We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome place to relax & unwind”
Review of Marwood Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marwood Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I bought a voucher for two nights stay.
Wow!
when we finally managed to get there, we got out of the car & instantly relaxed!
Winter time, was great.... it was cosy on arrival, we got the fire roaring too in the evenings!
self contained to cater for ourselves, only note to self... next time take salt & pepper :)
Nice rural location, with great walk tracks in the area.

Room Tip: there are only great rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobynBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 114 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed two nights using a coupon deal. We were greeted by kangaroos as we drove up and we were totally blown away by how romantic the villa was when we stepped inside. The spa, the king bed, the complimentary sparkling wine, the open fire, it was just perfect. We took our own cereal after reading some of the comments made about the breakfast, and there was no kindling which made it difficult to start a fire, but otherwise our stay was beyond expectations, even though it poured rain for most of our trip. My long-term partner actually proposed on the second day of our trip and we will definitely be returning for another romantic weekend away in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carly211204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Not a five star accomodation. Villa 5 not as clean as it should have been, we didn't use the spa at all as you could see the grime around the jets. The shower was wonderful though. Bed was amazingly comfortable. There wasn't enough firewood, maybe half a days worth but the reverse cycle air con worked well. The breakfast wasn't enough for 2 days for 2 people and we are not big eaters. The running stream was very difficult to get starting but we did get it going eventually. Half of the lights inside did not work. The outside of the building was very shabby.
Definitely not worth the full price we paid for both nights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Went back to Marwood villa after 10 years. New owners who have restored them to their original grandeur. We found the villas almost perfect. Our only issue was the blinds in villa 4 didnt quite work easily. Just a minor service needed. The breakfast basket was enough for us for 2 days but i can understand why some people would expect more. It had muesli, cereal, bread and spreads and 4 eggs in the fridge. The fireplace was cosy and the 2 person shower was luxurious too. All the requirements for a romantic weekend, loved it

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

stayed 2 nights on a coupon deal and the villa was great apart from some issues , fireplace was hard to use as the utensils were damaged or broken and there was no kindling, we had to buy our own in town at $8. The split system aircon/heater only worked at intervals so the room took a while to warm up, but that gave us an excuse to cuddle on the couch. The washing machine/dryer was hard to use and didnt dry clothes properly. The outside furniture was worn and weathered beyond use.
The villa itself was very romantic and quiet and the wildlife was abundant.
The town itsel was lovely and we found some great restaurants.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank mattjojo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointed on arrival to find that our accommodation was dark, cold and unwelcoming.

Once the fire was lit and lights turned on, the princess bed did look very romantic. However we then noticed it was actually 2 beds pushed together and made for an uncomfortable sleep.

The bathroom on first glance was nice with 2 basins and 2 showers (but the shower didn't look inviting nor were the shower heads matching).

The blinds on the full size window didn't work properly, no music, no dvd library, no coffee plunger (instant coffee only), microwave was locked and very basic breakfast supplies including home brand UHT milk!

However- a bottle of champagne was supplied and was very nice!

Good location to town, quiet and we were not disturbed as promised.

In my opinion it was more a tame 4 star accommodation and not the 5 star experience I had hoped for.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We booked two villas on a deal and we were concerned after reading some of the reviews left
on Trip Advisors site. But no need to worry because both couples found the villas had everything we wanted.(great fireplaces,great beds,great bathrooms and all the things we needed for a great stay). We only stayed for two nights but you could easily spend a week.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank geoffandmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.7 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
2.7 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Aurora Cottages
Aurora Cottages
#2 of 4 in Pomonal
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
746 reviews
1.0 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#9 of 42 in Halls Gap
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marwood Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marwood Villas

Address: 31 Mt Zero Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range: $175 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marwood Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marwood Luxury villas, Totally individual, private,and luxurious accommodation in a tranquil bushland setting, for the discerning traveler. Marwood offers four individually decorated Villas, hand made terracotta and slate tiles, granite bench tops, huge sofas, Real log fires, fully equipped kitchens, forged dining tables, matching chairs, bedside tables. King beds. Australian wool under covers, imported linen, floor rugs. The bathroom unfolds double vanities, a large play area shower. A deep double spa grandly colonnaded sits in a window bay beside the bed. Experience an overwhelming sense of space, proportion and harmony as you enter through the arched porch. Breakfast with the birds on the patio in fine weather and unwind to the calming sounds of the bush. In the cooler months the mood lighting and crackling log fires create a cosy atmosphere that encourages relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marwood Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marwood Villas Halls Gap, Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing