We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect ending to our Victoria Loop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gisborne Peak Winery Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We selected the Gisborne Peak property for the location and from the reviews. Everything was spot on! We were on a week long holiday that left Melbourne via the Great Ocean Road; then after a short run into SA, brought us thru the Grampians and to the Macedon Range region. This location was perfect to visit the Macedon area while being a close enough to the airport for an unhurried departure.

The location was nice for visiting Hanging Rock, Trentham Falls, Memorial Cross, etc. and the proximity to Gisborne was great for a little shopping and provisioning.
The cottages are very nice, wonderfully quiet and a true ecological implementation.

We used the BBQ both nights. The first night was planned and while there are several options in Gisborne to eat out, we found the winery to be so peaceful and the cottage so comfortable, we decided another grilled lamb dinner to be our choice. The provided breakfast choices were a nice touch along with the complimentary wine which adds to the overall value.

Our only dissapointment was that our sightseeing schedule didn't allow us an opportunity to sample the pizza at the winery. But, we found the experience relaxing and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 217 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at Eco Peak. The cottages are nestled on the hill overlooking the lake and the vinyards. Barb and Bob are very welcoming. We enjoyed lovely wine and food and the lovely environs. We highly recommend it for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Spent 1 night at the middle cottage & couldn't fault the service, the people or the atmosphere. Will definitely be staying there again. Had a great lunch beside the little lake and decided to spend the night. Best decision we've made in a long time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twb333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a wedding. Was restful, picturesque with fantastic attention to detail. Could not fault these cottages, seems like one of the best places to stay in these parts, I would absolutely visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kateonaplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent two nights at the eco cottages and had a great time.

We started by having some great pizza at the winery restaurant and also tasting some of their nice wine. Recommend the prawn and pesto pizza!. Sat by the little lake and took in the cruisy atmosphere. We were given an antipasto tasting platter which was stocked with meats and beautiful cheeses.

The room was nice and we were a big fan of the eco nature of the place - completely reliant on wind/solar power and collected rainwater. The breakfast provisions were also plentiful and was good to cook up bacon and eggs.

We used the cottage as a base to explore the region and managed to check out Mt Macedon, Hanging Rock and Kyneton. Also got as far as Daylesford. Will definitely check out Woodend for the mountain bike trails next time.

All up had a nice and relaxing time and would recommend the eco-cottages for a quiet weekend away from the city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The beautiful setting and peacefulness make this a really lovely place to stay. I just felt that things overall fell short of a luxury experience - I realize I am being pedantic with the things I am going to list below, but to me they are the difference between adequate and somewhere I want to return to:
- the breakfast provisions were very basic, tinned fruit salad, standard cereal, commercial packaged breads and worst of all UHT milk! I really can't understand why there was no fresh fruit or tomatoes or mushroom to round out breakfast - this is not a remote location, not excuse for not having fresh produce.
- the welcome note has about 50 rules about what not to do - this is a pet hate of mine - people who are going to do the wrong thing will anyway, it just offends the rest of us when you explain basic manners as rules
- I was here alone, luckily because the couch is only big enough for one
- ...and now to prove what a pedant I am - I hate to find a property where all the products are from either Aldi or parallel imports.... Aldi tea is rank - invest in some twinnings and make people smile.
Everything else was pleasant, the heater and music had been turned on prior to my arrival, good bed and the cottage stayed warm overnight with the heater turned off.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara N, Owner at Gisborne Peak Winery Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Vanessa. Since you were a late arrival and opted for a self check-in, we must provide you with a Cottage Assignment letter, how to check-out instructions and your cottage key, all in your cottage mailbox which includes our 7 Terms and Conditions (standard). If you were one of the rare people who do cause trouble then we must rely on this document.

Your comments regarding the breakfast provisions are a first and we take them on board.
Unfortunately I didn't get to meet you despite asking you to stop by cellar door to sign your registration. I did see your car pass by in the afternoon without stopping.

The couch is a standard leather two-seater, and that, along with the armchair has been adequate for two people which is what the cottage has been designed to accommodate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Just the one night, and a last minute work crisis meant we arrived after dark. Trusting NAVMAN was a mistake, it had no idea; print off directions & map from the website as the directional signage from Gisborne township was also a bit sparse. The drive-way sign was un-illuminated and made the last bit of navigation tough as well. As we meandered through the vines up to the cottaqges, the signage was fine. The key was ready, the cottage was lit and warmed and the inside ambience was great, even if it was cold and blustery outside.

The tasting plate was plentiful, varied and high quality. The bed was comfy and the sleep was sound. Breakfast makings were also great. The only disappointment was the 'coffee' - little instant coffee paper tubes. A plunger and some beans/grounds would have made a BIG difference.

The weather was not right for it but, on a nicer day, an egg and bacon breakfast cooked on the BBQ on the patio, overlooking the vines would have been spectacular. Next time.

Strolling around the grounds among the vines and dams was very relaxing and finishing up at the cellar door for a pleasant tasting was a great finish.

Next time we'll arrive earlier, stay two nights and pick better weather.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Semperpronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara N, Owner at Gisborne Peak Winery Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Guess what I bought over the weekend..... 3 new Bodum Coffee Plungers! Thanks for the suggestion - it was what I needed to make me do what I've been meaning to do. So next time expect some better coffee. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gisborne
19.5 mi away
Grange Cleveland Winery
Grange Cleveland Winery
#1 of 2 in Lancefield
249 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gisborne Motel
Gisborne Motel
#1 of 1 in Gisborne
48 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cleggett Estate
Cleggett Estate
#2 of 3 in Gisborne
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gisborne Peak Winery Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gisborne Peak Winery Cottages

Address: 69 Short Rd, Gisborne, Victoria 3437, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Macedon Ranges > Gisborne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Gisborne
Price Range: $154 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gisborne Peak Winery Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gisborne Peak Winery Cottages (Macedon Ranges) is a place where relaxation, luxury, sustainability and fine wine all come together. Each of the 4 winery cottages are self-contained and sleep two people. They are nestled into the hillside overlooking the vines and the lake. Perfect for relaxing, reading, talking or just watching the grapes grow! You can always have a tasting of the estate grown wines at the cellar door and even help out in the vineyard with seasonal activities if you want. Wood-fired pizzas and more are served daily. One of the advantages of the Gisborne South location is the close proximity to Melbourne and the airport. No need to waste time getting here – spend that time instead settling in and enjoying the sights, sounds and tastes of the Macedon Ranges. What you get in the Macedon Ranges is honesty and authentic passion. What you get at Gisborne Peak Winery Cottages is all of that plus comfort, food & wine and relaxation. Why wait? Book now.Check in from 2:00, Check out at 11:00 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Gisborne Peak Winery Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gisborne Peak Winery Cottages Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing