We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Tired!”

Panther Creek State Park
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Still Tired!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Me and a buddy decided to camp a night at the campgrounds and do a lot of hiking the next day. First of all I'd like to say the campgrounds are pretty great. Nice and clean, although the bathrooms are fairly small. It wasn't very crowded at all. Our campsite we chose had a "slight incline" but I would have rated it more at a moderate inclide! Spent the whole night sliding around in the tent more than sleeping. But the best part is there are no mosquitoes! Plenty of spiders though. $20 a night to camp, hiking is free.
As far as the hiking goes, the trails are wonderful. If you print off information from their website beware, the maps and trail info online is wayyyyy old, however, you can obtain a map from the Visitor Center. Great mountain biking trails, and plenty of easy-going trails, but my friend and I went only for the hardest trails.. and hard they were. If I had to suggest a few trails to try out, I would definitely say go for the 7-Sink Holes trail, and lookout point trail.. stay away from Lost Trail and Ore Mine Trail unless you have a great sense of direction.. the map at points can be confusing especially when there are 2 or 3 trails coming together at one point.

Also for the families out there, there is a huge playground for the kids, and quite a few easy trails that would be nice to stroll along. Not to mention the 4 or 5 picnic areas that are very clean and spacious

Overall it was a great trip, and I would definitely come back (with mountain bikes this time!) Enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    54
    9
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Plenty of great views!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This nice, quiet state park is located in the eastern foothills of Tennessee. Plenty of trails for walking, biking, horse riding, and hiking. The upper elevations of the park overlook a scenic vista of Cherokee Lake and the Clinch Mountain Range.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank gldave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING PARK FOR THE FAMILY!!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This year we had our spring family reunion here at Panther Creek. IT WAS WONDERFULL!! The staff was very helpfull from the reservations to the Park Rangers. We could not have had a better time. Lotts to do from Camping , fishing, vollyball, playground, baseball field and trails. The smallman shelter was perfect for our event. The camp sites were great .( we had 6 of them). I would reccomend this park for anyone!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank wade c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morristown,tn
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The park is well situated and well-maintained. My family has enjoyed camping here for years. The staff are friendly and well-informed. They provide activities for children. I like the big fire they light at the central pavilion when it's cold. Good showers.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank grannyrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, TN
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tranquil”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Panther Creek State Park has many facilities and options available. There are several walking trails through the wooded area, picnic areas to grill, pavilions for reunions and get togethers, a playground and outdoor pool (in the summer time). The peak overlooks Cherokee Lake.

Helpful?
1 Thank mdnMorristown_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panther Creek State Park also viewed

 

Been to Panther Creek State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing