We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Postcard Scenery” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panther Creek State Park

Panther Creek State Park
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Morristown, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Postcard Scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you go all the way up the park, you will be able to see the Cherokee Lake and islands where people go for a picnic. It is a picturesque view!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joey5250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    52
    7
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We love the Seven Sinkholes Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

One of our favorite very-easy trails is the Seven Sinkholes Loop in this state park. Hardly anyone else was on it this time, even though the park itself was bustling with people in large gatherings. We enjoy taking a blanket and sitting by one of the old sinkholes to read. A good quiet getaway not far into the woods.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TennesseeJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
209 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Beautiul view from the picnic area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We grilled hamburgers and enjoyed the view at the top picnic area after a two mile hike on the old wagon trail. It is a great place to hike with a lot of good trails of all levels of difficulty.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bugandmuscles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Still Tired!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Me and a buddy decided to camp a night at the campgrounds and do a lot of hiking the next day. First of all I'd like to say the campgrounds are pretty great. Nice and clean, although the bathrooms are fairly small. It wasn't very crowded at all. Our campsite we chose had a "slight incline" but I would have rated it more at a moderate inclide! Spent the whole night sliding around in the tent more than sleeping. But the best part is there are no mosquitoes! Plenty of spiders though. $20 a night to camp, hiking is free.
As far as the hiking goes, the trails are wonderful. If you print off information from their website beware, the maps and trail info online is wayyyyy old, however, you can obtain a map from the Visitor Center. Great mountain biking trails, and plenty of easy-going trails, but my friend and I went only for the hardest trails.. and hard they were. If I had to suggest a few trails to try out, I would definitely say go for the 7-Sink Holes trail, and lookout point trail.. stay away from Lost Trail and Ore Mine Trail unless you have a great sense of direction.. the map at points can be confusing especially when there are 2 or 3 trails coming together at one point.

Also for the families out there, there is a huge playground for the kids, and quite a few easy trails that would be nice to stroll along. Not to mention the 4 or 5 picnic areas that are very clean and spacious

Overall it was a great trip, and I would definitely come back (with mountain bikes this time!) Enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
136 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Plenty of great views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

This nice, quiet state park is located in the eastern foothills of Tennessee. Plenty of trails for walking, biking, horse riding, and hiking. The upper elevations of the park overlook a scenic vista of Cherokee Lake and the Clinch Mountain Range.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank gldave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panther Creek State Park also viewed

 

Been to Panther Creek State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing