We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central to Everything”
Review of Tim's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halls Gap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tim's Place
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Central to Everything”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the studio,which comprised of an en suite bathroom, studio room with galley kitchen, double bed, bunk beds and a little sitting area to watch TV. Added to this was a dinning area for four. There was plenty of space for the four of us. You could cook basic meals in the room it has a fridge, microwave and electric hot plate. We chose to cook up in the communal kitchen as we wanted to talk to other guests. Our host Tim was great he is obviously full of information on everything Grampian! He lit a campfire on our first evening which was lovely to sit around. We did see the kangaroos come to feed at dusk and also had another visitor an echidna which the kids loved. Easy to walk into central Halls Gap. A very friendly and homely backpackers to stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SarahPopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    17
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
36
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Tim's place for two nights to go walking in the Grampians. The location is brilliant with a number of walks starting from Halls Gap itself. Stayed in a shared room which was everything it needed to be, the kitchen is small but well equipped and the attached dining room/lounge makes for a great atmosphere in the evening. To cap it off there's free wifi and and a communal laptop for you to use! Great place, would definitely stay there again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Traveler-Mark-89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porlock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This small hostel is set on the edge of Hall's Gap within walking distance of everywhere. Our double en suite room was quite large and both it and the bathroom were clean.
There is limited common space with a small kitchen, a dining table for 8, lounge chairs for maybe 8 more. There is a TV and free WiFi in the common areas - it did not reach all rooms.
Tim is an excellent host, always there when needed but not hovering about at all. He has very good knowledge of the area and is able to provide advice on most things.
The only negative we had was that the room walls are pretty thin and the couple in the next room were rather noisy - we heard every word!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Small hostel but very cosy! Tim runs his hostel with passion, you can see that straight away. I love the fact that everything is eco. Water in showers. He has a garden with potato's and all sorts of other veggies and herbs. Which you can take for free. We had a double room and stayed for 2 nights. Rooms were clean, as the rest of the hostel. Basic, but what more do you need? It is located close to the stores in Halls Gap. And just a few minutes drive to some nice sights in the Grampians. In the morning and evening you can see wild kangaroos in the back yard.
Everyone should go here and support eco tourism!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Whilst climbing at Mt Arapiles we were recommended to stay at Tim's Place. A great recommendation as it turned out. Tim runs the place with the passion of an independent owner. We had a good short, two night stop before moving on. Tim said Kangeroos can be seen on the back lawn, but no luck! In fact we have been in Australia for twelve days and still no sign of 'Hoppy'. Not your fault Tim. Thanks for a great place to rest up. See you in Scotland.

Alan and Sue

Room Tip: Our double was great, thanks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The double room that we stayed for 2 nights was actually a room with 4 beds. It's quite clean. The owner is very friendly and helpful. You don't need to go to the the Visitor's Office. Just ask Tim. Behind Tim's Place, there is a field where wild Kangaroos can be easily seen. Tim's place is very close to some of Halls Gap walking tracks. We would definitely come back again. The only downside, there is only one shower.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkzymug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marston
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have no hesitation in wholeheartedly recommending this place. You can relax or be active, or both, as you like. It really does feel like home! I echo what previous guests have written and hope you enjoy your stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItchyfeetHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.6 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
0.1 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
653 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
#4 of 9 in Halls Gap
249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Halls Gap Motel
Halls Gap Motel
#5 of 9 in Halls Gap
116 reviews
2.9 mi away
Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tim's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tim's Place

Property: Tim's Place
Address: 44 Grampians Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Halls Gap
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tim's Place is a Hostel and Apartment venue situated in Halls Gap in the Grampians National Park. Tim's Place has one very comfortable Apartment and 6 rooms in the Hostel section. The Hostel caters for people in shared rooms, single rooms, double and twin rooms, triple rooms, family rooms. One room with an ensuite is available. All rates include free WiFi, free plunger coffee / tea, free bikes and beds made up with linen and doonas, towels supplied. Tim's Place is centrally located for all the walking trails in the Wonderland Area and only 600 metres from the cafes and restaurants in Halls Gap. There is a V Line bus stop is in front of Tim's Place. It is a great palce to stay in the Grampians National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tim's Place Halls Gap, Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing