We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely amazing!!!”
Review of Marwood Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marwood Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My partner and I decided to go here for Valentines and it was more than we expected!
The room is quite spacious and the spa was a dream! Not to mention the double head shower!
There are heaps of utensils if you want to cook something together and the surround sound system for the tv is a hit for when you want to watch a movie!
Outside of our villa we were always greeted by the native wildlife like the kangaroos and kookaburras.
We are DEFINITELY going back again this year and hopefully stay a bit longer, its just amazing!

Room Tip: The air con is really powerful so don't leave it on over night, you'll freeze haha
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephanie0693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 114 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Marwood villas is a delight!
The villas are self contained and high quality throughout.
4 on site but still very private
Open plan is wonderful as spa a walk up beside the bed.
I was able to watch kangaroos from the spa at dusk!
King bed feels like a cloud.
Continental breakfast provisions provided and bottle of bubbly a bonus.
This 2 night stay was a deal and I'm beyond impressed.
I'm already planning when to return.
You can also walk into the shops ie 10 minute walk.
Amazing accomodation.
Highly recommend

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

As soon as we arrived at Marwood Luxury Villas, we immediately felt relaxed. The natural surrounds, the beautiful stone Tuscan villas, the kangaroos at your doorstep, the array of birdlife, the kookaburras laughing (and even saw two deer) makes for a relaxing & tranquil getaway. Absolutely loved our stay at Marwood Villas and will definitely be returning soon. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: all villas are beautiful however if you want that little added extra (water trickling through the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tez T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Situated out of the township of Halls Gap, this beautifully appointed villa has all the luxury you could want in a short stay. All villas are close to each other but far enough apart so that you feel secluded. The wildlife is right at your door, kangaroos hopping and grazing just outside the villas. A very relaxing weekend away

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have just returned from an over priced and over rated stay at Villa 5 which is disgraceful. GlenIris 37 has it spot on and all I could do is repeat her comments. I will add that we had resident cockroaches, leaking plumbing fittings and nothing in her report has been fixed. We even had rancid butter made available to us. This joint would barely get above 2 stars in any part of the world. Your, Marwood, advertising is misleading and bluntly a lie!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 497dougg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

bought a voucher for a two night getaway and wished it could have been longer was very impressed on entering the villa yes a few cobwebs and other niggling things but the bed was very comfortable the shower powerful and hot, the spa clean we stayed in villa 4 and loved the animal life around and the peaceful outlook would certainly return.

Room Tip: think only five villas and all looked the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed in Villa Number 5 for one week in early October 2013. To say we were disappointed is being rather kind. On our experience the villa we stayed in was nowhere near up to even an acceptable standard. The place was dirty; floors were unswept, there were dead flies on the very dusty window sills, a number of light globes needed replacement, the bath room exhaust fan did not work and was surrounded by a thick layer of cobwebs, the toilet seat was not properly installed and kept slipping to one side, some bedding was dirty, the mosquito net over the bed was full of dead insects, the out door furniture was decrepit and in need of replacement, the outside of the building needed thorough cleaning, the instructions for the washing machine were for a different model/brand of machine etc.etc. We paid $1900 for one week's stay. It would have been dear at half the price.

We have not commented before now as we had hoped the owner would have had the courtesy to respond to the detailed e-mail we sent him concerning what we found. That has not happened and can only lead to the conclusion that there is little interest in what clients think.

We certainly will not stay there again and will mention our experience to family and friends should they be contemplating a stay at Halls Gap.

Room Tip: N/a as all villas are freestanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank GlenIris37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.7 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
2.7 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Aurora Cottages
Aurora Cottages
#2 of 4 in Pomonal
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
746 reviews
1.0 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#9 of 42 in Halls Gap
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marwood Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marwood Villas

Address: 31 Mt Zero Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range: $175 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marwood Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marwood Luxury villas, Totally individual, private,and luxurious accommodation in a tranquil bushland setting, for the discerning traveler. Marwood offers four individually decorated Villas, hand made terracotta and slate tiles, granite bench tops, huge sofas, Real log fires, fully equipped kitchens, forged dining tables, matching chairs, bedside tables. King beds. Australian wool under covers, imported linen, floor rugs. The bathroom unfolds double vanities, a large play area shower. A deep double spa grandly colonnaded sits in a window bay beside the bed. Experience an overwhelming sense of space, proportion and harmony as you enter through the arched porch. Breakfast with the birds on the patio in fine weather and unwind to the calming sounds of the bush. In the cooler months the mood lighting and crackling log fires create a cosy atmosphere that encourages relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marwood Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marwood Villas Halls Gap, Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing