We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas in July?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boathouse Restaurant

The Boathouse Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 191 Restaurants in Frankston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The iconic Boathouse Restaurant is Frankston's premiere dining destination. With an unpretentious menu based on fresh locally sourced produce, this eclectic restaurant boasts a lush, creek-side location at the gateway to the Mornington Peninsula. Recently refurbished to the highest standards, the restaurant is a popular favourite among locals and holiday makers. Whether you're looking for a romantic dinner, family get together, special occasion or wedding reception venue The Boathouse Restaurant is perfect for any occasion.
Moorooduc, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Christmas in July?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Boathouse is offering a Christmas in July Sunday special.We went with friends.The meal was nice enough but not very Christmassy! Entree choice was soup or bruschetta and main meal was pork cutlet or chicken breast.The only Christmas course was dessert - plum pudding.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KillarneyFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cam T, Owner at The Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi Killarney Farm, thank you for your review. I am a little embarrassed that you didn't feel our publicized Christmas menu wasn't Christmasy enough. We offered a three course lunch menu with a glass of Montara wine for the discounted price of $47.50 per person. The concept is more about getting people out to celebrate with friends and enjoy an easy no fuss lunch. We have used all of the dishes you mentioned on different Christmas themed functions without any criticism. Both entrees reflect the colours of Christmas with their red and greens and the main Pork dish is modern slant on a traditional roast. The chicken replaces the turkey as it is an easier option for an A'la Carte restaurant. I do believe your rating of Value, Atmosphere, Service and Food (all 3 out of 5) is a little harsh as you would see by the previous ratings as all 5 out of 5. All the best Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    80
    20
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Excellent night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We have been to the boathouse 6 months ago and the service was poor. This time everything was excellent we had the bruschetta for entre, it was the best bruschetta we've had for a ages. For the mains we had the pork belly which was excellent and the gippsland steak which was also lovely. But for the steak $36 was maybe a bit overpriced as I would guess it was only 200gm. All up we had 1 entree 2 mains 2 sides and a cheap bottle of wine for $125. If you haven't been for a whole it's definently worth another visit. :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cam T, Owner at The Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi Christopher, i am glad you enjoyed your return experience, with respect to your steak our butcher sources premium grade Gippsland Angus and it is portioned at 350g to 375g per steak which is pretty good value for money. Hope to see you again soon, regards Cam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrar, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wedding Anniversary - Table for 2”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The initial impression of the Boathouse is what a lovely building in a fabulous position and why didn't we come here in the daylight? The answer is, next time come for lunch to see the leafy courtyard and landscaping down to Kananook Creek, then the time after come for the other fabulous dish you couldn't decide between and the time after that......etc.
The ambiance is casual chic, the service is A1 and friendly and the food is creative, modern, beautifully presented and delectable.
The Coffin Bay oysters were fresh and scrumptious with a highlight being the creamy homemade sauce, my Sticky Ginger Pork Belly was meltingly delicious and my husband's Slow-cooked lamb shoulder, rolled and stuffed with "herby things" - men are so observant - was also a winner. We followed this with Belgian Chocolate Pudding and hazelnut ice cream and an equally indulgent, Rhubarb and Apple Crumble.
Frankston has needed a restaurant like "The Boathouse" for a long time. It's classy, isn't in the "where do I park" area of the CBD (heaps of off road parking) and provides an excellent, value for money venue for lunch, dinner and that special celebration.
I found this restaurant on Trip Advisor and am very pleased I did. We enjoyed our anniversary dinner and will be visiting again when next in Frankston visiting family. It's going to be a regular venue and a holiday dining treat.
For a lovely outlook in the daytime, ask for a table on the lower level; in the evening I liked the mezzanine area where we were seated. There is a line of tables overlooking the lower area so dining felt more private as we weren't surrounded by other diners. A winner for me.
If you live in the area, go often - you'll be rewarded by lovely surroundings, great food and professional service. What more could you want?

Lesley Scott-Smith

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cam T, Owner at The Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi Lesley, thank you for the lovely wrap, hope to see you again soon, all the best Cam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“table fort two”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

excellent service with food to match. Great relaxed atmosphere and a beautiful taste experience.
J & G.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jorg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cam T, Owner at The Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi J & G thank you for your lovely review. Hope to see you again soon, regards Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“My husband's birthday lunch and loved our visit to the Boathouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Today on a whim we drove just fifteen minutes from home to give The Boathouse a try. A bit of a risk when it is my husband's birthday. From the second we walked in until we walked out smiling it was a delightful experience. I had ministrone soup and slow cooked rabbit, my husband had seared Canadian scallops followed by whole sole fish , and we shared a rhubarb and quince cobbler with out of this world ice cream. Every mouthful was delicious, the staff friendly and helpful and extremely professional. Our glasses of wine went down easily too. We joined the VIP Club on the spot and plan to go back again for my birthday in July. Couldn't wait to post this well deserved review.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsywaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cam T, Owner at The Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks Patsy, it is always nice to receive kind reviews.
Great work on joining the VIP members Club, we are growing by 400 per month. Our June newsletter will be out in the next couple of days with the low down of our coming events including the Quealy wine dinner, Christmas in July and the Frankston Food & Wine Society Luncheon. All the best and happy dining, cheers Cam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse Restaurant also viewed

Frankston, Mornington Peninsula
Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
 
Frankston, Mornington Peninsula
Main Ridge, Mornington Peninsula
 
Frankston, Mornington Peninsula
Frankston, Mornington Peninsula
 

Been to The Boathouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing