We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting - good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halls Gap Log Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights there from Adelaide Hills 12th-16th October (decided to try an alternative to our favourite Flinders Ranges camping trip) - fantastic! The cabins are off the main road running into Halls gap - far enough away to be quiet but great connections to the local sights and walks. The cabins seem to be placed in their own Eden - lots of grazing Kangaroo, Emu, Deer and Duck all day and every day - walk through them on a circuit walk past the Information Centre (up the track a bit) and the other side of the creek. Can't recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas9305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Halls Gap Log Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 86 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

This place is unbelievably easy to be in, and would be perfect for a honeymoon, or for a writer's retreat, or for anyone wanting that combination of a restful holiday with all mod cons and a chance to spend time in a lovely corner of the world. The owners/hosts are there if you need them, but give their guests privacy in their own individual cabins. The cabins are mostly in duplex pairs, but once at home in your own luxurious self-contained cabin, you are totally unaware of any neighbours.(Except for the kangaroos, including females with joey in pouch, who come right to your door from the wilderness behind the cabin, and practically eat crusts from your hand) The township is about 2 km away, and a walk up to LiveFast cafe is a glorious way to start any day. I came without a car, and during my stay, Bard had to go to hospital for a health emergency, so Rosie was managing the place on her own, but she still kindly found the time to me a lift to catch the bus, and helped me find somewhere to leave my luggage until the bus left. Rosie also warned me to bring my own food, because food prices are high, (eg Soy milk cost about half as much again as in Melbourne) and I was glad to have prepurchased my own vegetables and dairy products. Coming to Halls Gap by public transport works fine, and there are good walks available from the flat but a car opens up the choices for exploring the amazing landscape etc, and I will drive myself next time.I was warned that driving at dawn or dusk is slow because the kangaroos hop in front of you with no warning. Pricewise, the five nights for the price of four midweek brings this venue down to only about $10 more a night than some of the standard, ordinary places in town.

Room Tip: I had unit 3 and it was lovely, with the back view onto the grassy riverflats abound with Kangaroos...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mackereth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Spacious cabin with all amenities supplied and needs met. The owners have furnished the cabins with quaint lace doilies, ornaments etc to give the cabin a homely feel. Exceptionally clean, great wood fire for chilly nights. Kangaroos, emu and deer mere metres from your door. Hosts Rosie and Bard were very welcoming and helpful and I think they really take pleasure in making sure you are happy. This is a great motel for international tourists, given the abundance of wildlife. Thumbs up for value and although not glamourous, it was all we needed.

Room Tip: Shop at the local supermarket and cook yourself a BBQ amongst the kangaroos........
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALISONAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This is an amazing place to stay if you want to be surrounded by kangaroos, red deer, emus and enchidnas. We couldn't believe how much wildlife there was, literally on the doorstep of your cabin! The cabins are really well equipped and spacious. Rosie and Bard were great hosts, really keen to provide information and genuinely interested in their guests. Overall, we had a wonderful two night stay and hope to go back one day!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Izle109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The cabins are in Ye Olde Worlde Charme style - cast iron bed, frilly lamps, doilies and dried flowers. That said, the cabin was near-spotless, good location close to town & mountain walks. Kangaroos are everywhere in the evenings, with a mountain range at your back door. Good value, clean and good location -as long as you enjoy tidy Ye Olde Worlde Charm!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CM67Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We got a very cosy cabin with a fully equipped kitchen and a spacious living room. The place is very well maintained and the kangaroos had dinner right at our doorstep. The interior is very much old-style which I normally don't like but the owners put so much effort into cultivating this particular design that it looked really good. There were also a couple of interesting magazines and books in our cabin for a nice read. The owners were on vacation but the gentleman replacing them was very friendly and helpful. I can only recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We have just spent two nights in the log cabins and found them clean, quiet and well equipped. The cabin we had was very spacious with a homely feel. Friendly hosts and the kangaroos made the stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roamnothome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.9 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
1.7 mi away
BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grampians Chalets
Grampians Chalets
#9 of 42 in Halls Gap
82 reviews
0.9 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#8 of 42 in Halls Gap
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halls Gap Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halls Gap Log Cabins

Address: 245 Grampians Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range: $110 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Halls Gap Log Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halls Gap Log Cabins Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing