We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best lodge in Australia”
Review of Nelse Lodge

Nelse Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nelse Lodge
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best lodge in Australia”
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Nelse is easily the best ski lodge in Australia. We have stayed here almost every year for 29 years. We've also stayed in several other top lodges in Falls Creek, Thredbo and Perisher. None of them come close to the comfort, convenience, excellent food, amenities and friendliness of Nelse. Graham and Ros do a fantastic job. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Nelse Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you David and Ninette, it was great have you back with us this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Springs, Victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I have stayed with Ros, Graham & Glen at Nelse Lodge twice now for a couple nights each trip in the past couple of weeks, was made very welcome from the moment I arrived till the moment I left, in fact I didn't really want to leave.

I have travelled extensively around country Victoria for many years & rarely have I come across such a gem of a venue to stay, dine, drink & have hosts that find time to mingle and engage with their guests.

Totally happy with the room, excellent food, wonderful facilities & very reasonable pricing.

It looks like I will have to go back to Falls Creek again next week & I will only be making one phone call to one venue to book a room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daz3222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Highly recommend the nelse lodge, looked after us very well for the third year now, terrific food, great falls creek location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lgal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Graham, Ros and cheeky, but has to be said quite brilliant chef Glen will provide you, your partner and family with a home away from home. In fact, without being on top of each other, you could well become part of the 'family' !

The sign in the driveway on a cold damp January day said 'Pool, Bar, Spa', I was so lucky to stop by chance, thought the sign 'sold it'!

From a great welcome, to the beautiful clean room, drying room, to the indoor pool and the freshest and hottest spa on earth, this was how my stay started...

Dinner with their friends in the wonderfully European open plan living / dining bar area, complete with massive wood fire ready for the winter season, you could easily find space to be alone, or chat with the locals who also just drop in as their favourite spot for a drink and dinner, I was introduced to many that typical evening.

Enough said - I do not have shares, but the folk at Nelse are worth bragging about. They have after all been in the area for more years than most, and whilst it is a business, you are never left feeling any more, than a welcomed guest.

Look no further, do not pass go, trust me.

Thank you Nelse - hope to drop in again soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed with Graeme and Ros at Nelse Lodge and, as always, had a fantastic time. Graeme and Ros, together with chef Glen, are the ultimate hosts. They go out of their way to ensure that you have an enjoyable stay. Rooms are clean, tidy and comfortable. The lounge, with an open fire, is a wonderful area for relaxing with friends. Meals are generous and beautifully cooked and presented. We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerd0wnunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed here during the MG Car Club's Pre War MG Rally in November 2011. There was a complete muck up with the accommodation because of some bad weather and the rally organisers thought the roads were blocked. We together with a few others continued to FC regardless and were rewarded with an excellent experience. The Lodge was terrific and the meal we had that night. Our host were first class and were particularly gracious considering that they must have been considerably out of pocket given that only a handful of the expect number of guest actually arrived. Will be back again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Pleasant hosts, providing clean & tidy accommodation. Always a fire going in the lounge area.

My first time staying at Nelse & happy to go back again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chucky4877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falls Creek hotels
0.3 mi away
Trackers Mountain Lodge
Trackers Mountain Lodge
#1 of 3 in Falls Creek
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Frueauf Village
Frueauf Village
#1 of 29 in Falls Creek
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Attunga Alpine Lodge
Attunga Alpine Lodge
#2 of 3 in Falls Creek
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Elk at Falls
Elk at Falls
#6 of 29 in Falls Creek
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge
Summit Ridge Alpine Lodge
#1 of 3 in Falls Creek
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Falls Creek Country Club
Falls Creek Country Club
#9 of 29 in Falls Creek
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelse Lodge

Property: Nelse Lodge
Address: 17 Slalom St, Falls Creek, Victoria 3699, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Falls Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Falls Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing