We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Get Away!”

Panther Creek State Park
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Morristown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Morristown, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Place to Get Away!”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Panther Creek is a well kept up secret park with lots of hiking trails as well as bike and horse trails. There is a small campground with a schedule of outdoor programs throughout the month. The park is safe, beautiful, and gives nature lovers a place to relax and get away from crowds. You are sure to spot deer, wild turkeys, and many varieties of birds.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    54
    9
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This state-operated park is a great place if you want a slower pace. There are formal activities offered most days from canoeing, to ranger-guided hikes, lectures. The upper picinic area has a beautiful overlook of Cherokee Lake, several pavillions (by reservation on major holidays), numerous picnic tables w/bar-b-q. You will see some wildlife; mainly deer and some mischeivous racoons. For more detailed info please go to http://tn.gov/environment/parks/. It is truly a relaxing place.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank #1SWfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Campers, Hikers, Boaters, Picnicing”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

A nice park to visit for the afternoon, day or week. There is a lake, a stream, deer and wild turkeys.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TNTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Church Hill, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful View of Douglas Lake”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Very peaceful and pretty; Nice picnic area with grills atop the mountain overlooking beautiful Douglas Lake

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, TN
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hiking Panther Creek Trails”
Reviewed July 6, 2008

We live near the park and go there often to walk or play tennis. The tennis courts are not in great repair, but usable. We started out for a hike today on the Seven Sink Holes trail, which is a very easy trail and only takes about 15 to 20 minutes. I guess the sink holes are interesting to some people, but I prefer a hike that ends with a nice view or waterfall. We then decided to try the Lost Road trail, but the signs were missing about 1/2 mile into it and we didn't have a map, so we turned back because we have this habit of choosing trails that are too difficult. I have since found the website friendsofpanthercreek.org which describes the difficulty of each trail.

Helpful?
5 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panther Creek State Park also viewed

 

Been to Panther Creek State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing