We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surburban Spice”
Review of the spice club

the spice club
Ranked #6 of 194 Restaurants in Frankston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the spice club Now well established with a good reputation, high-quality quotient and really tasty tucker, The spice Club has shown how attractive an Indian restaurant can be. Smart and modern, with a displays of ancient artifacts juxtaposed against crisp white walls and clean architectural line the restaurant is five years ahead of its time. Indian Restaurant The stylish contemporary decor is refreshing surprise to those used to more "Traditional" curry house. We have created a modern and warm ambiance, ideal for entertaining, family and friends. On the beach side of Nepean highway open atmosphere with fully licensed bar and takeaway meals. Regular dinners will be familiar with barbecued meats, butter chicken, lamb Rogan josh, With the Famous 'Grand Indian Buffet' dinner on every fridays and saturdays. We also offers Express Takeaway, half/half in special containers, non-vegetarian and vegetarian dishes also do home delivery service. We exercise innovation in our food preparation and presentation procedures using minimum oil, and spices that are prepared and ground in house. spice club takeaway menu Spice Club wine list
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Surburban Spice”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Having travelled to Northern India and enjoyed the local cuisine, I have, over time, looked for similiar food in Melbourne, with little success. Finally, in the beachside suburb of Frankston, I found one.
The food was delicious, served in soup bowl size dishes ( which I thought were a bit small) wasn't I wrong about that!! I ordered the lamb kofta- two chilli hot- and shared a bowl of rice. The lamb was cooked to perfection, as was the rice. One of the group had a vegetarian meal as was very impressed. We all had dessert, the dumplings in rosewater were outstanding, as was my pistachio ice-cream.
The service was quick and efficient, the menu is surprisingly large and there is a wide vegetarian selection. The wine list caters for all tastes and there is also a choice of soft drinks. The cost is surprising low, so the bank didn't go into shock.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DesertLoverVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    29
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I love the spice club!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

My family and I often dine here. The food is authentic and fabulous. The new management is friendly and efficient. What's not to love? If you appreciate real indian food, this is the place for you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nata8ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tasty food and great selection!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Frankston area never fails to provide a great restaurant with great food, easy to access & no difficulty getting a table. The Spice Club is a perfect example of this ... Great food, receptive staff and a pleasant decor.
Our favourite on the menu was the coconut prawn curry dish! Yum!!! We will be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
“Excellent food”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Went out for dinner with the entire family. Entree was great. Loved those kebabs and prawns. Mains were even nicer as well, cooked with pefection…excellent service and well spoken staff…and great atmosphere. Recommended to All!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penhayle Bay
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little spice”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

One of our regular eating-out haunts this is a family-owned restaurant offering a wide variety of cuisine not limited to the often-seen northern Indian style. Occasional specials including week-long events have included Sri Lankan, Goan and southern Indian styles.

A traditional menu is offered at all times with the additional option of a fixed-price all-you-can-eat buffet on Friday and Saturday nights plus Thursday and Sunday nights in the summer season. Lunchtime specials and take-away are also available and home deliveries can be arranged in the immediate area.

The food is very good being well cooked and presented and in plentiful quantities. The style is Australian-influenced and so perhaps a little less firey than you would find in a similar restaurant in the UK for example. A good range of drinks is offered or you may bring your own wine (corkage applies). One of the nice surprises is that the buffet menu constantly changes so the same dishes do not appear week after week. This makes it attractive for repeat visits.

Service is generally good and attentive though has on occasions been slow. We have not found that to be detrimental to our experience as it is more in keeping with the typical Indian relaxed dining style. For a quick and reliable feed the buffet is a great option as you don't need to wait for the food to be cooked and it is possible to enjoy a good meal in under half an hour if you wish.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the spice club also viewed

Frankston, Mornington Peninsula
Frankston, Mornington Peninsula
 
Frankston, Mornington Peninsula
Frankston, Mornington Peninsula
 

Been to the spice club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing