We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet escape”
Review of Marwood Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marwood Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed in Unit 3 for two nights on a discounted voucher. A very quiet escape out of the rat race. Walking distance to town and pub. Spacious open plan room - comfy furniture and bed but attention to detail sadly lacking. Light globes not working and down lights dangling indicate lack of quality control. Others have mentioned coffee and plunger - same same. Couch needs a steam clean.
Wine was good - but only one champagne glass that wasn't plastic, and the cheese was very basic with broken biscuits.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie and Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 115 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here with my partner and our 1yo baby. Regrettably, only for one night as it was heavily booked and we got lucky. After booking online, we checked in by phone and perhaps for the first time in my life, we did not have eye contact with anyone except other guests (there are six villas), an unexpected but wonderfully relaxed way of doing things.

What an oasis it is! True to Tuscan villa-style, this was a beautifully designed and dressed property. The location just outside Halls Gap helps create a peaceful and quiet experience. Also provides a nice walk into 'town' mainly using the off-road path. It is close enough to all facilities and popular tourist activities but allows you to get away from the hustle that is Halls Gap on a long weekend.

There were nice touches like the champagne and breakfast basket which just topped off a great place. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: They all looked the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

my husband and i recently stayed 2 nights at marwood using a promomotional offer which was significantly lower than the normal price. we fouind the villas to be clean a good size and reasonably well equiped if you wished to prepare your own meals.break fast supplies were inadequate for 2 people but the management are well aware of this as it is a common complaint by guests so i guess it is not going to change.also it would have been nice to have proper coffee and a plunger especially if your are paying the full rate of 300$ per night.The general store in town is very expensive so i suggest bringing any edibles with you.The villas are a pleasant walk from town are private and very quiet.We found it lovely to sit outside cooking a bbq and having a glass of wine being surrouded by birds and natural wild life.All in all we had a lovely relaxing time at marwood and would come back but i would not be happy to pay the regular price as it would not be value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pappi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Villa is located in the Forest, where you can watch kangaroos, deer, ducks and many birds early in the morning or afternoon. The Room is nice decorated and clean. You can enjoy the Jacuzi and nice terracce next to the house. The reception is not manned all the time. Unfortunately no internet access.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just spent 2 nights at Marwood in a Tuscan Villa on a voucher deal and we weren't disappointed. The property is in a peaceful bush setting and the vilas are far enough apart to afford privacy. The villas are open plan, spacious and comfortable and the large kitchen window provides great views into the bush. There were kangaroos on the large lawn area in front of the villas each morning and evening, and also deer on one of the evenings we were there. It is walking distance to the town and information centre. The king size bed, double oval shaped spa bath and spacious living area makes for a luxury getaway. Breakfast provided was a selection of eggs, cereal, bread, spreads, juice, tea & coffee (instant). The only things we would recommend the owner supply is a coffee plunger with real coffee and an ipod dock which we feel should be standard in this level of accomodation. There was a sound system which relied on a dvd player using cd's but no cd library or dvd selection.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank jetrascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Marwood with only one blip on the score card. The breakfast was definitely not enough for 2people for 2 days. Enough for one day but not two. We went into town and bought more supplies but it was supposed to be included in the price. However sipping coffee with deer swimming in the dam and kangaroos grazing nearby made us foget all about breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mjntc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here over the Christmas break and were really impressed.
The Italian villa style is classy and they are very roomy
Even though you are in the luxurious villa the surrounds are still unspoiled so you don't forget that you are in the Australian bush - not quite sure why you would be looking for manicured lawns in Halls Gap?
The supplies for breakfast are generous and cater for all tastes
The little extra touches like the torch - for that dark walk back from the village - were very welcoming
We will be going back and be recommending to everyone

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnetteMacM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.7 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
2.7 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Halls Gap Motel
Halls Gap Motel
#5 of 9 in Halls Gap
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Blaze Rock Retreat
Blaze Rock Retreat
#1 of 1 in Pomonal
17 reviews
5.7 mi away
Aurora Cottages
Aurora Cottages
#3 of 4 in Pomonal
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marwood Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marwood Villas

Address: 31 Mt Zero Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range: $185 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marwood Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marwood Luxury villas, Totally individual, private,and luxurious accommodation in a tranquil bushland setting, for the discerning traveler. Marwood offers four individually decorated Villas, hand made terracotta and slate tiles, granite bench tops, huge sofas, Real log fires, fully equipped kitchens, forged dining tables, matching chairs, bedside tables. King beds. Australian wool under covers, imported linen, floor rugs. The bathroom unfolds double vanities, a large play area shower. A deep double spa grandly colonnaded sits in a window bay beside the bed. Experience an overwhelming sense of space, proportion and harmony as you enter through the arched porch. Breakfast with the birds on the patio in fine weather and unwind to the calming sounds of the bush. In the cooler months the mood lighting and crackling log fires create a cosy atmosphere that encourages relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marwood Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marwood Villas Halls Gap, Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing