We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for beginners”

Falls Creek Alpine Resort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Falls Creek is Australia's Premier all-season alpine resort. Experience Victoria's largest area for skiing and snowboarding in Winter plus 65km of groomed cross country trails. Outside of Winter Falls Creek offers a range of adventure and nature based activities including cycling, mountain biking, hiking, altitude training and water activities on the 200ha Rocky Valley Lake.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great for beginners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We went to Falls with a large group of friends, some who had never skiied and others who were more intermediate and it catered for all of us brilliantly. The beginners all did lessons and the instructors were friendly and nice. Our daughter also did one day at the ski school and they looked after her really well. There was heaps of runs for intermediates and we found that often the runs were nearly empty despite it being peak season! The queues for chair lift and other things weren't a problem at all (best of all ski resorts I've been to) and all the staff from the lifties to the medics, instructors and shuttle drivers were all fantastically friendly.

Pros: very little wait times, good diversity of runs, friendly people, ski in/ski out location of accommodation

Cons: the expense! It's not cheap, but we bought our own food and this helped keep costs down. As with most Australian ski resorts, if you want to go for longer than a weekend best to go to New Zealand instead.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank NickAlexPhoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    236
    26
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa Heads, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Aussie Ski Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very friendly, ski in ski out village. Locals are very accommodating and happen to see guests having a good time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic ski resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stunning village, so lovely to be able to stay in the snow and ski in/ski out each day. Our children attended the ski school which was fantastic, they learnt a lot in a fun environment.
Fantastic atmosphere in the village and there were plenty of activities to keep everyone busy.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great family holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

First-time visitors to the snow will love it, especially families. But to avoid some of the mistakes we made on our first trip to Falls Creek, here are some handy tips:
1. Falls Creek is VERY over-priced so be prepared to pay through the nose for everything.
2. Take as much food and drink with you up the mountain because it costs a lot to buy in the Falls Creek supermarkets.
3. Try and get accommodation in the middle of the village so you don't have to rely on the village transport (there are oversnow vehicles to help visitors get around). It can be a tiring walk from one end of the village to the other.
3. Even better, get accommoadtion close to the village's central drop-off point as you will have to pay for oversnow transport to your room, which is very expensive.
4. If you take the bus to Falls Creek, be ready for people to get motion sickness - it's a windy trip.
5. Lift passes and hiring skis/snowboards cost a fortune - try and plan exactly what you want to do before you get there and book passes/equipment in advance (there are discounts) to save yourself a packet.
6. The same goes for hiring snow clothing - it costs a lot to hire it at Falls Creek. To save money, any waterproof outer clothing will do - it doesn't have to be a ski jacket - just make sure it has a hood. Good waterproof pants can be harder to find but anything that keeps you dry will work. Same goes for shoes - sneakers will get wet quick in the snow - so any type of waterproof boots will do (rubber boots work well for the kids).
7. Dress in layers - in the world of ski/snow resorts, Falls Creek isn't as cold as say Europe, the US or Japan. Thermals probably aren't always required but I found a t-shirt, long-sleeve shirt and ski jacket worked well on top, while a pair of tracksuit pants under my ski pants was adequate. Depending on your shoes, a couple of pairs of socks is a good idea and a beanie is a must. Consider a face-warmer (or a scarf that you can pull up around your face) and ski goggles as well (they are far more effective than sunnies).
8. Accommodation is very expensive so do some research before you book. You will find that most rooms/apartments are cramped and because of their design the neighbours can be noisy. Get an apartment with a kitchen so you can do your own cooking (and save money in the process).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
140 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Gotta love Falls Creek!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I haven't been to any other ski resorts but will continue to go to Falls Creek, especially as our accommodation is ski in ski out. Plenty of different runs for beginners & intermediates at one section & if you're wanting more there's the summit & the black runs over the hills. Night skiing available when we were there which was just so special under a full moon, staff are friendly, and experienced. Great kid friendly atmosphere & facilities.....I can't say enough about the place apart from I'll be back next year!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Falls Creek Alpine Resort also viewed

 
Bright, Victoria
 

Been to Falls Creek Alpine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing