We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compared to what it cost to stay - ok to average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Falls Creek B&B and Inns
ACT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Compared to what it cost to stay - ok to average”
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Very nicely renovated, classy and romantic dining room - just as the pics on their website. Beautiful view of snow laden gum trees as you have your meal. Meals were ok - they do try, but did not have the flavor, snap and pop I'd expect from a top class restaurant that they're trying to be. Also, vegetarians, dont bother - nothing for you on the menu and well, you'll get the dish sans meat. Service was pretty good - once or twice we got the sense that it was a bit forced. Wendy was great however, knowledgeable and very enthusiastic. Pre-paid guests might have had a slightly shorter menu than other diners - what we saw on the display board outside was different to the menus given to us during our stay. Facilities were excellent, drying rooms, etc, ski in, ski out, not far from the runs & ticket office. Just be aware that it'll cost you close to $100 in oversnow transport to get you gear up there and back to the car park. Didn't see much of Simon, except when he was lighting the fire or working on his ski-do parked outside. The mezzanine suite is in reality a lot smaller than the photos suggest, and don't drink too much - the stairs up to the mezzanine is little more than a ladder (you can't turn you back to it and walk down). Sure we'll stay there again, we had a great time - just next time we'll try to haggle a more fitting cheaper price....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sanshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    11
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

The best thing about Summit Ridge is definitely the location and the dining area which features in the photos on their website. However the rooms are basic, and we had a few 'issues' such as being unable to get wireless from our room, and feeling like we were imposing somewhat by requesting a vegetarian alternative to their 'all meat' menu. Staff were generally great apart from one less than helpful person on our last day there, which was a shame. Very accessible from the ski field but be aware that there are a few logistical issues in gettting a lot of gear up on oversnow transport.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank av311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2008

Clean, comfortable and stylish. The service was personal and genuine. I was more than happy with the stay and the food offered in the restaurant is exceptional. True ski in/ski out with excellent drying facilities. Overall this is a quality property and I would not take any notice of poor reviews without good reason. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Liked — The excellent dining and wine list.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank moltenmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

We stayed at Summit Ridge in 2006, and for the price we expected it to be very comfortable. Overall it wasn't bad, the food was very good, the room was OK, a little pokey and the stairs to the mezzanine could be a bit tricky to negotiate with sore legs. The service was a little let down at times. We too had a run in with Simon, over fresh towels, he be impolite at times. And on occasion we found ourselves waiting for a long time for drink orders, eventually having to cancel them. The final problem was the location of our room was directly over the kitchen and you could here kitchen noise (coldroom door) until the restaurant closed. All in all, not major problems.

Other than that we really enjoyed ourselves here, with good snow it is a good ski in/ski out spot, the ski storage area is convenient and dinners were quite romantic with great atmosphere and views of the falling snow. Wendy was a very good hostess, all up we would go back to stay at the Summit Ridge again.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Some aspects of the service
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Benn00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We have now stayed at Summit Ridge thee times over the last two ski seasons and would highly recommend this lodge to any one who is looking for a first class stay in the snow where everything is taken care of.

On our last trip we stayed in one of the upper floor rooms that had a great loft set up for the bedroom which left ample space in the lower section for a comfortable lounge and TV area. As every one know that visits the snow, space is always at a premium but the rooms at Summit Ridge where a perfect size for a great week of skiing.

While the rooms where excellent the dinning room and bar area were absolutely fantastic, the open fire place was always underway when we made our way in for drinks before dinner and we always made the most of the leather lounges for a chat with other guests and a few beers before dinner. The food was always top quality, basically what you would expect in any fine dinning restaurant, and there was never any shortage of good wines on the list to choose from.

Overall we had a great week in the snow that was made even better by the hospitality of the staff at Summit Ridge and the well presented alpine lodge. We will be going back again this year for another stay, now all we need is 2M of snow to top things off.

  • Liked — Great location and the sensational food in the restaurant
  • Disliked — That I could not stay longer than a week
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Aspendog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falls Creek hotels
0.1 mi away
Trackers Mountain Lodge
Trackers Mountain Lodge
#1 of 3 in Falls Creek
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Attunga Alpine Lodge
Attunga Alpine Lodge
#3 of 3 in Falls Creek
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Falls Creek
QT Falls Creek
#2 of 3 in Falls Creek
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Falls Creek Country Club
Falls Creek Country Club
#6 of 29 in Falls Creek
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falls Creek Hotel
Falls Creek Hotel
#1 of 3 in Falls Creek
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Frueauf Village
Frueauf Village
#1 of 29 in Falls Creek
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge

Property: Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge
Address: 8 Schuss St, Falls Creek, Victoria 3699, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Falls Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Falls Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge is the definition of a true mountain lodge featuring a huge stone open fire place, large leather couches with exceptional food, wine and ambiance. With recently upgraded suites and under new management we invite you to experience the dedicated, friendly service in one of Falls Creek’s finest boutique ski lodges.Our superb position on the highest street in Falls Creek provides true ski in - ski out access, quiet seclusion and spectacular views. Enjoy our exclusive mezzanine suites with a king size bed and amenities over two levels or our deluxe queen suites. Both have full size bathrooms with a bath for that relaxing soak. These suites have been designed for discerning guests who value space, refinement and privacy. Indulge yourself with the amazing flavours and aromas of our restaurant, and explore our wine list with over 200 fine wines. Spend the evening nestled by the roaring log fire with a glass of wine, curl up with a selection from our library or warm up and relax in our sauna or spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Falls Creek
Summit Ridge Alpine Hotel
Falls Creek Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing