We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational restaurant in the Heart of Falls Creek”
Review of Astra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Astra Lodge
Reviewed August 2, 2011

A sensational restaurant right in the heart of Falls Creek! We have enjoyed dining here ( as we live in the region ) several times this winter with friends and look forward to visiting again very shortly. Great atmosphere, food & staff. Relaxing by their open fire or dining looking to the snow falling in the evening... Just fantastic!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Кент С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 63 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2011

Lovely position in the snow, nice restaurant and helpful staff. (Though the rooms a little "tight"

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louiseagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed at Astra in November for a wedding (not our own) and had a lovely time. Great restaurant and relax area in the basement.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elapela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

This was my first time in Falls Creek. What a beautiful place. The people everywhere are very friendly and helpful. The Astra Alpine service is excellent. The rooms may be on the small side especially the bathroom but the staff sure make up for it. I had booked the Panaroma room and was lucky enough to have the room with the small balcony. I know it was freezing and snowing but it was still magical to go out and look at all the snow and mountains. The restaurants food was fantastic. All in all a very comfy great location quiet beautiful place to stay. A few tips. Make sure you have chains for the car as this is compulsory. You need a pass to enter the park and then to get to your accommadation you need to get the oversnow transport. Also if hiring skies. Hire them from the bottom of the chairlifts as its much cheaper.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kodySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

This is a beautiful lodge, my wife and l visited it again recently with friends. As always, friendly, great service, interesting after dinner drinks ( try the vodka bar with its 70 odd different vodkas from around the world... If unsure which to choose, just ask one of the friendly staff ) We are returning on the 24 August...and looking forward to it!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Кент С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Really enjoyed our stay. The lodge itself is a classy alpine set up, and very comfortable. Food and wine were fantastic, and the staff were always friendly and helpful. Lior (singer) performed while we were there which was a truly memorable night (special menu). If you want a luxurious mountain experience I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p0wp0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Stayed Sept. 2009 with a few friends. Loved the dining/bar area! What better way to soothe an aching body at the end of the day than sitting next to the fireplace in the lap of luxury, putting your feet up and enjoying the spectacular view. Service was great, ambience was relaxing and friendly. I can't wait to get back there!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gepp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falls Creek hotels
0.1 mi away
Trackers Mountain Lodge
Trackers Mountain Lodge
#1 of 3 in Falls Creek
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Falls Creek
QT Falls Creek
#2 of 3 in Falls Creek
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Frueauf Village
Frueauf Village
#1 of 29 in Falls Creek
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge
Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge
#3 of 3 in Falls Creek
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silverski Boutique Hotel & Penthouse Apartments
0.1 mi away
Huski Falls Creek
Huski Falls Creek
#4 of 29 in Falls Creek
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Lodge

Address: 5 Sitzmark St, Falls Creek, Victoria 3699, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Falls Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Falls Creek
Price Range: $261 - $825 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astra Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astra Lodge offers guest’s luxury accommodation in the heart of Falls Creek village. The ski in/ski out grand lodge seduces guests with in house facilities such as a state of the art ski & boot locker room, library, world class wine cellar, Magnesium mineral pool, spa, sauna and steam room, kids entertainment room, cocktail bar, restaurant, a large open fire, big leather couches and ambient surrounds. Retire to your own private ski accommodation at your whim. Lodging options start from Deluxe rooms, Deluxe with balcony rooms, family interconnecting rooms, studios, disabled studio and a 2 bedroom apartment. All rooms include an ensuite equipped with Triumph & Disaster bathroom amenities, flat screen TV, Apple TV, Nespresso coffee machine, a selection of T2 teas and complimentary WIFI. Guests also can enjoy a hot/cold breakfast in the Astra restaurant and private over snow transfers to and from the lodge. If your looking for luxury in the Australia Alps... Astra is the place to be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Astra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing