We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coronation Arms is well worth a visit.”
Review of Coronation Arms

Coronation Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Mary Bourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coronation Arms
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This traditional village pub has recently re-opened and is a gem. Manages to combine a good pub atmosphere for drinkers with a friendly, efficient restaurant cooking freshly prepared dishes from an interesting ( and regularly changing menu).
The 3/4 real ales are well kept and were in excellent condition.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DS52000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 14 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Welcome back to the coronation arms! Under new ownership! Although Dave and Julia used to run the pub years ago.,now their son Tom is the top class chef and the food is prepared and cooked to an excellent standard! Please give it a try as you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This pub has been shut for a year or two and looked like it was going to stay that way. However it is back under the excellent management of Dave and Tom Peart. I am pleased to report that all 4 beers are kept very well, a good selection of reasonably priced wine and last Friday I had what has to be the most fabulous gourmet burger, big meaty with an excellent coleslaw and chips all for 9 quid. The staff are friendly and right on their game. Welcome back the Corrie

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

I called ahead after reading some good reviews on line and was really looking forward to a nice lunch in a village pub. Unfortunately I might have been a bit optimistic. The staff were very friendly and the drinks reasonably priced. However, the food was pretty poor, both in taste and presentation.

For a £20 rib-eye steak I would expect something yummy and well presented. The steak was tough as old boots being dished up with some frozen chunky fries and frozen onion rings. My wifes dinner was equally poor quality with some tough steak served up in plane white bread and a mound of really greasy fries. Not a problem, but it did cost £13. My side salad never showed up and I couldn't be bothered to ask for it either.

The truth is we could have eaten far better food for half the price at a Harvester. I don't understand why pubs like this are prepared to charge high prices but use cheap ingredients. An expensive lesson to learn and one that I dont want to repeat anytime soon.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goggs102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

One of the best experiences in the UK. Th staff was over the top.

The beer was fresh and filling. I would recommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dirkcv41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2008

I stayed for 1 night at the Coronation Arms in the village of St Mary Bourne. It was recommended to me by the other village pub as they hadnt any vacancies. Superb welcome, great food (excellent menu-not your usual pub grub by any means), had the very large ensuite room which was well furnished and in immaculate condition. Would highly recommend this if you are anywhere in this area. (Bear in mind that mobile phones do not get a signal in this village unless you are on a vodaphone network!)

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2007

Spotless, newly decorated rooms, great pub food and the most friendly and helpful owners possible. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coronation Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronation Arms

Address: St Mary Bourne, Andover SP11 6AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Andover > St Mary Bourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St Mary Bourne
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Coronation Arms Hotel Andover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing