am on the dot! The toilets floor was constantly wet and at no time did it have that nice just cleaned smell. The pool is tiny and was surrounded by unmown grass. The grounds looked like they hadn't been touched for months. Admittedly the floods went through in January but there were small things that in my opinion would have been able to be fixed within 7 weeks. The floods were in January, we were there 2 months later and it didn't look like anything had been done. I would not come back here again which is such a shame considering the location is absolutely marvellous and the wildlife abundant.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GethingFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takaru, Manager at Takaru Bush Resorts Grampians, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2011

Our normal curfew is 10pm and on long weekends (weather permitting) we sometimes extend it to 11pm. We thought an extra hour was pretty generous.
On long weekends we always remind guests that checkout time is 10am and that a late checkout may be available for a fee. But some still did not get away until nearly 11am
We suffered extensive damage from the storms in January but like many other Australians all around the country we are still waiting on insurance so that we can repair the park. We deeply regret any inconvenience caused to our guests which has resulted from this damage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

brought package from travel auctions. cabin was filthy. floors not swept or mopped. shower recess with mould and hair. bedding with fluff and hair. microwave, fridge and cutlery drawer dirty, filth on top of fridge. dust ,dirt, food, on floors that had been there for a long while!, pool was green and had ducks living on it!! They lied to us and they were rude to us. the photos on the internet are very misleading and nothing like what this place is actually like. It is NOT a resort. It is nothing like what is portrayed on the internet, except for the wildlife. they do exist!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kezColac68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takaru, Manager at Takaru Bush Resorts Grampians, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2011

We apologise for the lack of proper cleaning in this cabin. The cleaner responsible is no longer employed here. We pride ourselves on offering a high standard of cleaning in both our cabins and amenities and regularly do follow up inspections.
Unfortunately we were unable to offer this guest another cabin as we were booked out at the time and the guest did not want to wait while the cabin was cleaned.
This guest was very upset that we could not give a refund on the spot, but as this was a Travel Auction booking the refund had to be given by Travel Actions. A full refund was arranged with Travel Auctions.
Yes the pool was green and it took over 4 weeks to bring it back after winter shutdown. All guests were advised on arrival of the problem we had.
We apologise for the problems this guest had but staff not giving a refund is not rudeness.
All the photos on the web are of this park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.5 mi away
Awonga Holiday Cottages
Awonga Holiday Cottages
#24 of 42 in Halls Gap
37 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
#3 of 9 in Halls Gap
260 reviews
2.5 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#9 of 42 in Halls Gap
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Halls Gap Valley Lodges
Halls Gap Valley Lodges
#4 of 42 in Halls Gap
121 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pinnacle Holiday Lodge
Pinnacle Holiday Lodge
#15 of 42 in Halls Gap
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takaru Bush Resorts Grampians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takaru Bush Resorts Grampians

Address: Tymna Drive | PO Box 4, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Halls Gap
Also Known As:
Takaru Bush Resorts Grampians Halls Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing