We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Perfect family spot”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Had our third stay at this fantastic resort. We stayed over the Easter break and whilst Halls Gap is an extremely busy place over this period, this park is so spread out that you just don't feel like you are living on top of others. Having said that we did stay in one of the cabins, and I'm not sure if those staying in the caravans might feel the same. There was nothing nicer than sitting on the balcony watching the kangaroos, emus and kookaburras all against the back drop of the stunning Grampians, one of my favorite places in Australia!

We had three children with us aged (5/7/10) to be quite honest I hardly saw them. They were either off at the jumping pillow, or doing the numerous craft activities on offer, playing footy, riding scooters, playing with the hundreds of other kids staying in the park. They do look after the kids really well, they let kids be kids!

My only criticism of this park is they have a wonderful new large resort pool, which nobody seems to use as it isn't heated, its quite simply freezing! In all our stays at the Park we have rarely seen it used, they have a second smaller pool (domestic house size) which is heated and all the kids cram into this small pool, its crazy. I appreciate its not a cheap exercise to heat such a large pool, but surely in peak holiday periods it could be done.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkgatevic, Manager at BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. It is always good to receive guest feedback. Unfortunately your stays must have been all in colder weather as the large pool is standing room only in the hot weather. Hopefully on your next stay, the weather is hot so you can utilise both of the pools !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    95
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
287
157
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We always go away at Easter and aim for a Big4 caravan park - as they are ideal for the little kids and in almost 10 years have never had a problem. But never again. Every single night by no later then 10.30 we were given the stern "keep it down guys" (fair enough) admittedly we had one loud night and from there on in we were told "time to pull the pin an go to bed" at 10.10pm... On a Saturday night.... When we were being reasonably quiet. The fun sucking management refused to let us have one last laugh, or any for that matter, for the nights that followed. As adults, NOT CHILDREN, this type of treatment is belittling. For a group of people who made such a large booking you wouldn't expect curfews while on holiday. Will NEVER return to this Big4 site.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The park is great, the area is amazing...but the 10pm curfew is a but to harsh on a Friday and Saturday night.. some leeway should be given for people who just want to catch up with friends and have a few laughs.. complainers should remember that when you choose to sleep in a tent amongst hundreds of people, "it won't be quiet" go to a hotel! and remember its a holiday! Relax

Room Tip: camp sites are social and NOISEY.. don't go if you want quiet & early nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryburns65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchill, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The caravan park facilities were excellent with the staff willing to help in any way they could with personal escort to caravan site and assistance in siting caravan. The location of the park even though not in the town center was ideal and not to far if you wanted to walk to the town. It was a nice quiet park with good flat sites with grass and small trees. Caravan access to the sites was good because they were nice and large sites. The only improvement that could be suggested is some low level (so it does not shine on the vans) lighting around the park to assist in seeing the road and pathways when visiting ementities at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birdwood, South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Lovely greeting from reception staff & then when we got to our sight to park the van a lovely staff member "Phil" helped us park, even thought you are a Collingwood supporter you are a great guy LOL. Lovely park & surroundings plus lovely clean amenities, thanks for a short but sweet stay, we will be back. Alan & Angela N

Room Tip: We stayed in our own van but the accomodation looked really good, ideal for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosebird_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pimpinio
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

we arrived at the park on the 15th and stayed until the 18h of march,we were personally escorted to our site by very efficient staff, , we stayed in our jayco expanda caravan and had plenty of room on our site, the grounds were well cared for and clean .the ementites were spotless . the only "maybe" would like the ladies emenities to be swapped for the spot where the mens are for safety at night time . but ,over all we will certainly will be coming again.and hopefully soon
cheers caroline and max

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxiPimpinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We required family accommodation in Halls Gap to attend a wedding recently. I booked in at this resort after seeing all the great things on offer for the kids to do.
The only downfall was the jumpy pillow being out of action and this was my main drawcard in staying there. Luckily it was a warm day (the only day we had free), so instead my 3 children went for a swim, then had a play in the games room.
The views from our cabin were glorious & fellow travelers were always kind & polite.
It was a pleasure staying at this resort for our short holiday, and would definitely stay here again (but for longer) on our next holiday in Halls Gap.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.5 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
1.0 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#7 of 42 in Halls Gap
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park
0.8 mi away
Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park
2.6 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort

Property: BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort
Address: 2372 Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkgate Resort is nestled in the foothills of the majestic Grampians National Park, and centrally located to Halls Gap. Parkgate offers you quality Cabin & Unit accommodation, Caravan and Ensuite sites and a fantastic family holiday in a safe, inviting and relaxing atmosphere.With a range of accommodation options to suit all budgets and situated in some of nature's most breathtaking scenery, you can be assured of a memorable holiday experience so enjoyable... you'll find it hard to leave.With our mountain backdrop and regular visits from the local wildlife, our accommodation choices will suit every taste and budget. Choose from spa units, one and two bedroom cottage units or our cedar cabins. All are self-contained with fully equipped kitchens, bathroom, heating and television. Come and enjoy some of the splendour that we at Halls Gap are privileged to live with every day. Access to the iconic views, features and walking tracks that make the Grampians special are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort Halls Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing