We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So relaxing.....”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We just spent 3 nights with our 2 kids, and we've all had a wonderful time. This resort is close enough that little kids can ride their bikes into the main street, yet far enough away that it's so quiet. Our cabin was sparkling new on arrival, and we can see the effort that is obviously going in to renovate/upgrade the facilities, so we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    96
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
288
157
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
geelong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed at Parkgate Resort after a break of many years and happy memories of our last visit. The facilities are still top notch and the brick unit we stayed in this time was a one-bedroom unit which was lovely, a separate toilet and huge bathroom, comfy couch and chair in lounge and plenty of room to move for two people. Lovely surroundings and walkable distance to Halls Gap township. Found our first ever geocache and it was very exciting!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniebah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have just spent a great weekend at the park gate resort. It is one of the best parks we have stayed at. The sites are big, the staff very friendly. The facilities are fantastic we hardly saw our grandchildren they were so busy having a great time.We will definately return again and we highly recommend the park.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A group of us came with our families and stayed in the cabins. We found the cabins spacious and very clean. The activities for kids were great and staff were extremely friendly. Would not hesitate to book again and recommend the park to friends.
Fantastic!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teisha21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at Grampians Big4 Parkgate. As we drove in we were greeted by the parks staff, very welcoming and friendly. We were shown to our camp site (powered site 104). The site was in good condition (mostly grass) a small amount of tan bark - no issues at all. Good size trees for shade and the view of the mountains second to none.

Every time I go camping I learn more, next time round at Parkgate Grampians (and there will be a next time round) I will choose an unpowered site, as our magnificent view was taken up by a massive motor home. (no fault of the parks but powered sites attract vehicles that need power) - note to self get an unpowered site.

The Park itself has the best setting of any park I have been to, the mountains are close and you feel as though you are very close to nature, in fact nature did come knocking - a resident Emu called Sputnick (or as my 7 year old son says - Butnick) came around, very friendly just checking if we had some food for him. We did not feed him.

Each morning and each at dusk several hundred cockatoos make their flight from somewhere to somewhere and seem to use the Campsite strip as their beacon, which is awesome as if you look up past the cockatoos you may see a few wedge tail eagles circling (ever wondered why cockatoos fly in groups!!).

Kangaroos are a plenty - a short walk down the grass strip.

Kids: - plenty to do. We had a no technology week, so what did they do:

- Jumping pillow
- Outdoor activities
- Movie nights (not our technology - but a great idea from the Park ) allowed my wife and I to
eat quietly.
- Nature walks
- Enjoy being just kids again

Walks in the local area.

We did several walks (we were limited by our youngest son age 3) walks included:

-Mckenzie Falls
-Boroka Lookout
-Reeds Lookout
-Grand Canyon
-Venus Baths (take bathers) - you can get into the rock pools.

Overall - Big 4 Parkgate is probably the best run Big 4 I have been to, cannot fault the staff or the park).

Thanks for a great stay and see you again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan Hill, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My Partner and I stayed here in October 2012 and loved it! Staff were friendly and helpful, they had maps availble of the area, as well as daily weather displayed at reception and were more then happy to give directions and opinions on the best places to go. We were amazed by our room, it was affordable, spotless and HUGE! We stayed in a 1 bedroom brick unit and it was much more than we expected. All the furniture seemed next to new and even though the park was fairly busy at the time it was very quite from our room. The park is fully decked out with a pool, jumping pillow, playground, tennis courts etc.

The park is located within walking distance to the main shops/cafe/restaurants. But if you are going to use the kitchen to cook your own meals (all the equipment is provided for this) I would suggest you bring some food with you as the local grocery store is VERY expensive!

The only negative we had was that the bed was a little hard and uncomfortable (this may be due to it being a new bed?) We really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend them to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marnnn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

From the moment we checked in, the friendliness, range of activities and cleanliness were obvious. Having been a frequent visitor to hall's gap for a number of years, this was the first time l had stayed at parkgate big 4 and l was not disappointed. The staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome, the cedar cabin where we stayed had fantastic views and was very spacious. My daughter loved the jumping pillow (as did her parents). We have already been recommending it and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.5 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
1.0 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#7 of 42 in Halls Gap
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park
0.8 mi away
Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park
2.6 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort

Property: BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort
Address: 2372 Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkgate Resort is nestled in the foothills of the majestic Grampians National Park, and centrally located to Halls Gap. Parkgate offers you quality Cabin & Unit accommodation, Caravan and Ensuite sites and a fantastic family holiday in a safe, inviting and relaxing atmosphere.With a range of accommodation options to suit all budgets and situated in some of nature's most breathtaking scenery, you can be assured of a memorable holiday experience so enjoyable... you'll find it hard to leave.With our mountain backdrop and regular visits from the local wildlife, our accommodation choices will suit every taste and budget. Choose from spa units, one and two bedroom cottage units or our cedar cabins. All are self-contained with fully equipped kitchens, bathroom, heating and television. Come and enjoy some of the splendour that we at Halls Gap are privileged to live with every day. Access to the iconic views, features and walking tracks that make the Grampians special are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort Halls Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing