We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Degustation to die for”

Royal Mail Dining Room
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Dunkeld
Price range: $44 - $131
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Royal Mail Hotel Dining Room has been awarded '2 hats' by the Age Good Food Guide 2015 & 2016. The Dining Room serves innovative, seasonally driven menu that draws from the extensive organic kitchen garden - reputed as the largest and most productive restaurant kitchen garden in Australia. The Dining Room wine list has been awarded 'Best Hotel Wine List, worldwide, by Fine Wine UK. The cellar houses over 26,000 bottles and wines can be served matched to each course of the five or eight course chefs tasting menus.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Degustation to die for”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

OMG - that's really all there is to say. So worth the drive and everything we had heard. Fantastic food and great wine pairings.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kazwookie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    71
    61
    45
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Royal Mail Hotel Restaurant”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We came here with high expectations and they were fulfilled in every way. The staff was extremely friendly and correct, the food was the best we've had in Australia yet (yes, even better than Attica). The sommelier did a fantastic job pairing the wines with the food and they even had small glasses for the designated driver!
We had the omnivore menu and the combination of flavours was spot on. For us Europeans there were some things we'd never tried before, but we loved them all. If the Michelin stars ever come to Australia, we're sure this restaurant would get 3.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anno1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good, slightly 'try-hard' gastro pub food, reasonable wine list, (review for bistro not restaurant)”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

As we live locally, we have eaten here frequently over the past 15 years, under the current chef, and pre Dan Hunter. Unlike others who travel here for the destination and accommodation, our visits are only for the purposes of enjoying a meal with friends. We have experienced all three options, degustation, bistro and public bar meals, this review is specifically regarding a recent midweek lunch in the bistro.

To be fair, the food is interesting, particularly for a regional establishment, sometimes a delicious success (kale caeser salad, pickled mussels) but in my opinion, more often missing the mark (smoked trout rillettes served far too cold and lacking in any sophistication, very ordinary duck terrine, also served well below room temperature and rather bland in flavour).

Over the years, the atmosphere remains stiff, the service capable, but not exceptional, and despite rumours of a restaurant revamp, to accommodate the views and location, there is no evidence of any exciting changes on the horizon. While there is usually a vast and well spruiked wine list on offer in the restaurant, on this occasion we were only offered the more modest but acceptable bistro wine card.

In short, the bistro experience is fine if you are in the area, the menu looks tasty, but the execution is somewhat uninspiring, and I would suggest the whole bistro offering is in need of an update and injection of enthusiasm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Just does not deliver”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We visited the restaurant on a Sunday and hadn't made a reservation so we weren't too disappointed when we were told they couldn't accomodate us. We were then however told that although the restaurant was full the pub could serve us. The food we were told was not the same but was of a very good standard as can be expected from the kitchens of a restaurant that holds 3 hats. We went with the old pub favourite of a chicken parma, you can't really go wrong with that one..........well actually you can go very wrong. The wait for the food was almost a full hour and the pub wasn't really busy. When it did arrive the free range chicken was burnt and dry, the breadcrumbs were blackened and the cheese was tasteless, in fact the whole meal was either burnt or tasteless. I would be embarrassed to have served that, and honestly if I had made it that disastrously wrong I would not have covered it up with the cheese and ham to hope the customer wouldn't notice. NOTE, the 109 restaurant across the road was doing a roaring trade and next time we pass through Dunkeld we know where we will stop off for a bite to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank indecisive123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for lunch”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our group of 3 enjoyed our lunch at The Royal Mail. The sun was shining and our table gave a lovely view over Mount Warning. We started with olives, almonds and salmon rilettes. All very tasty. Our mains of steak, duck and fish were very good. Desserts were excellent, as was the coffee. Service was pleasant and our waitress told us that the recipe for one of the desserts we loved was in Gourmet Traveller magazine. With a glass of wine, it worked out to $90 each. Very good value for the quality of food we enjoyed and we would love to eat there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Mail Dining Room also viewed

 
Dunkeld, Grampians
 

Been to Royal Mail Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing