We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place To Stay In Halls Gap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Halls Gap Log Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Manukau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place To Stay In Halls Gap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed in cabin no.8 in April 2013 for two nights and it was memorable.

The property is about 2km south of the town centre in a very quiet location. The cabins are laid out in a circle with a children's playground and a beautiful pool in the middle - a bit chilly in late April for a dip but it must look very inviting in summer!
The cabins are very nicely decorated and furnished and we couldn't fault anything. We really enjoyed having the kangaroos around all day and a large grassy area out the back is where most of them were - some wandered happily through the grounds of the property every now and then.
On morning I woke up and looked out the kitchen window and counted 31 roos in the one view!!!

Across the grassy area at the back of the property is a wide track that leads south through the bush for about 900 metres to the park visitor centre. There are great mountain views from the property.

The owners are very talkative and friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I hope to return in a couple of years and am planning a four night stay - I wouldn't stay anywhere else as I thought this place was special.

Room Tip: Rooms 6&7 have floor to ceiling windows at the back of the cabins and some outdoor furniture - i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Linga, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

If you want somewhere to stay in Halls Gap, look no further! This place is EXCELLENT!
Ticked all the boxes I wanted in an over night stay.
•Friendly Hosts - Genuinely the friendliest couple I have ever encountered on my stays! They even made the effort to remember mine and my husbands names, even though they didn't meet my husband during this stay!
•Clean and Facilitated Log Cabin - One of the cleanest! I wante to stay in a log cabin as I'd always seen them on trips to Halls Gap. These were cosy, quaintly decorated, with a large spa, fire, and reverse cycle heating!
•Wildlife Interaction - Kangaroos came right up to our cabin! In the morning when we woke, we opened the curtains from our bedroom and watched them, and the emus having their breakfast! Brilliant!
I highly recommend Halls Gap Log Cabins, and will be back, with the kids!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jac B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Great service and great feel overall. Would definitely come back. Even though the weekend was rained out the cabin we were in were nice and comfortable so much so that we still had a pretty good time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yongazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I have been here the last two summers, and plan on going back this winter.
It is such a beautiful location, you can head out your back door and walk strait into national parks, feed the wildlife.. It's perfect.
The owners are delightful and the town is quaint.
While the cabins are not fancy and modern, most have a great spa, a fire place, are spacious and fully equipped. They are clean and homely.
Perfect for any occasion. Big fan.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurabeth131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over the new year and agree with others that the cabins are lovely and clean. I feel for the price you pay that some of the rules were a bit much. Eg that all dishes had to be washed etc for 200+ per night they should provide this service for guests as you would receive elsewhere. Also the owners live in the front cabin their window faces the pool area they sort of sit there and are visible and appears that they are watching you a lot it can be a bit off putting though they are a lovely couple and very helpful. Nice place and I do recommend it for families.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Very nice cabins, well set up and with a nice pool.

All the self catering facilities and nice bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen, dining and lounge.

Kangaroos and deer by the dozens was a real bonus.

Great place and would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Mobs of friendly lazy Kangaroos hang around the clearing adjacent to the property by the river. Some even come wandering up and feed on the grass directly outside your cabins. The cabins themselves are well-equipped with kitchens, cutlery and crockery. reverse-cycle air-conditioning and the bathroom has a good integrated heat, lighting and fan unit. The owners are polite and friendly and the place has a great vibe.

Room Tip: Rooms down the very back allow you to look out your window and see 50 kangaroos
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ace_Himself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.9 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
0.9 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.9 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#7 of 42 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pinnacle Holiday Lodge
Pinnacle Holiday Lodge
#14 of 42 in Halls Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halls Gap Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halls Gap Log Cabins

Property: Halls Gap Log Cabins
Address: 245 Grampians Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Halls Gap Log Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halls Gap Log Cabins Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing