We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glenrowan Kelly Country Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glenrowan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here on our way back from Melbourne to Sydney traveling with a bub. The staff here were lovely and welcoming. The rooms clean and neat. We had the big breakfast and it was tasty.
Small kitchenette doubling as bathroom sink with kettle, toaster and small fridge. No microwave.
Clean linens and big towels +++. Free DVDs at the office. Right next to the pub which did a nice pub dinner. A comfy, welcoming stay. Might be a bit warm in summer but there was a fan in the room and a small air con unit. Take aeroguard, I was eaten alive by mossies.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 73 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

A quaint little village of great importance in Australia history. The very birth place of the infamous Ned Kelly!
We stopped here en route from Canberra to Melbourne. We were travel vary and in need of a clean room with a firm bed. This little motel more than pleased us. It was the cleanest place on our travels - and we had stayed at 'good' city hotels in Sydney and Canberra. An excellent tariff and the friendliest hostess we had come across.
This is an old motel, but everything was in excellent working order. Wi fi was provided free of charge and the big flat screen t.v. helped us catch up with world news. We would go back!

Room Tip: Even though this motel in on the main route we found it quiet. Definitely cosy and comfortable with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank benhan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Was only a one nights stay on our way home but left feeling like I could have stayed more. The most friendliest and helpful lady in reception that I have ever dealt with. Was a little unsure as to what the place was going to be like cause of the cheap price, but it was great. Very clean, plenty of warm linen, extra pillows and towels. Will definatley stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reneem78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed one night September 2012 (one adult and two children). It ticks all the boxes, clean and tidy; good value ($98), friendly family owners who were helpful and genuine; and in right in town at Glenrowan. Sure its an older hotel, but in other ways a little gem.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daveygravey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

A great place to stay in Glenrowan that is quiet, and best of all clean and doesnt cost alot! Great service staff were fantastic. Rooms were comfortable and warm. HIGHLY RECOMMEND, we have stayed there several times

Room Tip: great choice highly recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank haunted-australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed here on a weekend road trip. From the street it didn't look all that impressive but the owners are very nice and welcoming and they really made the place.

We stayed in a small family room, which had a double and a set of bunks. It was on the small side and a basic room, but it did the job!

It was neat and clean and had everything we needed, except for maybe a microwave, but we certainly lived without it, it's just a nice to have, rather than a necessity.

The bedding and linen were all good quality and comfortable.

We went next door to the hotel for a pub meal which was nice, but they don't have extensive hours.

Overall the place was a little old fashioned, but well cared for, in good condition and very comfortable.

We'll definitely stay here again if/when we're back in the area!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bananas28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Many years ago, we discovered this small motel in the quaint Ned Kelly Town. The motel is pretty basic but less than $100 for a family of 3, that is all we need for an overnight stay. The town is just 1km off the freeway so no getting to and from a town (like Benalla, some 6km from the freeway exit).

They have smallish rooms with a double and a single bed or a double and bunk beds (kids absolutely love bunk beds, as does mum when she does not have to make it)! We also had a small family room one time.

Glenrowan gets cold in winter and the rooms have a simple wall mounted fan heater which is more than adequate. The family room had an extra portable oil heater which was needed for the larger room. The bathrooms were cold but OK even if they are on the smallish side. Some cars can park under an awning, keeping frost off the car. We did experience an incredibly heavy fog on the Hume freeway one evening so take it easy if driving in these conditions. Even the locals were talking about the fog the next morning!

I do not recall any cooling (a/c) in the room and suspect things could be quite hot in the middle of a warm summer night.

There is a small bistro in the hotel next door that serves huge country meals but watch out for early closing times. Also, we discovered one time it was not open on a Monday night leaving us no option but to make the 15 min trip to Benalla to get a meal as Glenrowan is dead at night! No trucks thundering past here!

In summary, if you don't want to pay for fancy facilities when you just need a place to sleep, this is a good place to stay for a night or two while exploring the many attractions in the area.

Room Tip: Higher no rooms are further away from the front but there is no noise through town to worry about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank offshore956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenrowan
9.9 mi away
Millers Cottage Motel
Millers Cottage Motel
#9 of 10 in Wangaratta
26 reviews
13.2 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle Benalla
13.8 mi away
Glider City Motel
Glider City Motel
#1 of 6 in Benalla
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenrowan Kelly Country Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenrowan Kelly Country Motel

Address: 44 Gladstone St, Glenrowan, Victoria 3675, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Glenrowan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glenrowan
Price Range: $81 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glenrowan Kelly Country Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenrowan Kelly Country Motel is comfortable and moderately priced motel accommodation in rural Glenrowan, overlooking the site of the Siege of 1880 where Ned Kelly and the Kelly Gang made their Last Stand. A convenient and pleasant place to stay in the beautiful North East of Victoria, we are in the town's main street and centrally located for walking to the Glenrowan Siege Precict, Glenrowan Hotel and bistro, museums, the animated theatre, the town's cafes, or driving to visit local wineries and attractions. A convenient place to stay en route to or returning home from the Alpine ski region. Free wifi is available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Glenrowan Kelly Country Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing