We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”

The General Food Store
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Emerald
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Love this place!! I have waited years for somewhere like this in the hills. Shame it's not closer to Olinda, but it's a lovely 15 minute drive through some beautiful countryside.
The food is great, and staff very happy to change things in my order, as I don't eat eggs. Lovely organic "real" tasty food.great prices too.
Only complaint is that the few times I've sat outside, smokers have lit up at the next table so have had to go back indoors.
Otherwise, it's my favourite cafe in the hills!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    14
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Always enjoy the food. Pity is is so small, don't always want to sit closely to other customers when wanting a more private conversational time. The outside sitting is ok but can we ban the smoking!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sprosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“My favourite place to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food, fantastic coffee and fantastic staff! There's nothing better than sitting outside with friends catching up whilst drinking the best coffee and eating the best food. The only time I'm disappointed is when I can't get a seat due to how busy it is! Would reccomend!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourn
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gluten free”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Small cafe open for breakfast & lunch, occasionally for dinner. Good coffee, meals always very good quality with fresh ingredients. Not a huge menu bit an interesting variety. Dinner we had was excellent. As the place is quite small & there was the 2 of us we finished up on a table of 6 not knowing the other 4, we were lucky the other couples were great company but I could see how you may finish up with odd people which would make the night a lot less enjoyable. Dinner is a set menu but the food was fantastic with recommended wine with each course. Not everybody will like the set menu, I'm gluten free and the bread here is the best I've had. I now buy the bread mix he uses at home (spring hill farm) Can be hard to get a seat at lunch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blackies62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
201 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Love the friendly staff when picking up an early morning coffee. Seats are a premium both inside and outside. They offer gluten free and vegan options on the menu and support local producers. Very popular place for breakfast and brunch on weekends. Minimal parking.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellingfoodie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The General Food Store also viewed

 

Been to The General Food Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing