We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tim's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tim's Place
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We had the self-catering cottage towards the back of Tim's Place and appreciated being able to make a meal, sit in a dining area to eat, have peace and quiet to sleep. We felt lucky to also catch the local cricket game on the pitch next door - us and the considerable mob of unaffected roos who barely moved unless a ball came streaming their way. Magical.

Room Tip: Self-contained studio out the back was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BecstarAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
36
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We stay here for one day getaway at grampians.
It was great, the apartment was clean, well equipped.
And the oval field next to tim's full of kangaroos.

The staff is very helpful, but you have to prepare your cash since tim's doesn't accept credit or debit card.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sudiroario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is just a perfect place to stay. Clean, tidy place. Walking tracks nearby and a big cricket field where kangaroos walk around. Beautiful site.
Take cash, as Tim doesnt accept any cards.
The bikes are free to use, but don't expect too much from them. They are pretty much held together by duct tape, but work fine.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdvdberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Brilliant in every way, clean, friendly, great free tea and coffee, the ultimate in true hospitality! Tim is a great host, rooms and kitchen was great and free wifi, videos and information about walks. We loved it

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eimearmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed at Tim's Place for two nights and had the most wonderful time. The hostel was more than equipped with everything I could possible ask for; clean facilities, running hot water, well stocked kitchen, chilled out communal area, amazing location in Halls Gap, vegie garden that we could use to cook with, free wifi and much more. In addition to this, Tim was the most gracious host with a vast wealth of knowledge about the area... He offered me plenty of advice on hiking adventures, none of which failed to take my breath away! And lastly, when I left my charger in the room, he posted it to me without hesitation. It was a true delight to stay here, and I will definitely stay here again next time! THANKS TIM!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the studio,which comprised of an en suite bathroom, studio room with galley kitchen, double bed, bunk beds and a little sitting area to watch TV. Added to this was a dinning area for four. There was plenty of space for the four of us. You could cook basic meals in the room it has a fridge, microwave and electric hot plate. We chose to cook up in the communal kitchen as we wanted to talk to other guests. Our host Tim was great he is obviously full of information on everything Grampian! He lit a campfire on our first evening which was lovely to sit around. We did see the kangaroos come to feed at dusk and also had another visitor an echidna which the kids loved. Easy to walk into central Halls Gap. A very friendly and homely backpackers to stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SarahPopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Tim's place for two nights to go walking in the Grampians. The location is brilliant with a number of walks starting from Halls Gap itself. Stayed in a shared room which was everything it needed to be, the kitchen is small but well equipped and the attached dining room/lounge makes for a great atmosphere in the evening. To cap it off there's free wifi and and a communal laptop for you to use! Great place, would definitely stay there again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Traveler-Mark-89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
1.6 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
0.1 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Halls Gap Motel
Halls Gap Motel
#5 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#7 of 42 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tim's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tim's Place

Property: Tim's Place
Address: 44 Grampians Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Halls Gap
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tim's Place is a Hostel and Apartment venue situated in Halls Gap in the Grampians National Park. Tim's Place has one very comfortable Apartment and 6 rooms in the Hostel section. The Hostel caters for people in shared rooms, single rooms, double and twin rooms, triple rooms, family rooms. One room with an ensuite is available. All rates include free WiFi, free plunger coffee / tea, free bikes and beds made up with linen and doonas, towels supplied. Tim's Place is centrally located for all the walking trails in the Wonderland Area and only 600 metres from the cafes and restaurants in Halls Gap. There is a V Line bus stop is in front of Tim's Place. It is a great palce to stay in the Grampians National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tim's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tim's Place Halls Gap, Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing