We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil Getaway.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gisborne Peak Winery Eco-Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gisborne Peak Winery Eco-Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquil Getaway.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I have stayed at the Eco cottages twice this year because I feel super relaxed & the outlook from my balcony over the green vines is amazing! Inside was immaculately clean & the breakfast/snack supplies were a nice surprise! I also liked the added bonus of a cellar door serving woodfire pizza!
Would happily come back again & again.
Holli

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zellamoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    33
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
140
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We found ourselves booking the winery as accommodation for just one night to attend a wedding in Gisbourne. It was an absolute shame we couldn't have stayed longer.

The property has only 3 chalets, which leaves you feeling like you could be the only ones there- perfect to escape from the world. Each chalet was presented as a self contained 1 bed, and had been decorated lovingly by someone with a good attention to detail. All the small things were just right, throw blankets for the couch, spare towels, plunger coffee and beautiful light filled rooms with strong block out curtains for when you want a good sleep.

We loved the environmentally friendly aspect, enjoyed particularly the sparkling wine and found the tasting plate great value for lunch. We also loved the make your own concept for breakfast of either hot or continental but understand this might not be everyone's cup of tea.

We found the staff and owners attentive and thoughtful, leaving a torch out for us as we were arriving back late from the wedding, allowing us to check in as soon as the room was available and offering tips on local attractions.

We had a few hiccups, our hot water ran out of gas but was replaced within a few minutes of making the call (at 8am on a Sunday too). Mobile phone coverage on the property is also patchy, though this is no fault of the lodge.

All in all we were sorry not to have come for an additional night so as to enjoy the peaceful surroundings some more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shell_81_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We selected the Gisborne Peak property for the location and from the reviews. Everything was spot on! We were on a week long holiday that left Melbourne via the Great Ocean Road; then after a short run into SA, brought us thru the Grampians and to the Macedon Range region. This location was perfect to visit the Macedon area while being a close enough to the airport for an unhurried departure.

The location was nice for visiting Hanging Rock, Trentham Falls, Memorial Cross, etc. and the proximity to Gisborne was great for a little shopping and provisioning.
The cottages are very nice, wonderfully quiet and a true ecological implementation.

We used the BBQ both nights. The first night was planned and while there are several options in Gisborne to eat out, we found the winery to be so peaceful and the cottage so comfortable, we decided another grilled lamb dinner to be our choice. The provided breakfast choices were a nice touch along with the complimentary wine which adds to the overall value.

Our only dissapointment was that our sightseeing schedule didn't allow us an opportunity to sample the pizza at the winery. But, we found the experience relaxing and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at Eco Peak. The cottages are nestled on the hill overlooking the lake and the vinyards. Barb and Bob are very welcoming. We enjoyed lovely wine and food and the lovely environs. We highly recommend it for a weekend away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Spent 1 night at the middle cottage & couldn't fault the service, the people or the atmosphere. Will definitely be staying there again. Had a great lunch beside the little lake and decided to spend the night. Best decision we've made in a long time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twb333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a wedding. Was restful, picturesque with fantastic attention to detail. Could not fault these cottages, seems like one of the best places to stay in these parts, I would absolutely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateonaplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent two nights at the eco cottages and had a great time.

We started by having some great pizza at the winery restaurant and also tasting some of their nice wine. Recommend the prawn and pesto pizza!. Sat by the little lake and took in the cruisy atmosphere. We were given an antipasto tasting platter which was stocked with meats and beautiful cheeses.

The room was nice and we were a big fan of the eco nature of the place - completely reliant on wind/solar power and collected rainwater. The breakfast provisions were also plentiful and was good to cook up bacon and eggs.

We used the cottage as a base to explore the region and managed to check out Mt Macedon, Hanging Rock and Kyneton. Also got as far as Daylesford. Will definitely check out Woodend for the mountain bike trails next time.

All up had a nice and relaxing time and would recommend the eco-cottages for a quiet weekend away from the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gisborne
19.4 mi away
Grange Cleveland Winery
Grange Cleveland Winery
#1 of 2 in Lancefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
12.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Tabcorp Park
8.5 mi away
Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Gisborne Motel
#1 of 1 in Gisborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
7.3 mi away
Black Forest Motel
Black Forest Motel
#1 of 3 in Macedon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cleggett Estate
Cleggett Estate
#2 of 3 in Gisborne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gisborne Peak Winery Eco-Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gisborne Peak Winery Eco-Cottages

Property: Gisborne Peak Winery Eco-Cottages
Address: 69 Short Rd, Gisborne, Victoria 3437, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Macedon Ranges > Gisborne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gisborne Peak Winery Eco-Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gisborne Peak Winery Eco-Cottages (Macedon Ranges) is a place where relaxation, luxury, sustainability and fine wine all come together. Each of the 4 eco-cottages are self-contained and sleep two people. They are nestled into the hillside overlooking the vines and the lake. Perfect for relaxing, reading, talking or just watching the grapes grow! You can always have a tasting of the estate grown wines at the cellar door and even help out in the vineyard with seasonal activities if you want. On Friday through Sundays the wood-fired oven cooks delicious pizzas, prawns and more to match with the Gisborne Peak wine range. One of the advantages of the Gisborne South location is the close proximity to Melbourne and the airport. No need to waste time getting here – spend that time instead settling in and enjoying the sights, sounds and tastes of the Macedon Ranges. What you get in the Macedon Ranges is honesty and authentic passion. What you get at Gisborne Peak Winery Eco-Cottages is all of that plus comfort, food & wine and relaxation. Why wait? Book now.Check in from 2:00, Check out at 11:00 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gisborne Peak Winery Eco-Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gisborne Peak Winery Eco-Cottages Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing