We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit lame”
Review of Ned Kelly Museum

Ned Kelly Museum
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Glenrowan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The NED KELLY MUSEUM is part of KATE'S COTTAGE GIFTS SOUVENIRS MUSEUM & replica of the KELLY HOMESTEAD. Step through back of shop to the NED KELLY MUSEUM and an authentic replica of the Kelly Homestead... like the words of the song ... truly the "ramshackle hut" . Excellent historic coverage of the Kelly era. Rated 'The Best Ned Kelly Museum" by Getaway and featured on their show at least three times. Somehow this one business has two separate listing for TripAdvisor reviews. Would you kindly take the time to review both KATE'S COTTAGE and the NED KELLY MUSEUM ? Thanks to all travellers who took the time to review us.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This collection is a bit lame, being more of a collection of odds and ends than a structured narrative. But it's the best of the lot in Glenrowan. The staff were friendly.

1  Thank Hansie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatesCottageGSM, Owner at Ned Kelly Museum, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for your review and your kind words for our staff. If you proceed left following the yellow arrows around the display this ensure that the story of Ned Kelly and Glenrowan is in sequence. Understandably it can all appear "random" if you don't. Our museum and replica homestead have featured on 'Getaway" . It was such a treat to meet Katrina Rountree.who said it was the " Best Ned museum" . It has now been featured at least three times.
We hand out a very informative, free map of the town and historic sites .... hope that you did not miss out on one of those. Cheers Chris & Rod Kate's Cottage GSM & H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 116 of 121 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

The buildings and artifacts took one back to the era and gave a setting for the story to follow. It was well-maintained and extensive. The owner was informative also.

3  Thank Donelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatesCottageGSM, Owner at Ned Kelly Museum, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thanks for your review. The replica of the Kelly homestead gives you an idea of how Mrs Kelly would have had to live at that time. Three to four kids in the one bed, mice, spiders, snakes and goannas to deal with. It would have been a tough life. They were built of tougher stuff than us. to survive the times. Re the original homestead ..one of the books that I read by Strehair stated that the original homestead bad been burnt down in a bushfire. Relatives of the Kellys told me that it was not true but it had come close. The fire had split at the firebreak and burnt around both sides of the house paddock before continuing on. There is nothing of the original homestead left today. Three brick chimneys had been added to the home over the years well after Ned's demise but only one of those is standing today. Every year around March the Naked Lily bulbs which Mrs Kelly planted, pop up and flower along the original fence line. Great history isn't it! Cheers Chris of Kate's Cottage GSM & H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

An interesting place with plenty to see. Definatly a place to visit if wanting to learn a bit about the Ned Kelly history. Friendly cockies that love a scratch!

1  Thank Reneem78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatesCottageGSM, Owner at Ned Kelly Museum, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. Those cockies love a scatch but sometimes have a suspect dialogue. They have a bit of a fan club who visit on a regular basis and we think that they may have taught them a few extra words or three. I talk to school groups about Kelly history down in the covered picnic area within view of the cockies. On some occasions the cockies decide to take over and have the kids in stitches. I can bring the kids back to order but not the cockies. They do love the attention. I personally don't like keeping caged birds but these came with the business 28 years ago and would die if released into the wild.
Glad that you enjoyed it all. Thanks again Chris of Kate's Cottage GSM & H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

What a great resource for anyone interested in the Ned Kelly story. Lots of primary source documentation and artifacts and helpful staff to point you in the right direction. An absolute bargain at $6 each. HIghly recommend.

3  Thank Somerferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatesCottageGSM, Owner at Ned Kelly Museum, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thanks so much for the review. We do have a lot of kids come through especially grade 5-6. I love telling them the history..they are just so enthralled. I have had some funny questions over the years. When many years ago I wore full colonial custume I was asked if I was Ned's mum. More recently ...would Ned have benefited from having anger management? Answer ....possibly but so might have the police.
I see these little Aussie kids who stand before me of every colour, race and religion and continue to be facinated by this history. I have great belief that this story will continue to enthrall many generations to come.
Thanks again Chris of Kate's Cottage GSM & H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a great little museum with plenty of local and Kelly history. Lots of things to look at and good value (kids $1, adults $6). Good for all ages. Don't waste your money down the road at the 'robotic show', spend some time at this local musuem.

3  Thank Daveygravey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatesCottageGSM, Owner at Ned Kelly Museum, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to put forward your review.
We do try to keep our prices down for our museum and homestead admission and don't have a higher holiday price. This makes it affordable for all so we therefore pretty well have a good regular trade all year round except for February and July. It is an interesting little town with an amazing history, We hope that you picked up one of our free town maps which detail locations of all of the Kelly historical sites.
Thank you and hope to see you here again Cheers Chris & Rod of Kate's Cottage GSM & H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ned Kelly Museum also viewed

 

Been to Ned Kelly Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing